We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, friendly staff, parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel van Walsum to your Saves list
Hotel van Walsum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“nice room, friendly staff, parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was somewhat surprised at how good this hotel was for the money.
Tea & coffee, good selection of English speaking channels,nice modern bedroom,friendly staff who let us leave our car parked past checkout (car parking is charged separately).
Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but would definitely recommend; good location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    95
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
75
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked the Hotel van Walsum for a 1 night stay whilst we were on a mini cruise from Hull to Rotterdam. The coach from the Europort dropped us off at Central Station in Rotterdam at 9.50am. We were all provided with a free city map by the driver and it took us only a couple of minutes to plan a route to the hotel through a residential area of the city. We arrived at the hotel at 10.10am. We were well aware that check in time was 2.00pm but asked at reception if we could leave our bags somewhere whilst we went off to explore. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told by the lady on reception that our room was ready and we were quite welcome to check in there and then.
We were given a room on the 3rd floor, there are stairs and a lift to all floors. The room was obviously newly renovated and was spotlessly clean, and of a very good size, we have stayed in hotels of this price range in Holland before and have ended up with very pokey rooms.
One wall was taken up completely by the window which had patio doors leading to a pleasant balcony which overlooked the small but very nice hotel garden and outdoor seating area, lovely for summer, but not on a clear cold November day.
The bathroom was spacious and very clean, with a shower and bath, toilet and hand wash basin. Shower gel and handwash were provided along with a selection of towels, and a hairdryer.
The room itself consisted of a very large comfortable bed, a flat screen TV with remote, a remote controlled heating system which worked very well, table, 3 chairs, kettle with tea/coffee etc, an ironing board and iron, a fridge, and a safe. All the bedding was very clean and extra pillows were in the wardrobe. There was plenty of storage space for clothes, bags etc. Some hotels I would say are adequate for just a 1/2 night stay, but the van Walsum would be ideal for a much longer visit.
The reception and public areas were all very clean, very well decorated and looked after. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We initially didn't book the breakfast which was an extra €13.50 per person, but after wandering around Rotterdam we realised that there was no where close by offering that sort of breakfast for the price, so we booked the breakfast for the following morning.
Our room was at the back of the hotel away from the road and was completely quite, the only noise was the occasional whirring of the lift but that was not a problem.
Breakfast the following morning was buffet style and there was an excellent selection, fresh fruit salad, cereal, bacon, scrambled eggs, continental meats and cheeses, the list goes on, needless to say we were very pleased as I don't think we could have got that sort of selection and quality elsewhere for the price.
Check out is at 11.00am, we were not being collected to return to the ferry terminal until 5.00pm so we asked if our bags could be left at the hotel for collection later. This was not a problem and the bags were taken and locked in a secure room to be collected at 4.00pm.
Can't fault this hotel in any way, it's close enough to walk all the attractions, the Euromast, Spido boat trips, the maritime museum, shops etc, but remains in a reasonably quiet area.
We would most certainly return here if we visited Rotterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room at the rear of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Van Walsum is a nice place in a fairly convenient location just off the number 4 tram route (southbound) from the station. Incidentally if you`re ever visiting the city we recommend buying a "Rotterdam Welcome card" which gives free travel on the trams (and the buses and the Metro) plus discounts at most popular tourist sites like the Zoo and the museums. The hotel has friendly helpful staff and the rooms are fairly big, ours had a fridge as well. The room we had was an unrefurbished one but still OK, it was on the front which is a bit noisier than the back but not too bad. We arrived at the hotel quite early having caught the coach from the Hull ferry but the staff kindly let us into the first room to become free at 10.30 (and even gave us a coffee whilst we were waiting) which was appreciated by us.
The hotel is quite good value provided you don`t want the breakfast which was 13.5 Euros when we stayed so for two of you it certainly puts the price up. When we booked on the hotel website we couldn`t find a price for the breakfast, maybe it`s on there but not prominent ?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We were first given one of the older rooms but asked for (and reveived) a renovated room on the 4th floor. Needless to say the switch was well worth it. Breakfast was above expectations, plenty of choice, good stuff! The hotel is located very close to main attractions such as musea, restos, shopping area and bars. We can only recommend this place, value for money!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance to the ferry dock going to Kinderdijk. It is close to some nice restaurants. The hotel staffs were friendly and provided some good information for our one day stay in Rotterdam. I would agree with other reviewers that this hotel needs some new furnitures and TVs.

Room Tip: We got a ground floor room and with a door to outside garden. We enjoyed it, but had to be careful n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for just one night but enjoyed it. Our room was small but comfortable and the service was very friendly. I couldn't find anything wrong with this place. Maybe because it was just for one night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A very nice hotel within walking distance of Rotterdam's attractions. It's a 15-20 min walk from the train station but there are buses and trams that can take you there if you have bags. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the gardens that was very cute. The room was clean and comfortable, the floors are probably 100 years old and made noise when you walked. The furniture and appliances could really use a facelift, but everything worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#6 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oude Westen
Hotel Breitner
Hotel Breitner
#9 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#11 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-203, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Walsum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.