We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Almere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying in a double room on the 10th floor. From there, we had a great view over Rotterdam! The hotel is an impressive high building right opposite the main train station of Rotterdam. Theatre, movie theatre, shopping centre and restaurants are located right next to the hotel. Our room was spacious, with 2 separate large beds with nice soft pillows. The bathroom had a bathtub and a separate shower. There were coffee (espresso) and tea facilities in the room. We had breakfast in the hotel, which was until 01:30 in the afternoon on Sunday! There was plenty of fresh food, including fresh fruit, fish, meat, cheeses, yoghurt etc. Also baked beans, sausages and scrambled egg. Coffee and tea were served and refilled at the table.

Room Tip: I am not sure if you have a good view from the rooms lower than 10th floor, because some may face a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ShoshanaSuzan,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your preferred place to stay and sharing your experiences with the Tripadvisor-community. I am proud to learn that you enjoyed an excellent stay in the great city of Rotterdam and value both the location as the products & services.

I have to agree that the view from the 10th floor is rather impressive, also from other floors though the scenery is attractive.

Again, thank you for your kind words, I will make sure there are shared within the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel.

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    157
    46
    15
    4
See reviews for
42
174
34
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of city center, it is clean, has big comfortable rooms and beds, lovely breakfast and the staff is very service minded. You will not get dissappointed if you choose this hotel whilst spending some days in this beatifull city of modern architecture. I can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Cecilie F,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in the great city of Rotterdam; thank you very much for your stay and your recommendation for fellow travelers online.

In case of planning a future visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can personally take care of your reservation giving us the opportunity extend you with warm, personal and bespoke Manhattan service!

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel is situated close to the train station.

rooms are comfortable, very nice beds, we had a superior room .. Mind there are no regular rooms.. Hotl crap.. You think you get a special room... :-)
We stayed on the fifth floor...

If you want to go higher up and get a bigger room, they offer it for 25 euro a night ...


Rooms are not very big, but comfortable, good drawer and shrank space, bathroom with bathtub. Rooms have AC, cannot open windows.. Stuffy..


Personnel is very friendly and helpful, room service is good and rooms are clean...

Negative...
Minibar.. Don't touch it, what you save in room prize, you will pay for the drinks,

no movie channel on tv.. Of course all that is extra... For a fee,

Wifi is not very stable....crashes several times ....

Breakfast is ok, but if I had to pay for it, it is not worth 28 euro...
All together a nice hotel, comfortable and I would stay there again....

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view.. Other than that... Does not matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Rubia1956

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider staying with us again on a future visit.

Another thank you on sharing some improvement points you experienced throughout your stay; since this is an important way of recognizing critical factors for any organization: I will share your comments within the management in order to take appropriate measures.

Again, thank you for your stay, I look forward to welcome you back in the city of Rotterdam.

Kind regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

right across the street from Centraal Station
never felt unsafe around the area even at 6.30 am when we had to take Thalys to Paris
lijnban and beursplein are right behind the hotel
great for shopping, albeit the shops close very early in my standard

room was the largest of all the 6 hotels we stayed during the trip
even with the extra bed and desk, there was a lot of space to move around
and the room was very clean too. bed very comfortable
the bathroom was superb
too bad the breakfast was expensive. had to opt out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear JaySiauw,

Thank you very much for choosing the Manhattan hotel as your preferred place to stay and posting your experiences online on this website. We attach a lot of importance to your feedback and are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to note you value the quality of the room and the location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back in Rotterdam anytime!

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at the manhattan hotel on way from Calais to duinell. Booked two rooms for a family of 5 requesting ( and getting ) adjacent rooms for a total of £108 on Expedia including breakfast and free wifi. This is probably the best value hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very large with the most comfortable beds I have slept in for some time. Breakfast was a delight. Buffet style with a vast array of food available including breakfast cereal, hot "English " breakfast and some lovely fresh fruit. Staff were extremely pleasant.
The hotel is opposite the central railway station and close to the shopping centre. The surrounding area is currently being renovated but this was a very minor issue.
The only negative is that parking in the secured parking close to the hotel was 27 euros a day and looking at the on street parking close by this started at 0.5 euros for 9 minutes! Even if you add in the parking two rooms bed and breakfast cost us less than £135 for 2 rooms and I would think that this would be difficult to beat for value anywhere in Europe. My children have said that this is the best bit of (an excellent) holiday and are suggesting that we arrange next years holiday around a stay at the manhattan hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Graham J,

What a pleasure to read your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us. I am really happy to learn that we were able to provide such a pleasant and memorable stay for you and your family.

With regards to next year’s holiday; we all look forward to welcome you back in The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam! Please contact me personally on youp.bimbergen@manhattanhotelrotterdam.com in case I can assist with bookings.

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First, I have to mention that I am not used to stay in 5 star hotels but due to an very good offer me and my girlfriend had a wonderful weekend at the Manhatten. In my eyes the staff was very friendly and helped us out if we needed any help. The rooms were really nice and we had a great view!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Steffen M.

Thank you very much for staying with us on your weekend break, in your own city! I really appreciate your words of appraisal and will certainly share them within our teams.
I am especially pleased to learn that you highly enjoyed the friendly service and helpful staff during your service.

I hope to be able welcome you and your girlfriend back in the hotel some day.

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What I loved
- Central location opposite the train station
- Spacious rooms
- Free wifi
- Quality breakfast

What I hated
- No real 5 star feel

My verdict
Those looking for 5 star luxury may feel slightly disappointed: tired furniture, meagre toiletries, two pairs of slippers but no bathrobes… Breakfast was excellent but, again, a little limited for a 5 star property. And yet, the Manhattan is a great place to stay if booked at the right rate. I would have no problem to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Theo C,

Thank you very much for you recent stay with us and the valuable time you took to post your experiences online. We highly value your feedback, since this gives us the opportunity to recognize or determine areas of improvement in our service and product.

I am happy to learn that you appreciate the size of the rooms, the quality of the breakfast and the free wifi; however am sorry to discover that we were no able to completely meet your expectations. The conclusions of your ‘verdict’ will be discussed within the management of the hotel.

Again, thank you for the time spent you spent to summarize your thoughts; we look forward to welcome you back in the hotel.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam is the leading luxury 5-star hotel in the world port city of Rotterdam. Located opposite the main railway station - Rotterdam Central Station- and located in the heart of the city’s main business and financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Rotterdam
Rotterdam Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.