We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, friendly staff, parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Walsum

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Walsum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathenesserlaan 199-203, Rotterdam 3014 HC, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“nice room, friendly staff, parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was somewhat surprised at how good this hotel was for the money.
Tea & coffee, good selection of English speaking channels,nice modern bedroom,friendly staff who let us leave our car parked past checkout (car parking is charged separately).
Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but would definitely recommend; good location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    70
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked the Hotel van Walsum for a 1 night stay whilst we were on a mini cruise from Hull to Rotterdam. The coach from the Europort dropped us off at Central Station in Rotterdam at 9.50am. We were all provided with a free city map by the driver and it took us only a couple of minutes to plan a route to the hotel through a residential area of the city. We arrived at the hotel at 10.10am. We were well aware that check in time was 2.00pm but asked at reception if we could leave our bags somewhere whilst we went off to explore. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told by the lady on reception that our room was ready and we were quite welcome to check in there and then.
We were given a room on the 3rd floor, there are stairs and a lift to all floors. The room was obviously newly renovated and was spotlessly clean, and of a very good size, we have stayed in hotels of this price range in Holland before and have ended up with very pokey rooms.
One wall was taken up completely by the window which had patio doors leading to a pleasant balcony which overlooked the small but very nice hotel garden and outdoor seating area, lovely for summer, but not on a clear cold November day.
The bathroom was spacious and very clean, with a shower and bath, toilet and hand wash basin. Shower gel and handwash were provided along with a selection of towels, and a hairdryer.
The room itself consisted of a very large comfortable bed, a flat screen TV with remote, a remote controlled heating system which worked very well, table, 3 chairs, kettle with tea/coffee etc, an ironing board and iron, a fridge, and a safe. All the bedding was very clean and extra pillows were in the wardrobe. There was plenty of storage space for clothes, bags etc. Some hotels I would say are adequate for just a 1/2 night stay, but the van Walsum would be ideal for a much longer visit.
The reception and public areas were all very clean, very well decorated and looked after. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We initially didn't book the breakfast which was an extra €13.50 per person, but after wandering around Rotterdam we realised that there was no where close by offering that sort of breakfast for the price, so we booked the breakfast for the following morning.
Our room was at the back of the hotel away from the road and was completely quite, the only noise was the occasional whirring of the lift but that was not a problem.
Breakfast the following morning was buffet style and there was an excellent selection, fresh fruit salad, cereal, bacon, scrambled eggs, continental meats and cheeses, the list goes on, needless to say we were very pleased as I don't think we could have got that sort of selection and quality elsewhere for the price.
Check out is at 11.00am, we were not being collected to return to the ferry terminal until 5.00pm so we asked if our bags could be left at the hotel for collection later. This was not a problem and the bags were taken and locked in a secure room to be collected at 4.00pm.
Can't fault this hotel in any way, it's close enough to walk all the attractions, the Euromast, Spido boat trips, the maritime museum, shops etc, but remains in a reasonably quiet area.
We would most certainly return here if we visited Rotterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room at the rear of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Van Walsum is a nice place in a fairly convenient location just off the number 4 tram route (southbound) from the station. Incidentally if you`re ever visiting the city we recommend buying a "Rotterdam Welcome card" which gives free travel on the trams (and the buses and the Metro) plus discounts at most popular tourist sites like the Zoo and the museums. The hotel has friendly helpful staff and the rooms are fairly big, ours had a fridge as well. The room we had was an unrefurbished one but still OK, it was on the front which is a bit noisier than the back but not too bad. We arrived at the hotel quite early having caught the coach from the Hull ferry but the staff kindly let us into the first room to become free at 10.30 (and even gave us a coffee whilst we were waiting) which was appreciated by us.
The hotel is quite good value provided you don`t want the breakfast which was 13.5 Euros when we stayed so for two of you it certainly puts the price up. When we booked on the hotel website we couldn`t find a price for the breakfast, maybe it`s on there but not prominent ?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We were first given one of the older rooms but asked for (and reveived) a renovated room on the 4th floor. Needless to say the switch was well worth it. Breakfast was above expectations, plenty of choice, good stuff! The hotel is located very close to main attractions such as musea, restos, shopping area and bars. We can only recommend this place, value for money!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance to the ferry dock going to Kinderdijk. It is close to some nice restaurants. The hotel staffs were friendly and provided some good information for our one day stay in Rotterdam. I would agree with other reviewers that this hotel needs some new furnitures and TVs.

Room Tip: We got a ground floor room and with a door to outside garden. We enjoyed it, but had to be careful n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for just one night but enjoyed it. Our room was small but comfortable and the service was very friendly. I couldn't find anything wrong with this place. Maybe because it was just for one night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A very nice hotel within walking distance of Rotterdam's attractions. It's a 15-20 min walk from the train station but there are buses and trams that can take you there if you have bags. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the gardens that was very cute. The room was clean and comfortable, the floors are probably 100 years old and made noise when you walked. The furniture and appliances could really use a facelift, but everything worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-203, Rotterdam 3014 HC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the site i see old pictures we renoveted the hotel how can we change this for new pictures to give the clients up to date information. Regards jos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Walsum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.