We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has nothing to do with a 4 star hotel. It is only clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rotterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schiekade 658, NL-3032AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Brussels
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It has nothing to do with a 4 star hotel. It is only clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

By disapponting nothing to do with a four start hotel.was surprised to be asked at the reception first to wait and then to pay before seeing the room. It is clean and offers a plug inu warm air heating. Would have never suspected that!!! No slippers and plastic curtain in the bathroom. No no do not spend your money here if you also expect a room to have a minimum of coyness and warmth.very good for a night stay for students travelling in back pack. And eventually big families who need more rooms and a clean . Definitely nt the place for a weekend trip.
It is a place that can tired you down rather to relax you. And they do not really think about having to do anything with it. I am sorry I am here.

Room Tip: Bot much to say. Ask to see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    110
    69
    31
    13
See reviews for
25
76
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is close to central station restaurants and very pleasant. Clean, quite room, with a good sized desk for work, internet connection was very good, staff very helpful. Hotel restaurant serves very good meals at a fair price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

stayed at hotel rotterdam in middle aug 13 I was with my family, we were visiting our family who live tere.we had 2 rooms which wasnt too bad but as my son had 2 children aged 4&2 and they put us on the top floor and they had to go up stairs with the pram as the lift did not go up to our floor.Ive had worse breakfasts just ok I think it is for business people and students.It is not too far from the station about 25 min walk to the main shops rotterdam has good shops and restaurants can be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel are quieter,but the area wasnt too noisey some of the hotel staff were very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel Rotterdam is basic, but really affordable, clean and well situated, just 10min walk fron the centre. Good and cheap breakfast. Recommend the Roodkapje Gallery around the corner, pretty nice and alternative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a modest hotel that is walking distance to the main train station.It was a great place to base out of for our day trip to Luxembourg and the countryside.We found Rotterdam city to be much more laid back than Amsterdam, and the public transport is new and exceptional.We were able to take the Tram to the port for our cruise departure right in front of the Hotel.The rooms range from modest (which we chose) to suites.The room was clean, if a little outdated. Staff is very friendly and competent, and the area is safe.We did not eat here, but the dining room was busy every night, along with the bar/pool table area.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, and I was concerned, but after 10PM everything quieted down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duszniki Zdrój, Walbrzych, Poland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm really shocked that some people on this site had problems with quality of rooms. Mine room was really,really nice. Beds were very comfortable and room was very big and comfortable. There was also a polish channel on the TV.
Breakfast was also good, food had a good quality (only orange juice was horrible).
The location itself was also really good. I can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel since its location near to town and on site parking appealed to us however when we got there it was very dissapointing. We had booked 2 superior rooms which were very run down and in terrible condition. The beds springs dug into your back, not all of the lights worked, there was dirt smeared on all the walls, the front door wouldn't close properly, both safes were broken and the bathroom was practically unusable due to the horrible smell of sewage emerging from it. We were also given a room at the back of the hotel which had no view whatsoever and we could see straight into people's apartments and they could see straight into our rooms. The tv worked but was very out of place in the room and there was absolutely no modern features in the room at all everything is old fashioned and worn down. Breakfast was also a joke they had no variety whatsoever, only 2 kinds of cereal, 2 types of diluted concentrated juice etc. The only edible thing really were the croissants which were in low supply. Also there was only one member of staff clearing tables and no clean plates to serve yourself were to be found anywhere. Luckily enough we only had this hotel booked for the one night and even at that we wanted to get out of there as quickly as possible, would not recommend or stay in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Schiekade 658, NL-3032AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rotterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotterdam
Rotterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.