We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near De Doelen center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruiskade 12, Rotterdam 3012 EH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Tehran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Near De Doelen center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Surely this is not a luxurious hotel but Iit is near the Rotterdam central train station and also close to De Doelen center,.a place for meetings and concerts .This hotel is a good place for a short stay offering you the basics

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    38
    68
    45
    89
See reviews for
13
49
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed there June 24 & 25th 2013 because everywhere else was fully booked.
Grand, thats an understatement, mabye during the war as the place needs a complete overhaul it is run down.
Rooms are basic, supplied towels are not fit for being used as dusters.
The opposite nightclubs are noisy and you need earplugs for a sleep, and the ongoing building works nearby is like living in a worksite.
Windows in my room on the 4th floor had broken catches and no safety latches, need replacing and very old and would notg pass any building regulations. Small children would need supervised!

Avoid at all cost unless you are desperate and dont fancy sleeping in your car or alleyway.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost, Faulty Towers is a 5 star compared to this shambles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the most disappointing hotel I have ever booked [with Expedia]. The room smelled bad, was uncomfortable, had no phone, no hair dryer, no telephone, no soap, etc. Although I fully anticipated that the hot water would run out during my shower - at one point the WATER stopped altogether - no water at all! I understand that this is a low-cost hotel and that expectations should be lowered accordingly, but in this case this was not even closely worth the low cost. Incidentally, I attempted to enter this review on the Expedia site, but they asked that I re-write it for them to post my review - which I did not. Great location though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
428 reviews 428 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good location,at 10 minutes walking to Rotterdam Centraal train station,5 minutes walking to "Stadhuis" metro station.
Plenty or restaurants,bars,clubs and shops in the area.
The room was OK,not very big,clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This Hotel is old and quirky. It is reasonably priced and located in an ideal place in Rotterdam. The rooms are pretty basic but spotless and comfortable. Staff extremely polite and very helpful. Breakfast - absolutely fantastic. Never seen so much variety of food. All fresh, healthy and beautifully presented. One of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Well done Grand Central Hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Absolutely awful. The rooms are dirty, smelly and I genuinely feared for my property. The bathroom was disgusting. I booked for three nights and payment was in advance with no refunds. No wonder! I had the worse night ever with some kind of "party" going on outside my door. The next day, I took my stuff and checked into a different hotel. A waste of money, but I couldn't bare spending another moment in that place.

Room Tip: Just don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Last month I visited this place with my few friends. It is a fantastic place which has all the luxurious amenities. I really want to thank all the team members, who manage things so well. From beginning till end it was amazing experience. Rooms were nice, very well decorated with amazing furnishings and needed things. Washroom was clean and functional. Staff is very attentive and very polite. They took all the pains to make our stay comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Kruiskade 12, Rotterdam 3012 EH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsNL, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.