We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etno comfort in rotterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bazar to your Saves list
Hotel Bazar
Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Etno comfort in rotterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bautiful place to slepp, with really nice rooms and furnitures. The arab restaurant is simply great. It was a big surprise to find such a special place. It is located in a good position. Maybe you might dislike it at the first impression but go in and check teh rooms and floors.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms they all have different styles so chek you favourite one
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
28
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in one of the most interesting area of Rotterdam, my room was a bit aged but in the mean time very funny, a lot of unusual staffs have been used to make it more comfortable. The hotel is located in an old building which would probably need a review...but the small defect are covered by the kindliness of the personnel and by the...amazing mexican breakfast. Internet to be payed extra. Great solution for short period.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A friendly, creative hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, each room is decorated differently, in either Middle Eastern, African or South American style. Rooms vary considerably in size so make sure to check which one you pick. The lacking door to toilet and shower makes this less suitable for traveling with someone you don't know very well.
The breakfast is really good and comprehensive, and the location central. A good choice of bars and cafes is nearby. Witte de Withstraat can get a little noisy at night but not to the extent that it would have disturbed me while sleeping with open window.
Don't expect luxury, don't expect 4 stars, but if you like creativity, to try something different and if you are young (at heart), this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akershus, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at Bazar for two nights during a business stay. Centrally placed in a cool area of town. Big bed on the floor, no door to the bathroom, and a giant shower/tub. A fun hotel out of the ordinary. Good food and perfect for grabbing a drink in Witte de Withstraat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Hotel Bazar. The staff on reception are very welcoming and extremely helpful.

We liked the concept of the hotel and found it interesting, yes some if the decor is run down but we didn't care, all the necessities are there and they were good enough. Our first night was spent up on the south American floor, the top floor. Be aware that if you book a room on this floor you will have to climb the last flight of stairs up as the lift doesn't go all the way up. The room was nice and we had a nice balcony to sit on as well.

The rest of our stay was spent in a room on the African themed floor. The room was really big and the bed was huge, the only issue I had was the fact that there was no bathroom door, just beading. It wasn't a huge issue but it could be for some people, especially any new couples that have planned a romantic weekend away!

The location is really good, lots and lots of shops/cafes/bars/restaurants, the train station is walking distance, as is the euro mast tower. The hotel restaurant is excellent as well and is really good value.

The only thing I would be wary about is the noise from outside, most of the rooms if not all face a busy street full of bars. It was pretty noisy but not too bad when I stayed during the week and a few people have commented about the noise at the weekend.

We enjoyed or stay overall and would definitely come back. It's an experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Well, the concept is still nice and original. Also liked the staff at the reception as well as the delicous breakfast at the resto. On the downside: the room we stayed in was somewhat shabby and worn out and the beds way too often used to be comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The main reason I chose this hotel is the weekday price for a centrally-located hotel, but I wanted to try it anyway because of the unusual decor and the very popular Bazar restaurant. Last night, I stayed in room 202 which was clean, cool and comfortable. Despite it being on the restaurant / bar street, I did not hear the noise and slept well. Wonderful, huge breakfast is included in the price. Very good service. And, the taxi stand is right at the corner.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Choose from their website http://www.bazarrotterdam.com/read/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazar

Address: Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazar Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.