We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Rotterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel van Walsum to your Saves list
Hotel van Walsum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two nights in Rotterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel van Walsom is a cosy small hotel with friendly and helpful personnel. I recommend this both for business and leisure travellers but maybe not for those who want to have place full of stuffed shirt people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
56
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Portugal, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice room, spacious for Holland patterns, for a good price. There was also a good breakfast buffet. wi-fi was free, with excellent speed, and no forms to fill or 24 hours only passwords. Hotel street/lobby door only opens on bell ring.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I had 4 nights at the hotel. It is on a fairly quiet street near some busy ones, so in a good spot. My single room was ok, big enough for just me, and had two single beds in it with an en-suite bathroom. The view out of the back window was over the hotel's small but tidy patio and some private apartments beyond, so just average but nice and quiet. My room was clean as was the rest of the hotel, and the staff were friendly and chatty. The small bar stays open (June) until 1am and was not expensive. The hotel is very reasonably priced for this part of town, hence the 5* rating that I have given it. They had private parking at 12 or 15 Euros a night (I can't remember) but I took my chances parking in the pay and display spaces on the street at the front. These were quite expensive during the day (again, I don't remember how much) but free from 11pm to 9am Mon-Sat, and until 12 noon on Sun. They were generally pretty full but I was extraordinarily lucky and managed to get a space each night right outside the front door of the hotel. To park in them you have to buy a pre-paid chip-and-pin type card from a shop, perhaps a tobacconist's, and use that rather than putting cash directly in to the machine. However, the hotel will 'lend' you theirs when you arrive if you haven't been able to get one.

I didn't eat at the hotel, preferring to try local cafes for breakfast. I came a bit unstuck there, as the Dutch aren't big on that kind of thing and I walked for hours in different parts of town trying to find somewhere that would do a decent coffee and sandwich or pastry. The best place I found was a short walk away, La Zia Maria at Nieuwe Binnenweg 222A, 3021 GM Rotterdam, run by a couple of Sicilian guys and they did the best coffees and Panini in town, or almost anywhere else for that matter. Also a deli, selling pre-cooked pasta meals that you could eat there or take away if you wanted. Beware not open Sundays tho!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I spent one night at hotel Van Walsum. Normally I go to another hotel in Rotterdam, but as that one was fully booked, I had to look for a different one.

The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great.
I was a bit disappointed by the room size, single person bed. The good thing about the room was the airconditioning. Further the internet was also really good and fast. Good enough for streaming online video.

The hotel won't become my new favourite in Rotterdam, but it's a good alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The rooms are really nice and big, with very high ceilings and nice old style decoration. The breakfast is very good, you can have nice croissants and scrumbled eggs and bacon... I would avoid the Dutch goodies as their are not high quality (smearkass and pate !!) but you can go for fruits and fresh bread, which is the typical food of Holland!!
Very good bathroom and beds. Very good WIFI connection. Avoid the stairs !! Take the lift !!
The only "hic" is the noise of the city that wakes you up at 5:30 in the morning, for the rest everything is just fine !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiltigheim, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Hotel van Walsum in Rotterdam. We slept very well and the staff is very friendly, ready to help.
Breakfast is OK, but as in many hotels, quite expensive in relation to the quality, but it is practical. I even found an organic yogurt and the coffee is good. If you have time to look around you can save money and have breakfast at another place.
The hotel is in the city center of Rotterdam, so if you want to visit the city like we did it is very convenient. We will go back in this hotel if we come back in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Small and nice hotel located near to all the areas of interest in Rotterdam.
The rooms had a good size and was clean. It would have been nice to have the breakfast included, but you have plenty of places in the surroundings.
I was in the top floor, so I had a view of the city and it was very quiet.
Good place to be for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the site i see old pictures we renoveted the hotel how can we change this for new pictures to give the clients up to date information. Regards jos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Walsum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.