We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Walsum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Port Ewen, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here 1 night after being in Germany for 2 weeks, awaiting a cruise to begin. Found them due to reviews on here. We paid $70Euro, about $95US for the room, which included breakfast.

From emails with the hotel, the info about reaching the hotel by taxi from central station and then to cruise terminal were spot on, about $10-11 euro. Much easier than walking, but walking is only about 15-20 minutes from Central Station.

After being in Germany for almost 2 weeks during pretty warm weather with no AC, it was a relief to be able to cool down the room. There was also coffee and tea in the room with a kettle; another nice touch not found in the hotels we stayed at in Germany. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was your typical European breakfast......eggs, toast, Nutella, meats, yogurt, cereal, just about anything outside cooked to order food.

The guy who checked us in gave us some info about the area for us to look around the afternoon we checked in. Also quickly provided multiple IDs for WiFi access as each room apparently only has 1 code assigned by default. In the morning, they held our luggage until we returned from sight seeing to get to the cruise terminal. Everyone we met was helpful and smiled. It was a good stop for us and I can see why it's been so highly rated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    67
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
54
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I can't believe people giving high score to this hotel, it doesn't deserve it. It is average at most! It is located in a remote area, you cannot really walk to the center and believe me I am a fan of walking and discovering cities. The rooms are ugly and dated. My parents were on the older side which was even worse than my side. Front desk was moody and they insisted to sell us a parking spot which is much more expensive than parking outside. I didn't like this hotel but to be fair it is not horrible. I think one can stand it for one day or two if there is no better alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great part of town: close to conference areas, near the museums and fab bars. It is the most beautiful, light-filled hotel, with balconies at the back, and rooms over leafy streets at the front. There are tea-making facilities and a fridge in each room. The beds are sumptuous. The staff is just lovely. I would really recommend this hotel. There is a sitting room to work in on the ground floor if you wake before everyone else (the staff offered me an extra coffee when I was working there one morning!), free wifi (which really works - fast connection), and the hotel is open 24 hours.

If you get a chance - ask if you can have a room that is not adjacent to the lifts, as the noise carries a little (as with most elegant, historical hotels that have wisely added elevators). It is slightly noisy in the morning with the room-cleaning staff happily answering their mobile phones in the hallways at 9am. Fine if you are checking out, but not so great if this is your one chance of a sleep-in. But this is a pretty common thing in hotels, so no real complaint here.

Breakfasts are a little expensive (if you are a light eater at breakfast) but over-the-top yummy with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, bacon and eggs, sweet croissants and serious coffee. From my point of view, it would be great if they let you have a coffee and croissant for half the price.

Really loved having a hotel with plaster roses on the ceilings and elegant tiled bathrooms with all products supplied and thick towels. There is a real sense of history. Would recommend this elegant and chic hotel to anyone who needs a sense of calm in the midst of travel. The people who work there go out of their way to enhance the fun of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not adjacent to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daprak@msn.com
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This small hotel is conveniently located on public transportation. They have a very good breakfast, the rooms are comfortable, clean and safe. We have been going there for about 10 years and they keep upgrading to make it very comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms - it may cost a little more but it is worth it. Rooms on the back m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night while at a conference in Rotterdam, but would have enjoyed an extended stay in this charming boutique hotel. Our room was huge by European standards and well appointed with free wifi, flat screen tv, large tub, small fridge, and coffee/tea makings. The staff is friendly and welcoming and even allowed us early access (noon) to our room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the first of our four trips to Rotterdam over the next 6 months, and we hope and plan to stay at this hotel each time we go. The location was ideal for us, within walking distance of Erasmus Medical Center, all the shops, food stores and delicious bakeries, banks, restaurants; everything we needed. The owner and the staff of this 3 generation family owned hotel couldn't have been more helpful or more dedicated to make our stay comfortable. They also gave us a free upgrade to one of their spacious apartments, since we were there for 6 days, and we much appreciated the extra space, the fully equipped kitchen, and the nice second floor view of town. It felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for a city break over the bank holiday weekend at the end of May 2013. We had requested a double room in advance, but on check in were put into a twin. When we asked to move to a double, we were told "we only have 3 in the hotel". Although we did move the next day, the attitude of the member of staff at the time and when we next saw him over the weekend was disappointingly apathetic, unaccommodating and unapologetic.

If you can get a reasonable sized room with a window, the hotel is otherwise well presented and in an excellent location to explore the city on foot, tram or metro. The nearby bars, bakeries (especially Vlaamsch Broodhuys) and restaurants come recommended.

Room Tip: Ensure to follow up any request to the hotel and check in early. Room with a full window and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the site i see old pictures we renoveted the hotel how can we change this for new pictures to give the clients up to date information. Regards jos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Walsum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.