We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem well located with delightful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel van Walsum to your Saves list
Hotel van Walsum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem well located with delightful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Only stayed one night while at a conference in Rotterdam, but would have enjoyed an extended stay in this charming boutique hotel. Our room was huge by European standards and well appointed with free wifi, flat screen tv, large tub, small fridge, and coffee/tea makings. The staff is friendly and welcoming and even allowed us early access (noon) to our room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
66
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the first of our four trips to Rotterdam over the next 6 months, and we hope and plan to stay at this hotel each time we go. The location was ideal for us, within walking distance of Erasmus Medical Center, all the shops, food stores and delicious bakeries, banks, restaurants; everything we needed. The owner and the staff of this 3 generation family owned hotel couldn't have been more helpful or more dedicated to make our stay comfortable. They also gave us a free upgrade to one of their spacious apartments, since we were there for 6 days, and we much appreciated the extra space, the fully equipped kitchen, and the nice second floor view of town. It felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for a city break over the bank holiday weekend at the end of May 2013. We had requested a double room in advance, but on check in were put into a twin. When we asked to move to a double, we were told "we only have 3 in the hotel". Although we did move the next day, the attitude of the member of staff at the time and when we next saw him over the weekend was disappointingly apathetic, unaccommodating and unapologetic.

If you can get a reasonable sized room with a window, the hotel is otherwise well presented and in an excellent location to explore the city on foot, tram or metro. The nearby bars, bakeries (especially Vlaamsch Broodhuys) and restaurants come recommended.

Room Tip: Ensure to follow up any request to the hotel and check in early. Room with a full window and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Set in a typical dutch building, looks historical but is not old inside and very well kept.
My room (4th fl.), even if not big, got all the comfort and a nice view over the town roofs.
Coffee and tea were available in room, liquid soap by wall delivery that worked well.
I would just regret a little lack of water pressure for the shower.
Location close to the center makes it easy. Count 20 mn by foot from the CS.
Free and perfect WiFi. Reception delivers easy smiles and help.
Took my breakfast elsewhere in a nice bakery (one street on the way to the city centre)
Jordy’s Bakery (Nieuwe Binnenweg 97 A) where you can be served outside in the sunshine...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very nice staff and a perfect location for a city trip. But if you get a room with street view it could get pretty loud. The small TV was annoying as well. But for just one or two days it`s absolutely sufficient.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had a nice stay at Hotel Van Walsum. The staff is wonderful: I had emailed them ahead of time saying that I was stopping over for 1 night after a 10-week trip, and will be bringing in a large suitcase, and they made sure I got a big room to allow me some space. The rooms was neat and perfectly decent, it was very comfortable. Location is great: very easy to get around from where the hotel is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Perfectly nice place to spend the night. The location is just on the outskirts of the center, so if you're parking on the street you can drive a block or two and find a cheaper (or free on Sunday) spot.

The check-in desk doubles as the hotel bar, which is welcoming after a long day's travels. Small, clean room, walking distance to many of the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Walsum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.