We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real bazar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bazar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bazar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bazar
Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a real bazar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

A real bazar of rooms in a modern charming city, for real travellers.
We chose from the web site one of the african rooms, the larger, original and colorful room we've had, with wooden floor. The wonderful bathroom have no door! (amusing and enjoyable for us, not for everyone).
Each floor is a different continent. Going round the hotel we saw the south america top floor: really kitch with religious iconography, colorful windows and plastic flowers. Nice the middle eastern floor, with oriental atmosphere.
Breakfast is nearly a lunch and it's in the bazar restaurant: homemade pancakes, jam, butter, egg, cheese, wheat and white bread, yoghurt, fresh orange juice
The last night we tried the restaurant, good but in my opinion you can find better places.
The hotel is in a central position on a main road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
27
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nürnberg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I like this hotel. It has an atmosphere. I stayed there for a few days and I was really satisfied. It is very original hotel where every room is something special. Breakfest were tasty and I can recommend this hotel to everybody who doesnť like ordinary hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Room 307 is great kicht with dreamlike bath tub and food is delicicous.

On the down side: lot of noise to keep you awake at night and windows that won't open while the sun heats up the room. We fled the hotel after one night of sleeplessness.

Will be my fav spot in Rotterdam once they install double - or triple - glazing and an airco. Up to that moment, I'll spend my 125 euros elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night in Rotterdam (my wife and I) in an African themed room. It was definitely different and a refreshing change from the standard hotels. The layout was appreciable, but a little snug. Overall, no problems, staff were friendly and enjoyable, they certainly know how to help get a person around town and know what info to give them.

I don't know if it's normal here or not but if you're coming over from N.America, don't be freaked out if they ask you to pay first. Seems to be common place. Good Hotel. Might be tight with kids, and there was no door to the bathroom, so know this if you are bringing family. There is no sign outfront that jumps out at you to find the place, but look for the restaurant it's very identifiable and the hotel reception is just past that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This hotel really does put the fun into a little weekend away.

We stayed in one of the top floor rooms, which has the benefit of being furthest away from the road obviously (it's single glazing) and also the use of a lovely balcony with views over to the Euromast and over the city - great at night for a little aperitif before heading down to the enormous, colourful 3-floor restaurant.

All the rooms are themed so the decoration is designed to take you to a different continent. The top floor rooms are South America, so it's kitch as you like with pop-art wallpaper on one wall, flowery curtains, religious iconography and plastic flowers - at first it seems ugly but after just a few minutes it's grown on you and you're in love and never want to leave. And the bed was enormous, big enough for 3! Proper 2-person bath in the bathroom too - but this is not standard, before booking it's essential to look at all the rooms on the website and then try to book the one you want - we got our third choice, booking 2 months ahead so it's a busy place!

Reception staff are very friendly and of course speak perfect English. They even escort you to your room when you arrive, a nice touch!

And the breakfast is AMAZING. Freshly squeezed orange juice, proper coffee, eggs, fresh fruit with (Turkish?) yogurt, cheese, (Turkish?) sausage, different breads, honey, jam, feta cheese and a sweet pancake. But after all that you need a mint tea to digest!

I would come back here just for the hotel, to try out a different continent - Rotterdam is great but this hotel makes it greater!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Every room is different, it is a while ago I stayed here. I have been there 3 times, you just have to come back t check more rooms. My first stay was a romantic getaway in het Africa room with huge wooden bath and rainshower. Second stay was with friends, girls night out, and we had a South America room. The last stay was in the white Arabic room, also very romantic!
The food in the restaurant is delicious and te shopping area is closeby.
Worth my recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Lived here for 4 nights in August. Th rooms are really special with indivisual decor depending on the floor. I lived at the "oriental" floor and my room with a maroccan and indian touch was really nice. It is a bit strange that there are no doors to the bathroom, I had a pearl drapey, but that's fine. The only inconvenience is the fact that the rooms are facing the street on which the restaurants guests are visiting to smoke: You can feel the smoke odour in your room. Also, bring earplugs! Over all, the hotel is a great place to stay. The breakfast is HUGE and taste wonderful: Algerian pancaces, fresh fruit, egg, feta cheese, a variety of bred with butter and jam, vanilla yoghurt and different kinds of meat! I was in Rotterdam for a conference and did not really need internet connection. That was the big minus: No internet at all in the hotel room. But otherwise, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazar

Address: Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazar Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.