We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALUE FOR MONEY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emma to your Saves list
Hotel Emma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

our stay at Hotel Emma was total value for money. the location is excellent. a 5-10 min walk from central station, it is next to both a tram station and the Metro. the rooms are basic and simple but clean. we had a triple room which was a bit crowded but the hotel is very clean. the washrooms are small but clean. toiletries are not provided except for soap and body wash. there is a coffeemaker in the room but no tea. The breakfast was included in teh price so it was a big deal for us and the breakfast was also quite good. for teh money we paid, we got a really good deal.

there are plenty of cafes and restaurants opposite the Hotel where one can eat. do check out Rotown which is bang opposite the hotel entrance and a popular nightclub. however, if you walk through the club to the back of the club, there is a very nice restaurant ( family types) with really warm waitresses and the food is really good.

the receptionists at Hotel Emma were very open and warm. They will assist you with sightseeing tips and can also issue the travelcard for the day at the hotel itself. all in all, a very good value for money we paid.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the road can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
18
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, in the heart of Rotterdam city centre. We have easy access to the train station (walking distance) and public transportation.
The hotel is simple, but ideal if you plan to stay for a short visit. Rooms are somewhat small, and WC was tiny, but very clean.
Breakfast could be improved.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I needed a last minute hotel and this was budget-friendly. In a busy part of Rotterdam, central, close to the station and lots of shops/resuranants nearby.

Hotel staff were very firendly, the room was spacious and very clean. Some road noise but that's to be expected in a city cenrte hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hello,

We went to Rotterdam for a long weekend (3 friends) and stayed in Hotel Emma.
The Hotel is located in an excellent location, close to Trams and Metro that can take you to all the sights in the city.

The rooms were modest and a bit small, but it didn't matter because most of the time we went outside.

The staff are nice and friendly, we got all the information we needed about the city from them and didn't need to go to VVV tourist information center at all.

We didn't have a car, so parking wansn't an issue, but note that parking will cost 10Euro a night .

Room Tip: Ask for inside rooms, not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel has had a long history, but has been renovated so you dont see much of the past. Well located and the rooms and facilities are well appointed. We stayed in a suite to accomodate 4 persons in our family. The staffs were efficient, friendly and helpful. Had no issues with parking. The hotel gave us a card to display when we had to park the car on the road and at other times, parked it behind the hotel. safe, because the hotel is next to thePolice Station. Lots of restaurants, shopping and sight seeing spots nearby.
Breakfast was good and filling, staffs were obliging even if we were late or needed extra helpings. The restaurant had facilities to cook our own meals or heat up a warm dish etc. Rooms were serviced and maintained well. The toilets were cleaned and well appointed, though small.
No doubt thai will be staying there the next time i visit Rotterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road and canals have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its locations and the possibility to park the car there. When we arrived we called the hotel reception to ask where the parking entrance was and were told that there was no parking space left and that we had to park in the parking garage nearby, so we did and had to pay EUR 26 a day! When we checked out we complained about this and were told, to our astonishment, that there was parking space and that the receptionist should have let us in and more over that there were additional spaces available after 6 PM. Now our stay was over EUR 100 including parking for which I could have stayed in a nearby 4-5 star hotel. Hotel itself was ok, although quite noisy due to the trams driving in the adjacent street. Room is ok and breakfast is good. Nevertheless a disappointing experience and not recommended.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms located at the Nieuwe Binnenweg due to street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

That's it really. Friendly staff, great location, lovely room - best night's sleep I've had in a hotel for as long as I can remember (but it was October and the windows were closed). The absence of decent coffee for breakfast (which in all other respects was excellent) is the only downside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Address: Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emma is a small and friendly hotel ideally located in the heart of Rotterdam. Public transport and the shopping area are right at our doorstep as are many cafes and restaurants. Rotterdam Central Station is at only 850 meters from the hotel. Your host, Luigi Orsini, and his team hope to welcome you. They will see to it that you will feel right at home, to further maintain an 80-years Rotterdam family tradition. ***At home in Rotterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.