We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop charging for wi-fi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam to your Saves list
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stop charging for wi-fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Everything about this hotel is tip-top - the downtown location, the quality of the rooms, etc etc - but I couldn't believe that they still charge for wi-fi. Who does that in 2014? You might as well charge for the water, you know. News flash: connectivity is essential for today's traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Zuberino,

Thank you kindly for sharing your experiences online! I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Hotel and even mention us to be tip-top.
Your comment regarding the internet will be passed on to the management team!

Thank you for your stay and I am looking forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    241
    67
    25
    5
See reviews for
68
308
45
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

manhattan is a very nice hotel,real five star standarts including beautiful comfortable rooms ,all with a rotterdam view.
very nice lobby.restaurant with view.
its only a minute walk from central station.if you catch the fast rain in 40 minutes after you leave your room you are at shiphol airport...
the beds are heavenly... the food good and .
especially the front desk is worth to mention.7/24 they are smiling ,they are very friendly and helpful .at front desk you get a vip treatment!concierge works only on day time but is very professional.dont worry if concierge is not there front desk will help you as good.
at weekends starting friday they have nice packages with unbelievable prices.try to extend your stay over weekend.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very nice ,the corner rooms are larger but prices a little higher but its worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sabit a,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to put your thoughts on paper with regards to your recent stay with us.

It is a real pleasure to read your review as it shows exactly what The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam stands for. We are striving for excellence in service and products and I am very happy that we have been able to exceed your expectations during your pervious stay.

I will share your lovely feedback with the Front Office team!

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was in Rotterdam for business and had a great experience at this hotel.. The hotel is a short walk directly across from the train station. The doorman and reception staff were very helpful. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed very comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast, which included a good selection of pastries, eggs, bacon and other items. Would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sgromer,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred hotel during your business trip recently. I am very happy to read that you found the breakfast, room and location convenient; close to the train station.

I am especially pleased with your lovely comment on the friendliness of our staff at the hotel entrance and at reception. I will personally make sure that your comments will be shared with them as serve as a great motivator for the team!

If you need any assistance with any future bookings at all, please do not hesitate to contact me or the reservations department.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had a corner room on the 5th floor. It was a great room very spacious, comfy bed. Large bathroom. The restaurant of the hotel is ok-ish. Service is good and the staff is friendly. The location is excellent.The hotel is right in the middle of the city center of Rotterdam and across the central train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Jvdv,

I am very proud to read that you have enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam!
I hope you have enjoyed the city of Rotterdam just as much and that you will have the chance to visit and stay with us again.

Thank you for your nice comments with regards to the Brasserie staff. I will pass them on to the team!

Thank you kindly for sharing your experiences and hopefully we will see you back again.

Warm regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came in by train and it was walking distance to the hotel
WIFI was in foyer - not too inconvenient really
Room was great -- great bed - great amenities
The restaurant was OK - very few used it - liked the asparagus menu
Taxi ride to cruise ship next day was easy

Room Tip: high up seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Barbera M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Manhattan experiences online!

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Thank you for mentioning your appreciation of the location of the hotel, the room and the bed.

I will share your positive feedback with the team as it always serves as a great motivation!

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Greeted by the doorman and welcomed by the helpful reception staff I felt I'd made the right choice of hotel. My executive floor room (1022) was clean, tidy and spacious and although I never bother with coffee makers or mini bars they were there if needed. Bathroom was well appointed with good quality toiletries and plump towels.
Access to the executive lounge was welcome, however, my complimentary glass of chilled white wine was of such poor quality (nasty cheap Spanish plonk) that I did an about turn and headed elsewhere - shame because the room itself was pleasant with a great view, however, I never went back - even though it was included in my room rate!
Breakfast next morning was fine, with great orange juice, coffee and a nice selection of pastries. I normally would have had a little bit of bacon and perhaps a sausage, but to be honest, both were pale and unappealing.
All in all though, this is a great hotel with great staff and it'll certainly be my first choice on my next visit to Rotterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Ian057,

First of all I would like to express my thanks for choosing The Manhattan Hotel and for putting your thoughts down on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased to read that you were greeted by our Doorman and welcomed by our helpful reception staff. This is the kind of entrance that we envisage for our guests.
I like the fact that you enjoyed the view from the Executive Lounge. Unfortunately the wine you tried was not to your taste! I would like to mention that we usually have several white wines in the Lounge and that I am sorry we were not able to provide these at this specific moment.

Thank you again for reviewing us and I hope to see you back in Rotterdam some day!

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a five star hotel that fails to deliver on few fronts, hence a star off in my personal review.

The bathroom basin was dirty upon our arrival with little toilet paper left. The next day, the housekeeping only made the bed without cleaning nor replacing used toiletries. As a matter of fact, the room ran out of toilet paper. Good thing that the hotel was right across the main station so we could get our supply from supermarket there.

Another drawback is no free wifi in the room.

The breakfast, however, was great, arguably one of the best in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Venus_MW_Fan,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments online with regards to your previous stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.
I am grateful that you have shared your feedback with us, so we can improve the critical points within our organization.

I regret to hear that you find our hotel a four star property rather than a five star property based on your experiences. I apologize for the state of the bathroom within your room upon check in. I also have shared your feedback with regards to servicing the room to the Executive Housekeeper so that we can avoid these situations from happening again the future.

I do hope I will have the chance of meeting you again at The Manhattan Hotel.
Please contact me in case you are planning a new visit.

Warm regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, the premier luxury hotel in Rotterdam, is located on the striking Weena avenue, in the heart of the city centre of Rotterdam, and opposite the new Central Station, the city's main railway station. Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is only 25 minutes away by the high speed train. All 230 luxurious rooms and suites are modern and stylish with a twist that’s uniquely Rotterdam, the city also known as 'Manhattan by the Maas’. The hotel features almost 600m2 of flexible space for meetings and events, an Executive Lounge, Business Centre and a fully equipped Fitness Centre. Other food & beverage facilities include The Manhattan Brasserie and adjoining cocktail bar with panoramic views over the Central Railway Station and the Lobby Cafe next to the reception on the ground floor. Free WiFi internet access is available to all guests in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Rotterdam
Rotterdam Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.