We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emma to your Saves list
Hotel Emma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I needed a last minute hotel and this was budget-friendly. In a busy part of Rotterdam, central, close to the station and lots of shops/resuranants nearby.

Hotel staff were very firendly, the room was spacious and very clean. Some road noise but that's to be expected in a city cenrte hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    6
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
24
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hello,

We went to Rotterdam for a long weekend (3 friends) and stayed in Hotel Emma.
The Hotel is located in an excellent location, close to Trams and Metro that can take you to all the sights in the city.

The rooms were modest and a bit small, but it didn't matter because most of the time we went outside.

The staff are nice and friendly, we got all the information we needed about the city from them and didn't need to go to VVV tourist information center at all.

We didn't have a car, so parking wansn't an issue, but note that parking will cost 10Euro a night .

Room Tip: Ask for inside rooms, not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel has had a long history, but has been renovated so you dont see much of the past. Well located and the rooms and facilities are well appointed. We stayed in a suite to accomodate 4 persons in our family. The staffs were efficient, friendly and helpful. Had no issues with parking. The hotel gave us a card to display when we had to park the car on the road and at other times, parked it behind the hotel. safe, because the hotel is next to thePolice Station. Lots of restaurants, shopping and sight seeing spots nearby.
Breakfast was good and filling, staffs were obliging even if we were late or needed extra helpings. The restaurant had facilities to cook our own meals or heat up a warm dish etc. Rooms were serviced and maintained well. The toilets were cleaned and well appointed, though small.
No doubt thai will be staying there the next time i visit Rotterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road and canals have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its locations and the possibility to park the car there. When we arrived we called the hotel reception to ask where the parking entrance was and were told that there was no parking space left and that we had to park in the parking garage nearby, so we did and had to pay EUR 26 a day! When we checked out we complained about this and were told, to our astonishment, that there was parking space and that the receptionist should have let us in and more over that there were additional spaces available after 6 PM. Now our stay was over EUR 100 including parking for which I could have stayed in a nearby 4-5 star hotel. Hotel itself was ok, although quite noisy due to the trams driving in the adjacent street. Room is ok and breakfast is good. Nevertheless a disappointing experience and not recommended.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms located at the Nieuwe Binnenweg due to street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

That's it really. Friendly staff, great location, lovely room - best night's sleep I've had in a hotel for as long as I can remember (but it was October and the windows were closed). The absence of decent coffee for breakfast (which in all other respects was excellent) is the only downside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Charming and cosy hotel in the centre of Rotterdam.
Entrance is hidden in the street frontage, so please apply your Nancy Drew skills to find it - a clear door marked with two large pots with small trees in them. Access with use of your room key card or by the receptionist only. No intruders allowed. Please ring to have the door open (no door handle...).
Parking is hidden within the block, but easily accessible. No reservations, however it seems to be working well. Not many motorised guests use this hotel... You can leave your car on the parking place and explore Rotterdam on foot / bike.
Rooms are of an average size, well equipped and clean. Little sachettes with mint mentoses are absolutely the cherry on the top.
Breakfasts are fabulous, with freshly baked variety of breads and rolls. Crispy crust, butter and chocolate flakes... DELICIOUS. It is a pity that due to scarcity of space only one table can enjoy an actual view outside (residential development designed by Mecanoo!), but it it fine.
Central location, by the tram stop and metro station (Eidrachtsplein) makes visiting very easy. The proximity to Netherlands Institute of Architecture is a bonus. Nice caffees and restaurants are practically downstairs as well as the church. So whatever you enjoy - it is there.

Room Tip: Do not worry about the potential traffic noise - windows give good insultaiton. There is an opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel Emma was in a GREAT location to Trams, the Metro to get to Rotterdam Main Station, Attendants were very nice and helpful,the room itself was average for Europe, refreshment costs were reasonable, and breakfast was great! The only negatives was that the nightlife below was really loud but we had no choice but to endure it because their was no air conditioning and the ceiling fan was minimal in cooling off the stuffy room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#4 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#6 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 54 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Address: Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emma is a small and friendly hotel ideally located in the heart of Rotterdam. Public transport and the shopping area are right at our doorstep as are many cafes and restaurants. Rotterdam Central Station is at only 850 meters from the hotel. Your host, Luigi Orsini, and his team hope to welcome you. They will see to it that you will feel right at home, to further maintain an 80-years Rotterdam family tradition. ***At home in Rotterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.