We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always something new to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miniworld Rotterdam

Miniworld Rotterdam
Weena 745, 3013 AL Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)10-2400501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 84 Attractions in Rotterdam
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Port Ewen, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Always something new to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

While in Rotterdam awaiting a cruise, we heard about this mini world. Didn't know what to expect, but wasn't expecting a HUGE miniature railroad. Once we entered, there is a small layout and big layout. The small layout wasn't all that interesting, but the large one....wow.

We stayed about 2 hours and each time we walked around, we saw something new. The detail is amazing and the fact it gets dark every 24 minutes to simulate 24 hours in a day is pretty awesome. Loved the way it gets sunset, dark, then sunrise.

We kept walking around, and walking around, seeing new little details each time we looked. Sometimes it mattered whether it was day or night in there. We really enjoyed our stay, and probably would have stayed longer had we not had other places to get to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Miniature sightseeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Whether you are a youngster, or a grown-up, everyone will find areas of interest in this display of buildings, trains, harbours, canals, in fact all things which make up a country, like the Netherlands! The amount of work, which has gone into the creation of this attraction (and is still ongoing) has to be seen to be believed and a visit is therefor highly recommended. A nice feature is that the 24 hour clock is simulated in an approximately 20 minute cycle, giving added effect during "night time". Even my wife was impressed and she is not a fan of model trains!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I always try and pay this a visit when I am back in Rotterdam, always fun to see for young and old, if you have a passing interest in models and/or Rotterdam's history. Today for the first time with my kids (7 and 5) who drove me up the wall with their questions and pulling me left and right, great fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Model trains a”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is for everybody who wants to look at model trains and to see the Rotterdam area in small. From the harbour to the most famous buildings in Rotterdam, you can find them at Miniworld. You can spend ours looking trains to run.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice for the young (and grown ups)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Been here a while ago with my two year old son. He could not believe his eyes, and was running around just trying not to miss a thing... Which boy does not like trains and their tracks?

But for grown ups it is no waste of time as well, in a short time you can see all the sights of Rotterdam close to eachother in scale... and with the copying of a whole day in 24 minutes, it is just like you are there for a long time...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miniworld Rotterdam also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Miniworld Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miniworld Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.