We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see building and the food is good to !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, Rotterdam 3072 AD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must see building and the food is good to !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went here on the first, very wet, night in Rotterdam. The building is fascinating and it's history. All the previous review are bang on. The service was great and the restaurant area was much large than I expected. Very nice warm and friendly feel. I followed the reviews and had the tuna. Very well cooked and great taste.

Next time I would arrive earlier and have a drink at the bar that looked very inviting. Also, remember to book, we went on Monday night and it was full.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    91
    14
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
84
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel New York used to the place where many Dutch emigrants went on board on their way to the promised land after the Second World War, hence the name. The restaurant is situated in this Jugendstil stylish building on the lovely Wilhelmina pier.

Despite the fact that the restaurant was jam-packed as usual during the lunch hours, we got a table within 10 minutes. The vegetarian and the fish lunches comprising various sandwiches were quite tasty. Very likely the excellent view stimulated our taste buds.

The service was friendly and professional. We paid about 50 Euro for three persons including coffee and tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I only used the hotel cafe for a drink and amazing apple pie, but this is a lovely hotel and I'm not surprised at the positive reviews. The best thing is the setting, as it's fabulous and would be lovely on a warm sunny day. Visit for a drink after walking over the bridge if you aren't staying.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

HNY is a hotel I use for business, but keep meaning to bring my wife, as it's a cool, relaxed hotel with very nice rooms, great bar/restaurant and absolutely full of character. I absolutely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. A great Rotterdam institution.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The HNY celebrated twenty years in service this May, and the place is as good, or better, than ever.

Notorious as a location for international architects to stay while on business in R'dam, we found that it's a very pleasant place to stay on holiday, as well. Since we were last here, the watertaxi fleet has been greatly updated with new, larger planing hull boats, so the trip across the Maas takes about a minute. No, really, we timed it.

We were lucky, and had beautiful warm weather, so we enjoyed the outdoor bar in the afternoon, and the warm restaurant in the evening. The only disappointment was the new menu: HNY used to serve a big bucket of Zeeland mussles...as in a real, galvanized steel bucket full of them. They still have the same delicious bivalves, but now serve them in a much too civilized china platter. We didn't much mind though, as some concessions to progress must, one supposes, be made.

In short, HNY is well worth a stay. In fact, if you're interested in visiting Amsterdam, you might even consider staying in Rotterdam and just taking the train for the day up to the big city. It's a lot quieter and calmer down by the Maas.

Room Tip: Don't forget to get a haircut at the wonderful barber shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I found this hotel as we were taking a cruise out of Rotterdam. Although the cruise line had a different hotel, we elected this hotel as it was within walking distance of the pier. The location was nothing short of perfect and the room itself was so quiet we slept for an hour after our arrival (which was 3 hours prior to recommended check in but the room was ready early to our delight). The terrace bar was perfect for people watching. In the morning we were able to simply check out of our room and walk to the ship! PERFECT

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvandenoever, Public Relations Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for the compliments. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Hotel New York! We are just wondering if it is possible to receive the name of the travel agent? It would be great if you could email this to info@hotelnewyork.nl for the attention of the marketing department. Again thank you very much and we are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here by accident as I had a meeting there and I am so pleased I did!
My room had a wonderful view over the water and had so many quirky design ideas to mention.
Excellent location close to metro and brilliant dinner and breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam
Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, Rotterdam 3072 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.