We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Centrally located in downtown Rotterdam, different from "usual" hotels.The hotel building is the former emigration departure from Holland to New York. Many original furnitures and other exhibition pieces. Room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast with lot of choice. A must do is the drive with a water taxi from the hotel to the old port of Rotterdam. Recommendable, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    108
    14
    10
    1
See reviews for
44
113
11
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I travel quite a lot in my proffession and even though I am not very fond of Rotterdam as a city I always enjoy staing at the New York Hotel.
It has everything I like with a hotel including personality, Good food, good location, nice staff and rooms with a touch of home to them.
THe restaurant has a fantastic athmosphere and the check-in area is old looking, but very genuine. The rooms are made to stay in for a long time and the barber-shop in the basement adds a touch of perfection to the whole experience.

I can`t imagine anyone not pleased with staying here either in sunny weather when sipping beer outside or when rainy and windy when you can stay in your room and watch the maas-reiver float by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The old Holland-America Line passenger terminal. Some way out from the centre - by land; but right in the centre of the port, and good water-taxis in most directions. Built very much like a ship internally, with many original fittings and furniture from the early 20th century. Rooms are large and comfortable. The views are not as good as they used to be, as new office buildings now surround it on two sides [when I first went there, years back, it stood on its own at the end of the quay.] The two towers show the Time and the Wind Direction: one, in Rotterdam; the other, in New York. Large, often crowded, informal restaurant, with an outside terrace with great views down the river to the sea. Food generally good, and very Dutch.
All in all, the very opposite of a soulless Hilton/Intercontinental/Holiday Inn/Marriott chain warehouse. It has its faults, but they're outweighed by the character.
I love it, and go there every time I'm in Rotterdam on business. But I'd also take a girlfriend there, if she had any sense of history and romance!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Firstly it is worth noting that this hotel is the former offices of the Holland America Cruise Line (HAL). It is steeped in nautical history and quite quirky. Its location is a little out of the way from the city centre but is overlooking the river Maas. It is within very easy walking distance of the cruise terminal.

The reception staff were excellent, efficient and friendly all speaking excellent English. There wasa little book shop selling many nautical books etc.The Hotel also has it's own Barbers shop.

It’s not a cheap hotel and many of the rooms are unique in shape. Several boardrooms have been made into bedrooms, Those rooms with sea views cost more. There are two round towers on the roof, each being a room.

The room I stayed in was the cheapest grade (although not exactly cheap). The room was spacious and had the highest ceiling I have ever seen in a hotel. The bathroom was large with a bath/shower combo, the bed was two single beds put together but comfortable. There was a choice of natural and synthetic pillows. The room had very responsive air-conditioning. The wardroom was actually a metal-locker (locker-room style) and a littler small if you do not travel lightly. There was a safe but no mini-bar or fridge. The windows were large and could be opened to allow fresh-air. The biggest disappointment for a Brit was there was no tea and coffee making facilities. There was 24 hour rooms service but it carried a fee of 4.50 Euros.

The Hotel restaurant is very large, quite noisy and very atmospheric. It always seems to be busy – which is a good sign. It was open from 7.00am often until 1.00am. I had three evening meals there. Once again the room is quirky with lots of ship memorabilia. The food was very good, with seafood being a speciality, the service was very friendly (English was not a problem) but the service was not always very fast, yet adequate. It was not exactly cheap, but was 'posh nosh' (nicely presented etc.) - although nothing in Rotterdam seemed to be cheap.

The buffet Breakfast at 17.50 Euro was a little disappointing and overpriced. I’d recommend a nearby coffee shop instead.

It is possible to take a water taxi to various locations from the Hotel, including the SS Rotterdam (ship hotel), alternatively there is a metro-station ten minutes walk away. Within two or three stops you are in the city centre. Rotterdam City Centre is only a few stops more. (The ticket machines take a little mastering).

It’s difficult to give this hotel a star rating. For atmosphere and quirkiness and the evening meals, I give it a five stars. The cost, poor breakfast, remote location* and lack of tea-making would bring it down a little in my opinion.

(*Of course being a former HAL office overlooking the Maas next to the cruise terminal necessitates that it would hardly be in the city centre).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Dieses Hotel ist einmalig! Es hat unheimlich viel Charakter. Ueberall stehen alte Koffer von der Jahrhundertwende herum, mein Schrank im Zimmer zog sich auseinander. Das Bett war auf einem erhobenen Podium, Zimmergroesse riesig mit tollem Ausblick. Deko ist was besonderes!

Fruestueck war vorzueglich. Ueberhaupt sollte man hier mal vorbeischauen und in der Bar/Restaurant etwas einnehmen, denn dort ist ebenfalls gute Atmosphere, riesig gross mit allen moeglichen Leckereien. Im Restaurant habe ich nicht gegessen, aber ich denke der Standard wird ebenfalls hoch sein.

Hier wuerde ich auf jeden Fall nochmals uebernachten, Preis liegt jedoch bei ca. 125 Euro pro Zimmer also nur fuer spezielle Anlaesse oder Geschaeftsreisen ;o)

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel New York one night on a recent road trip. This was hands-down one of the biggest highlights of the trip. I chose the small tower room for myself and my son, because I liked the location and history of the hotel, and thought the tower room would be something unusual for about 30 Euro extra. Wow! We were at waterside on the inner harbor, and had a 360 degree view from the tower. In one direction, the EuroMast, in another the famous Erasmusbrug, and in yet another wonderful views of the harbor. Regardless of the highrise apartment and office buildings recently built on the harborside, the views were not obstructed. The tower is like a private viewing platform...only many times better. The room itself is not overly large, but adequate size for two people. To reach the room, there is a spiral staircase from the upper hotel floor, then inside the room itself, another spiral staircase up to the tower room. The room is furnished in a way that is reminiscent of a cruise ship, and it works in this building. The tower room is large enough for a couple chairs and table. We played cards up there in the evening while enjoying the view. On all four sides, there are double doors that open onto balconies, so we could enjoy the fresh sea air as well. The room was clean, the staff friendly. Beware of the parking, though...take the covered garage because the hotel offers a discount, and you can pay in the hotel. The meters on the open parking do not accept cash and will not accept bank cards from outside Holland. Breakfast was delicious with a good variety. The restaurant in the hotel was also excellent, with friendly staff and reasonable prices. The water taxi is a bonus, and with quite reasonable prices as well. While I can not speak for any of the other accomodations in this hotel, I will say that the tower room was well worth the price, and will stay here in this exact same hotel and room when we return to Rotterdam.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

With the watertaxi to this excellent place. Great hotel and good styled. We had a lunch just in front of the hotel (same kitchen). The service is really bad. Not friendly...when they have time ...they come.
We ordered a ceasar salad and a ...duck salad? Well first off all...this was the worsest salad we've ever had!!! They forgot the ansjovis on the ceasar salad ...when I asked for it they gave me...
Is it only the place and the name you pay for? We payed 6,50 euro for some green leaves with cheese and bacon.
The waiter asked if we had a good lunch...well we told the trought. He would bring it over to the cook...but he didn't.
We want to stay in the hotel because thats nice, but we dont eat her anymore !!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.