We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quiet spot next to one of the great walk-ways of Rotterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Walsum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet spot next to one of the great walk-ways of Rotterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Van Walsum three times this year, June/August/October, for five nights each visit. It is very quiet, particularly with rooms facing the back of the street. The location is terrific - 10 minutes by taxi from the Centraal train station, a 10-minute walk to Erasmus Medical Center, but most importantly a 2-minute walk to one of the main walking streets of Rotterdam, Nieuw Binnenweg, where one can walk for 30 minutes for a couple of miles! There are any number of restaurants, bars, clothing stores. There are two grocery stores within walking distance, if you plan a stay of a few days.

Hotel Van Walsum has refrigerators in each room, wireless, 32 tv channels including English language (and 1 German I think).

Breakfast is typical Dutch style downstairs in the bar-lounge area, with an inviting patio just one step out the sliding glass door. Typical Dutch style includes eggs, breads, cheeses, lots of meats, cereals, plus tea and coffee from a real coffee machine. Newspapers are available, although I just read on my iPad using their wireless.

I have stayed at vastly more expensive hotels in Holland, one in Rotterdam and one in Amsterdam, and really this competes with both of them. There is no pool or fitness center, however I had all the exercise I wanted strolling along the walking street.

Staff is friendly, accomodations clean, lots of amenities, with a wonderful location that has little street noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    71
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great area if you are in the city for Erasmus, still close to main streets and there is a supermarket 5 minute walk.

Rotterdam quite boring for a tourist unless you are into museums… Don’t waste time on Binnenrote market. Very good Italian restaurant near the hotel called Spaghettata.

Hotel is nice, good bar and breakfast area. There is a fun small garden to sit and/or smoke.
Stuff is welcoming and helpful. After entering a first door, you have to wait to be buzzed in the hotel, this feels very safe.

We had a superior room, was very large, 2 closets, 2 sofas, work desk and chair. Very good shower, nothing bad to say about the room!
Maybe one small thing, if you are planning on staying in your room and watch TV, so the TV is very small and old, but do have some good English channels.

Breakfast is good. The exact same food offered each morning, but it is ok for the three mornings we stayed.

Close tram and bus stations. Not sure if this location is the best if you want to be at city center.
If ever come back to Erasmus I will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Grossa, PR
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel staff was great! I arrived in a super hot day and my room had no air conditioner. I asked for a fan, and they brought me one, but then the hotel wasn´t full and they upgraded me to a super nice bedroom, with air, for free! The staff was so nice and so helpful. The breakfast is very good and the location of the hotel is also nice!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved our stay at the van Walsum. The rooms were great and the staff were very accommodating and helpful. We didn't have breakfast there, but went to a nearby restaurant. It is a good hotel to relax in as there are a couple of different sitting areas. We played cards with another couple in one of the areas. There is a small bar, but we had our own drinks. If there was a downside, it was a little far to walk to anything for someone who has feet that don't like walking, but having said that, I'd stay at the van Walsum again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was in a good location - within strolling distance to the excellent museum district and on a couple of tram lines.

The hotel recommended a couple of the local bars and restaurants and we were happy with their choices.

Will definitely plan on staying here next time we visit Rotterdam

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really lovely staff who were all very welcoming. The room was a great size and the breakfasts were amazing.We liked the staff, the cost and the location. No complaints at all.
Lovely little garden as well (with a friendly little cat that comes to visit).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a traditional building with classical style rooms with high ceilings.
It is conveniently situated for the centre of town on a quiet street.
Although the rooms are traditional, they are very well equipped- air conditioning, T.V..(with BBC1 &2), iron and board and tea/coffee making facilities. Very comfortable beds.
There is a bar which also serves light refreshments and a breakfast room which serves a great selection of hot and cold buffet food ( Euro 13.5). These public areas have very modern décor.
The staff are very helpful and efficient.
A great place to stay and good value!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the site i see old pictures we renoveted the hotel how can we change this for new pictures to give the clients up to date information. Regards jos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Walsum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.