We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service but bad quality/prix” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bazar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bazar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bazar
Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Munich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“friendly service but bad quality/prix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have been 2 days in Rotterdam in 2 different Hotels:
Bazar Hotel and Bilderberg Parkhotel.
A double room with breakfast in Bazar Hotel costed us 85euros in an african room. Service is good, breakfast is very good (it can be accessed even if you don't sleep in the hotel) but the hotel facilities are really old (extremely old lift). Room was large but the decoration was quite bad. quality/price should be improved. The best, the breakfast.
A double room without breakfast in Bilderberg Hotel costed us 125euros (I think that there are cheaper rooms). Service is very good, the hotel facilities are really good and room was large and very comfortable. Of course, you pay it.
Both hotels are very close to the city center.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
27
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

After reading some of the reviews about the Hotel Bazar I decided to write one of my own. Before I moved to Holland I used to stay at this hotel a few times a year on business. Part of the reason I preferred staying at Bazar because it was close to our office. The other part was I loved the rooms and the easy going staff. Some of the rooms are spectacular. My other favourite thing was the breakfast which starts quite late but runs all day. Breakfast is served in Bazar's very busy restaurant. A great place to sit when travelling by yourself. What I also liked was the fact the rooms were always very clean. Of course there are a few things I would love for them to change. No Internet acess in 2009 is just crazy and the fact that people are still allowed to smoke in the rooms is beyond me. Apart from that I think Bazar is worth a visit. My parents stayed there 2 months ago and loved it. Oh and they really liked the hotel manager. Haha! Especially my mother. I had to mention this because the person whose review spoke of her disliking the manager made me laugh. People seem to forget Bazar is only a 2 star hotel and really does not pretend to be anything but that. So if you are looking for a fun, friendly and inexpensive place to stay. Try Bazar.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

No, no, no, no!
I booked this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. When I booked it was rated as #2 best hotel in Rotterdam. But is it? Can a 2 star hotel be this good?
No way!.
I'm afraid people get carried away by some features and rate the overall experience too high.
Let me tell you about the positive things first: the hotel staff are EXCELLENT. Whatever I asked for, they provided with a smile. The location is relatively central (five minutes walk to a tram stop and from there 4 stops to the central station). Restaurant has very interesting food. Cleaning service is very adequate.
And that's it. But is this enough to make a hotel GREAT? I don't think so.This hotel has warn out furniture, blankets that should have been thrown away two years ago, walls that need to be refreshed, the softest hotel mattress I've ever slept on, no internet connection, no reception after 11 pm, thin walls, few choices for breakfast (it's either menu A or B) and the list goes on.
Is the hotel trying to "appear" as something different?
No. THEY are honest. They accept the fact that they are a two star hotel and they charge accordingly. So I have nothing to say against them. This is an issue of trip advisor reviewers overestimating a hotel.
Are you young, looking for a friendly, reasonably priced, clean hotel in Rotterdam, just to "crash"? This should be just fine for you.
Are you a bit demanding, looking for a top-ten hotel in Rotterdam? Go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Friendly, competent staff
  • Disliked — Warn out furniture, no internet connection
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Brilliant hotel! The lobby and room were amazing, they were clean and spacious. The best part of staying in this hotel was eating in the restaurant the night before and having breakfast the next day, the food was amazing and the restaurant has a really nice feel.
The staff all spoke very good English and were polite and friendly.
Very central location and good parking.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

If you visit Rotterdam and do not stay here you will be missing out!

  • Liked — The style of the room, and the food!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

i was traveling on business and my client booked me a room at this hotel. the lobby is beautiful and the room that i stayed in was very cool and spacious - however, i arrived at 1pm and the hotel manager told me (very rudely) that my room was not available until 2pm. i travel frequently and have never had an experience with a hotel manager like this, if i had the option i would have forefitted my reservation and left...

however, when i came back later in the afternoon another girl (who was very sweet) checked me in.

i regret not taking any photos of the hotel (especially the room because it was very cool decor)

breakfast was awesome, best OJ i've ever had.

big downside - NO internet access, not even paid. not good for business travelers...

didn't bother me much but other travelers may mind...the elevator took forever to come so i opted for the stairs...the room was on the 3rd floor so not great for people with disabilities or limited mobility.

  • Liked — location, hotel decor, breakfast
  • Disliked — no internet, elevator did not work well, RUDE hotel manager!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

This hotel is a brilliant find. We stayed for 2 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms as we booked late and it was a busy weekend due to the annual dance parade in Rotterdam. All the rooms are individually designed and have themes of either African, South American or Middle Eastern.

We were in African themed rooms both nights and they were amazing. The second one in particular was really unusual and beautifully decorated. Both rooms aside from looking fantastic were spotless and the hotel staff helpful and friendly. They also moved all of our luggage when we were moving rooms so it was very hassle free.

If you are looking for a hotel for a short break in Rotterdam, then I would really recommend this hotel. It made such a nice change from staying in anonymous chain hotels.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast not great
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I think we booked this after reading good reviews on TA. We were not disappointed.

Stopped here whilst going to concert at the Ahoy.

Amazingly unusual rooms, ours was African themed. (Although I wouldn't recommend children in the room we were in, as the window opens all the way and the window sill is actually also the floor level) with the sunken bed!!! Hard to describe without a photo.



Restaurant food was lovely.

staff very friendly and helpful, the booking was made over the phone, their english is excellent.

Good hotel if on a stag/hen do.

Good central location to enjoy most of Rotterdams delights, good bars and some lovely shops.

  • Liked — decor, food, staff
  • Disliked — no door on the loo!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazar

Address: Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazar Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.