We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of Dutch and American history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a piece of Dutch and American history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent one night in the Hotel New York, which used to be the headquarters of the famous Holland America Line, the shipping company which helped entire Dutch and other European populations emigrate to America. Ships used to leave from this very pier, and you can now sleep in the company's former offices. A great deal of imagination, humour and attention to detail went into the conversion of the building into a hotel. If you're interested in early twentieth-century architecture, you'll love the period features left in situ, e.g. the staircase, tiling, doors, panelling, etc. We loved our spacious balcony room (and the balcony IS big enough to put two chairs on it); the views over the Maas are stunning. We particularly loved the light in the entire building; the windows are huge, and good use is made of blinds etc. The restaurant and bar are fantastic places too. Housekeeping and cleaning wasn't too conscientious, we thought, and some may feel that the shabby chic look of some wooden detail is out of line with the sense of pride which the Holland America Line stood for, but even so, this is still one of the most interesting hotels that we've ever stayed in. Some members of our family emigrated to New York from this very spot.

Room Tip: Balcony Rooms for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive words. We are happy that you were pleased by the, still lively, history of this place. We will do our best to keep this story alive! Also thank you for your feedback on the cleaning, I will discuss this with the team. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    115
    14
    10
    1
See reviews for
45
120
11
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

When we arrived the welcome at the front desk was a bit lacking, after we had hauled our cases up the stairs (no concierge) but the hotel itself was quirky, very different and interesting in it's design and history. We booked a balcony room (technically is was a balcony, but not one you could put a chair on!) which overlooked the waterway. It was very different from the average hotel room, with plenty of space, a very comfortable bed, very unusual bathroom, great views and very quiet. Wanted to change some currency at the front desk but they do not offer this service. There is an ATM 400m up the road so went there and collected some Euros.

We ate in the restuarant the first night which was packed and buzzing - great food, a really good atmosphere and excellent service. The waiters and waitresses were great and the restaurant manager took us to a good table and really was concerned that we had a good meal and a good time. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice, but limited service and quite different from the buzz and cheerfulness of the night before.

We were on a 2 night stop which made a lovely change from the usual city centre hotels. We would go back and stay in the same room..

Room Tip: Worth paying for the view in a Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you liked the hotel and our staff.
Indeed, the balcony is not very big, it is a part of the old buidling.
Hopefully you enjoyed it though.
We hope that you will be our guest in the future again.
And please ask for any assistance with you luggage., we will always try to help you with that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Cuddelling between skyscrapers the NewYorkHotel Rotterdam appears like a forgotten leftover from 1900. Situated at the modernized "Wilhelminapier", the hotel is carefully decorated and refurbished, bedding is perfect, bathroom, towls and interiors are clean and neet. The restaurant is perfect for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner as well as just some coffee & cake.
Short walk to the underground station (two stops from town center) or take a 20 minutes walk over the bridge, come along the "Maritim Museum" and stroll right into the heart of Rotterdam.
For us, there is no better place to stay at Rotterdam.

Room Tip: Patio rooms are small but very quiet and have enough daylight coming in. OK for simple over night st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel New York and Rotterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have been there 3 times in the last 6 months. Great Hotel with an unique decoration and style from the 20th century.

rooms are really nice, view is great on the riverside.
each room has a nespresso machine.

Restaurant is great, food and drinks are really good.

Room Tip: ask a room with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the compliments and hope to welcome you soon again to Hotel New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Take a water taxi to get to NY hotel (3eur) You will see awesome modern building around NY hotel from the boat. Than you can see original (renovated) interier, have some cafe or lunch form special menu, breathly learn something about history, see historical fotos. and pass landing area. It was relaxing experience.

Room Tip: take a water taxi, the regular line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for you review and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Being in Rotterdam it definitely feels like stepping back at the turn of the 20th century and living the atmosphere of excitement and charm prior to a long journey across the ocean. Located in what was the main building of the Holland/ New York sea line,it has been beautifully redecorated whilst maintaining the original architectural features and structures. The room is large, furnished with a mix of antique and modern style elements, all in cream white, steel and wooden floors. It overlooks the canal and the contemporary nearby architectures of the port authority and other sky scraper like buildings. Yet it is very quiet area given the extreme proximity to the end of the quay. The breakfast room, and restaurant, is extremely spacious, grand, with high ceilings and a bustling atmosphere at peak times. Worth taking a drink while peeping out of the large windows or sitting directly in the sunshine in the outside area for a good fresh fish menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a really interesting property, as it used to be the headquarters for the Holland-America line. It is across the water from the central part of Rotterdam, but easy to reach. The staff were wonderful. The room was comfortable and outfitted with many items from steamship days. Quiet, very comfortable, and a little bit away from the bustle of downtown Rotterdam. We didn't get to try the restaurant, but it was very busy, so I assume was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Rotterdam and Hotel New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.