We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it so much I extended my stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Emma to your Saves list
Hotel Emma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I liked it so much I extended my stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel Emma became 'home base' for my Netherlands trip last week. I'd only booked two nights but liked it so much I extended my stay by several days. First of all, my room was spotlessly clean. You get fresh towels and linens every day (whether you need it or not), and the cleaner kept the bathroom immaculate. My twin room was a good size and it was also very, very quiet, which I attribute to proper soundproofing; I never heard my neighbours. I also value walkability so I found the location next to Eendrachtsplein well-situated for all kinds of nearby shopping (Lijnbaan), restaurants (I liked a few on Nieuwe Binnenweg and Witte de Withstraat) and bars (across the street there's Stalles and Rotown). Museumpark is a 5 minute walk. There's also a supermarket on the same block, handy for a rainy night when you feel like simply eating cheese and drinking amazingly inexpensive Belgian beer in the privacy of your room. Rotterdam Centraal station is about a 12 minute walk, or a short tram ride and there's a tram stop and a metro station in front of the hotel. I found the staff at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful although I didn't like that they need to buzz you in and out of the entrance (a key card swipe should be sufficient). The breakfast spread was good and featured fresh bread, fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and a self-serve cappuccino machine. Another plus, there's a small elevator so you don't need to lug your things up flights of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
16
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beyond its rather constricted Reception area, this hotel has surprises in store. My room was wonderful – attractive and extremely comfortable. The attached modern bathroom was large, well-equipped and spotless. Hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and very professional. Location is pretty good with interesting shops and cafes/restaurants close by. It’s a bit of a hike to the main train station but fortunately tram transport is right outside the door of the hotel. At the end of my stay when it was time to pay the computer system was “down” and Credit Card payment was not possible. This problem was promptly and satisfactorily sorted out by the Receptionist. Rates were slightly on the high side given the limited facilities in the hotel as a whole – but otherwise it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great location for a couple of nights in central Rotterdam. Near main station, close to Metro and trams. In the heart of the bar and restaurant area.

Hotel has small very secure off street parking at a reasonable €10 per day.
Good selection of cooked meats and cheeses and 3 types of fresh bread at breakfast

For the price I paid, I can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

our stay at Hotel Emma was total value for money. the location is excellent. a 5-10 min walk from central station, it is next to both a tram station and the Metro. the rooms are basic and simple but clean. we had a triple room which was a bit crowded but the hotel is very clean. the washrooms are small but clean. toiletries are not provided except for soap and body wash. there is a coffeemaker in the room but no tea. The breakfast was included in teh price so it was a big deal for us and the breakfast was also quite good. for teh money we paid, we got a really good deal.

there are plenty of cafes and restaurants opposite the Hotel where one can eat. do check out Rotown which is bang opposite the hotel entrance and a popular nightclub. however, if you walk through the club to the back of the club, there is a very nice restaurant ( family types) with really warm waitresses and the food is really good.

the receptionists at Hotel Emma were very open and warm. They will assist you with sightseeing tips and can also issue the travelcard for the day at the hotel itself. all in all, a very good value for money we paid.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the road can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, in the heart of Rotterdam city centre. We have easy access to the train station (walking distance) and public transportation.
The hotel is simple, but ideal if you plan to stay for a short visit. Rooms are somewhat small, and WC was tiny, but very clean.
Breakfast could be improved.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I needed a last minute hotel and this was budget-friendly. In a busy part of Rotterdam, central, close to the station and lots of shops/resuranants nearby.

Hotel staff were very firendly, the room was spacious and very clean. Some road noise but that's to be expected in a city cenrte hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hello,

We went to Rotterdam for a long weekend (3 friends) and stayed in Hotel Emma.
The Hotel is located in an excellent location, close to Trams and Metro that can take you to all the sights in the city.

The rooms were modest and a bit small, but it didn't matter because most of the time we went outside.

The staff are nice and friendly, we got all the information we needed about the city from them and didn't need to go to VVV tourist information center at all.

We didn't have a car, so parking wansn't an issue, but note that parking will cost 10Euro a night .

Room Tip: Ask for inside rooms, not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Address: Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emma is a small and friendly hotel ideally located in the heart of Rotterdam. Public transport and the shopping area are right at our doorstep as are many cafes and restaurants. Rotterdam Central Station is at only 850 meters from the hotel. Your host, Luigi Orsini, and his team hope to welcome you. They will see to it that you will feel right at home, to further maintain an 80-years Rotterdam family tradition. ***At home in Rotterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.