We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money it was Fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added Tulip Inn Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tulip Inn Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Nieuwe Werk)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For the money it was Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were offered an upgrade which we took and it meant our room was a better size for 2 adults and we had a great view over the river. For one night and to get easy access to the metro it was fine. Breakfast was good. The bar shut at 11pm on a saturday night!….we got back at 11:30pm - that was disappointing for a city centre hotel. it was suggested that we could take a drink from the mini bar …but that too was empty. The double bed was 2 singles pushed together with 2 duvets. The basic rooms are incredibly small. We would stay again but only if we had an upgraded room and the price was VERY GOOD. The bed was

Room Tip: get a room with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    56
    52
    13
    4
See reviews for
8
42
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the worst hotel room we have ever stayed in. We got a room with 2 beds even though we asked for a double one. The size of the room was really small (with no place to leave our clothes or our luggage). The room was not clean. There were hair in many spots on the bathroom wall and floor.The heating was not working at all. We were lucky that we needed a room only for one night. Definitely does not worth the price!

Some good points of the hotel are the decent breakfast and the transport connections.

I advice you to stay away cause it turns out a big gamble. If you get a room with a nice view you might be "fine" with all the negatives but if you get unlucky it will ruin your trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My experience at the Tulip Inn was pretty good. Upon check-in, I was given a free upgraded room overlooking the bridge which was kind of them to do. The room itself is clean but rather basic in that you will not find any fancy plush stuff but this is just as fine especially if you are staying for few nights.
I booked the room with breakfast which was a smart thing to do as it turned out to be good, varied and fulfilling - you also have the possibility to take some coffee on the go.
So, in the end, I would certainly restay there as it was good value and perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Tulip Inn was a wonderful and ideal hotel to stay for one night before leaving on our cruise from the Rotterdam Port of Authority. Our room had a fantastic view and was centrally located to various types of transportation. I only regret that we did not stay there longer to see the city since it has so much history. You will definitely get your rest since the beds are so comfortable and the room was extremely clean! They have some good coffee that you can prepare yourself, however, we did not pay for their breakfast since it wasn't reasonably priced. We then decided to go to a restaurant around the corner. Customer service was a five star since staff were very polite and even kept our luggage stored in their office after we checked out of the room. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there sometime in the future but for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for one night only.
Nice hotel, quiet location, a bit out of the center. But good transport connections - tram station in front of hotel.
Rooms spacious, clean and tidy with beautiful view. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Terrible service from the reseption regardless of assistance requested.
Terrible breakfast with food items not stored in a favorable temperature.
Terrible small old rooms with poor quality and no space to put your suitcase besides on the bed.
Location pro: Close to a tourist canal boat.
Location con: Far distance to nearest ATM, pub, grocery store etc.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spend 3 days in this hotel that has a great location beside Rotterdam highlights like Erasmus Bridge and Euromust tower. Walkable distance from the center and with a great restaurant inside. However you pay for location cause room has around 15 sq meters and you can't storage a big luggage with you in the same place. You have to pay to leave the car inside a public park near the hotel so include 20 EUR per day in your fare.

Room Tip: Choose a doublebed even alone and ask for a room in front of Erasmus Bridge 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Rotterdam

Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Rotterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business Hotel situated in city center, overlooking Nieuwe Maas River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tulip Inn Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.