We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Atlanta Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Atlanta Rotterdam to your Saves list
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coolsingel/Aert van Nesstraat, 4 | City Center, Cool, Stadsdriehoek, 3012CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cullingworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The room we were given was very modern with a fantastic view down the street which was all lit up. Very spacious bathroom with a bath (which is rare in a hotel) Really comfortable bed. Had a brilliant night's sleep. 5/5 would definitely visit again. Fantastic for around £65 a night including city tax. (We paid it when we checked out). The woman behind the counter even allowed me to take my key card with me for my scrapbook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    182
    118
    54
    24
See reviews for
41
147
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The public areas of this hotel are very nice. Also the location is fantastic. Very walkable from the train station, else take a tram or metro. Shopping literally right outside the door. My room rate did not include breakfast, but I decided to add it in. It was pretty good, but still quite pricey.

I was very disappointed when I got to my room. It seemed old, dusty, and just worn out. It had a balcony but it was filled with trash. The lighting was awful and I couldn't see anything. The night came and I was sick of it, and after reading other reviews I asked if I could get a renovated room. They agreed and I was able to move that night. That room was much better and is as pictured. The pictures only show the nicest parts of the hotel.

When visiting the hotel staff they are very kind and accommodating, but the follow through isn't so great. I.e. When I asked about the lighting they said they would send someone right up to look at it, but never did.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The best things about this hotel are the public areas (bar and recption) - which have an air of old fashioned grandness about them and the chinese restaurent which is first class. Serves authentic high quality chinese food. The rooms are comfortable and clean but very tired/dated. The English speaking hotel staff are superb and very accommodating. They arranged ajoining rooms for us and luggage storage - as well as taxis and tourism advice.Sleep quality was poor because we had twin beds joined togther that seemed to split apart during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper double/king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a mix up over a booking request the hotel without any fuss upgraded us to an executive room which was very much appreciated and unexpected.

The hotel couldn't be better placed for accessing all that central Rotterdam has to offer: only minutes from great restaurants and bars, shopping and museums, you are at the heart of everything. Of course that also means some noise, especially from passing traffic so ask for a high floor.

The rooms are inexpensive though I suggest that you book a refurbished one like we stayed in - they call these 'executive rooms' but they are not bigger than a standard I don't think, the difference is that they have been revamped and have a flat screen television. They are nice enough though.

The room felt cosy but the windows are single glazed so can be a little chilly. They also do not open at all so I imagine the room could be a little stifling in the summer. The other irritation was that the beds were on castors and so you could not sit up and watch television or read with your back to the headboard.

Beware the mini bar - unusually there is no price list in the room. We had two small cans of Heineken, two small bottles of water and a small Mars bar and it came to eighteen euros fifty... We had asked for a price list at reception and were told that one would be sent up but it wasn't. Reception staff were friendly but we did have to chase up on things such as when we asked if housekeeping could do anything about our moving castor bed - they couldn't by the way. Housekeeping are also friendly and efficient.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel - at sixteen euros fifty per head it seemed expensive to us and so we went to one of the many cafes in the area each morning. There is a bakery on the corner if you wanted to get some fresh croissants, an Albert Hein supermarket less than five minutes walk away and a bank opposite with half a dozen cash machines inside if you are short of money.

Would recommend a visit to the World Museum on the waterfront (you can also get water taxis and go on boat trips on the Maas from this area too) because there is a very interesting display about the Samurai of Japan at present.

One disappointment is that we understood from the website that there was a roof terrace and bar but it was permanently closed during our stay - it would have been a good place to watch fireworks (the streets were not the safest place with huge rockets and high power 'explosives' being set off randomly everywhere with absolutely no regard to passing people. I saw one women in real pain having been struck by a stray rocket. I have to say I think the city needs to do something about this because it did detract from our stay and I'm sure others will have felt the same).

A final comment is that we thought the art deco style of the hotel charming - especially the long light down the outside of the building. When next in Rotterdam we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: High floor, executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Centrally located in town and was satisfactory overall. Check-in and out was handled smoothly by English-speaking staff. The room was spacious and clean, even though it had a dated feel due to its dark faux timber flooring. The heating was ok but always a bit too warm. For the money, it was good value, booked via Agoda. All other amenities worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 30 days at the Rotterdam NH prior to moving away from Holland. While we were sad to leave our stay at the NH made our departure much more enjoyable. Living in Rotterdam for 3 years we knew that we wanted to spend our last days at the heart of the action. The NH is in the perfect location in the city center and on both the east/west & north/south metro lines. The hotel is situated within the major shopping area, tons of restaurants, and clubs/bars. We stayed in their one bedroom apartment which provided the space we needed for such a long stay, the room could use a facelift to match the quality of the other updated rooms in the hotel though. The staff was extremely helpful and even secured a monthly parking pass in a heated parking garage just across the street for us as parking in downtown Rotterdam is a pain and expensive. I must say that the highlight of our stay was meeting and spending time at the bar with one of the best bar men in the city "Dugie", who catered to every want or need you can imagine and truly treated us as VIPs. I recommend this hotel to anyone spending a weekend in Rotterdam or someone that needs a larger accommodation for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Your first impression when you get in is that this was an art deco hotel at its time , when you get to your room tis is confirmed : old carpet , big room but not much furnitures , small bed , old style TV . The bathroom is ok with heated floor but the rest really needs a revamp !
Strange as NH is usually having a quick "young" approcah . This does not stick wuth their image .
Breakfast was included for me and was ok . There is no fitness but they give you a voucher for Shockers that is 7.50 Euros (be careful they finish early in the afternoon) . There is a David lloyd neraby but it is 20 Euros per day with swimming pool.
Finally this hotel is 10 mns walk from rail station Rotterdam Centraal and from ther you can get bus Nbr 33 to the airport for 3 euros , they run every 15 mns .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Atlanta Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Atlanta Rotterdam

Address: Coolsingel/Aert van Nesstraat, 4 | City Center, Cool, Stadsdriehoek, 3012CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Atlanta Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Atlanta Rotterdam is surrounded by the city's top destinations for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife. Constructed in the 1930's, this charming, art-deco structure provides a captivating contrast to the sleek and ultra-modern World Trade Centre conveniently located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Atlanta Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Atlanta Rotterdam Hotel Rotterdam
Nh Hotels Rotterdam
Nh Atlanta Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Atlanta Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.