We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam to your Saves list
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I LOVE this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stay in this hotel very regularly with work and love it more each time I return!
The hotel is very clean and glamorous. The decor is very nice and updated often, with fresh flowers constantly being put it.
The food in this hotel is lovely and very well presented.
I find the staff in the hotel all to be extreamly friendly and cant do enough for you.
The rooms are clean and comfortable (I always get the best sleeps in the amazing beds). There is an excellent gym facitlity and plently of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Tenth floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear AmandaM21,

What a pleasure to read your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us. I am really happy to learn that we were able to provide such a pleasant and memorable stay for you. I am especially pleased about the fact that you highly enjoyed the friendly service and helpful staff at the hotel.

With regards to your next stay ; we all look forward to welcome you back at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam! Please contact me personally on sanne.tenwolde@manhattanhotelrotterdam.com in case I can assist with bookings.

Warm regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    202
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
55
246
42
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

During my trip I stayed in Manhattan hotel for 2 nights. Hottel is new and services was usefull for reasonable price, staff was nice all time. I was in Holland first day thanks to this during my trip I stayed in Manhattan hotel for 2 nights. Hotel is new and services was usefull for reasonable price, staff was nice all time. I was in Holland first day thanks to this hotel I forgot on stress from foreign place. Wifi works well, restaurant and breakfast offered very good quality food. Bike rental is available-it is must to try. Excelent location next to Rotterdam centram station, not crowdy place.

Room Tip: higher floor with view on Rotterdam central station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Michal P,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel as your preferred place to stay this time and thank you for spending some of your time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers.

I am very proud to learn that you experienced an excellent stay with us; great to hear that you remark the friendliness of our staff and that you have appreciated breakfast and dinner at The Manhattan Brasserie.

I hope to welcome you back some day in the city of Rotterdam.

P.s. I totally agree with you that renting a bike really is a must do to experience this lovely city.

Friendly regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very convenient to the city and Central Station. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.We always stay here if we're going to Rotterdam for less than a week we highly recommend it - we will be back again in July!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Albertomiami,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great comments on this channel.
I am proud to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Rotterdam and especially in The Manhattan Hotel. I am pleased to read that you frequently return to our hotel for stays shorter than a week and that you would recommend it to friends, family and fellow travelers.

I hope to personally welcome you back in July!

Hospitable regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was interested to be going back to this hotel, which I remembered as the Westin. I am afraid that the change has not done the hotel any favours. I remeber the hotel as new and modern, and it seems that nothing has been done to the hotel for a long time. My room was a reasonable size, with large windows, and the bed was comfortable, and the aircon OK. However, I was amazed at the quality of the sheets. This is a 5 star hotel, and to have thin sheets, which reminded me of a bed and breakfast, is not acceptable. The furniture was ageing, veneer beginning to come off the tables etc. As reported by other reviewers, stains on the carpet and the chair. There had been efforts to remove the stain on the carpet, but evidence remained! No bath robe, etc and HAVING TO PAY FOR WI-FI! Bathroom fine, walk in separate shower, but water pressure poor, and bath towels only just acceptable. The location is very good, and the staff were helpful, but someone needs to spend some money on refurbishing this hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are much larger than the others, corner rooms especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Lteast,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and sharing your thoughts online. Your comments are highly valuable to us as it is with this information we are able to improve our services.

I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations throughout your stay; needless to say this kind of experience is not what we envisage for our guests.
I do appreciate your positive comments regarding the helpfulness of staff, room facilities and location of the hotel.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back though. If you are planning a future visit, please contact me personally so I can take care of your next stay.

Warm regards,

Sanne ten Wolde - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This review is based on what I would expect from a 5-star hotel. Unfortunately there is little about the Manhattan that lives up to this expectation. There are stains on the carpet in my room as well as on the chair, non-descript interior, no bath robe or slippers, and pillows and duvet have a cheap feel to them. It beats me how they can label this as a luxury hotel – there is absolutely nothing luxurious about my room and the public areas do not have a 5-star quality either. The staff is very nice and forthcoming, however, and the location across from the Rotterdam Central Station is good. But all in all I would not stay here again – it’s not worth the money. And they even charge for wifi in the room – 22 Euros for 24 hours. I am quite surprised about the high rating on Tripadvisor; it is the first time I have been truly disappointed after picking a hotel based on reviews here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Travelbird44,

Thank you very much for your visit and taking some time to share your thoughts and experiences with us. We highly appreciate your feedback, since this gives us the opportunity to recognize the improvement points in our organization.

I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had at the hotel; needless to say this does not reflect our true aim for hospitality. Your comments have been shared with our department heads in order to prevent this from happening in the future.
However, I would like to inform you that the hotel does provide slippers and bathrobes in every room other than superior rooms as a standard, as well as upon request in superior rooms.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to show that staying in our hotel should be a very pleasant experience; if so, may I please ask to contact me personally so I can look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great value for money and a wonderful experience. Great service from all of the staff.

I had a corner room on the 9th floor with great views. The room itself was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was fairly standard for a 5 star hotel and perfectly presented.

The hotel is opposite the train station and I was spoilt for choice for restaurants of varying cuisines.

I genuinely have no negatives to comment on.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Jsc8,

Reference is made to your recent stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your impressions on Tripadvisor.com
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that your overall satisfaction was good.
We attach a lot of importance to your feedback as with this information we are able to recognize and improve the critical points within our organization.
I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Dirty carpets, smelly room that does not have a window to open to get rid of the smell, fixtures such as shaving mirror in ramshackle state, remote control of which buttons are crusted over with grime. Remember these news articles about how many bacteria can be found on remote controls in hotels, they gave me a 'clean' one.....not...was even worse. And this is not some youth hostel, this is the five star manhattan hotel in rotterdam. 150 euro per night, no free internet in rooms, bikes for rent at 16 euro per day....... Seriously disappointed. Will prefer youth hostel next time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Rita R,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.com. We attach a lot of importance to your feedback as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points within our organization.

I am sorry to hear that we have not been able to live up to the expectations you had of The Manhattan Hotel. This is definitely not the type of quality we envisage for our guests. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and the necessary arrangements have been taken in order to prevent similar situations in the future.

However, I am pleased you have accepted my offer to enjoy a complimentary breakfast this morning where we had the chance to talk your experiences through. I have learned, and I am glad, that your stay was not entirely unpleasant and I am grateful that you have mentioned the quality and hospitality of our staff.

I do hope to welcome you back to The Manhattan Hotel in the future. If you do, please make a reservation through me directly (sanne.tenwolde@manhattanhotelrotterdam.com) so I can personally take care of your requests.

Warm Regards,

Sanne ten Wolde -Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam is the leading luxury 5-star hotel in the world port city of Rotterdam. Located opposite the main railway station - Rotterdam Central Station- and located in the heart of the city's main business and financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Rotterdam
Rotterdam Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.