We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must for train lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miniworld Rotterdam

Miniworld Rotterdam
Weena 745, 3013 AL Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)10-2400501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 98 Attractions in Rotterdam
Type: Educational Sites
Attraction Details
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“must for train lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

this was heaven for train lovers, my child was so fascinated by the display very impressive tables and over 100 trains running . if you have children this is a must for them to see

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Trains, trains and trains. A MUST see experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very nice overview of all sorts of trains.
It's amassing to see all sorts of trains run.
Also cars and streetcars are driving around.
We took a guided tour afterwards, the one hour one, which gives you a view behind the "scene".
In fact, it's a look below the scene, as under the display there are tracks and tracks where all the trains run to various entry's into the scene. And news displays are under construction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Always something new to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

While in Rotterdam awaiting a cruise, we heard about this mini world. Didn't know what to expect, but wasn't expecting a HUGE miniature railroad. Once we entered, there is a small layout and big layout. The small layout wasn't all that interesting, but the large one....wow.

We stayed about 2 hours and each time we walked around, we saw something new. The detail is amazing and the fact it gets dark every 24 minutes to simulate 24 hours in a day is pretty awesome. Loved the way it gets sunset, dark, then sunrise.

We kept walking around, and walking around, seeing new little details each time we looked. Sometimes it mattered whether it was day or night in there. We really enjoyed our stay, and probably would have stayed longer had we not had other places to get to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miniature sightseeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Whether you are a youngster, or a grown-up, everyone will find areas of interest in this display of buildings, trains, harbours, canals, in fact all things which make up a country, like the Netherlands! The amount of work, which has gone into the creation of this attraction (and is still ongoing) has to be seen to be believed and a visit is therefor highly recommended. A nice feature is that the 24 hour clock is simulated in an approximately 20 minute cycle, giving added effect during "night time". Even my wife was impressed and she is not a fan of model trains!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I always try and pay this a visit when I am back in Rotterdam, always fun to see for young and old, if you have a passing interest in models and/or Rotterdam's history. Today for the first time with my kids (7 and 5) who drove me up the wall with their questions and pulling me left and right, great fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miniworld Rotterdam also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Miniworld Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miniworld Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.