We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel! Must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel! Must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here by accident as I had a meeting there and I am so pleased I did!
My room had a wonderful view over the water and had so many quirky design ideas to mention.
Excellent location close to metro and brilliant dinner and breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    147
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
159
11
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel New York before a cruise. The hotel is very old and the decor is quirky, but the rooms are very modern and have A/C. There is also an elevator. There is, however, no easy way to get your luggage up to the Main Lobby level except to drag it! Wish they would build a ramp! The restaurant was also very good, although not air conditioned, which is normally not a problem. We had a very restful stay the first night, but very noisy neighbors the second. All in all, we would highly recommend staying at the Hotel New York and enjoying its colorful history.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay in room 219, this probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. So unique, you feel part of its history.
The staff are very helpful, very attentive.
The food is excellent. If a nice day sit out with a few nice ice cold lagers.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Rotterdam.
The dutch people are tops.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in one of the few rooms with a balcony overlooking the well maintained canals of Rotterdam. Hotel used to be the Holland America Cruise terminal for immigrants coming to America. Rooms are designed to remind you of being on a ship. Ours was very roomy with all the basics. Only downside was the bed was really two twin beds pushed together. Good restaurant.

Room Tip: Great mass transit system to get around town. Hotel location is great except it's a bit isolated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've stayed there for one night due to business reasons. The room that was assigned to me looked very comfortable with great mattress and pillows. Even the bathroom was decorated in a taste of end of 19th century. I've read the brochures telling the amazing story of the building and walked through the floors of the hotels. I had the feeling to find myself in a movie, thinking of million people that left Europe to find the American dream.
The staff was helpful and cordial and suggested me to have a meal in the restaurant, which was very good: excellent value, I think worths a romantic stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night, in their best room. The room (former board room) is beautiful, and has a magnificent view over the river, the bridge, the Euromast tower...
We had the bridal arrangement, which included a very extensive breakfast served in the room.
Obviously, not a "standard" stay, so I cannot vouch for quality of the hotel under normal circumstances, but for us everything worked out very well; the price is pretty high of course, but I think you get value for money. The place is truly special to stay. Memorable and recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We first stayed in the HNY 14 years ago with our sons when we were leaving the Netherlands after 2 years and had great fun and an extremely comfortable time. We decided to return to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and booked a larger, more luxurious room. It was very comfortable indeed, with plenty of space and the character that we had liked all those years ago. Not much had changed over the years, which we appreciated, except for the addition of the dining and drinking areas to the front of the hotel. These added further to the vibrancy of the whole experience. There have been some adverse reviews about the location of the hotel, but this is no better or worse than many dockland hotels and, if you accept that, it is actually an intriguing location. This is an experience well worth trying and is not prohibitively expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.