We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel! Must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel! Must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here by accident as I had a meeting there and I am so pleased I did!
My room had a wonderful view over the water and had so many quirky design ideas to mention.
Excellent location close to metro and brilliant dinner and breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel New York before a cruise. The hotel is very old and the decor is quirky, but the rooms are very modern and have A/C. There is also an elevator. There is, however, no easy way to get your luggage up to the Main Lobby level except to drag it! Wish they would build a ramp! The restaurant was also very good, although not air conditioned, which is normally not a problem. We had a very restful stay the first night, but very noisy neighbors the second. All in all, we would highly recommend staying at the Hotel New York and enjoying its colorful history.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay in room 219, this probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. So unique, you feel part of its history.
The staff are very helpful, very attentive.
The food is excellent. If a nice day sit out with a few nice ice cold lagers.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Rotterdam.
The dutch people are tops.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GoonieMPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in one of the few rooms with a balcony overlooking the well maintained canals of Rotterdam. Hotel used to be the Holland America Cruise terminal for immigrants coming to America. Rooms are designed to remind you of being on a ship. Ours was very roomy with all the basics. Only downside was the bed was really two twin beds pushed together. Good restaurant.

Room Tip: Great mass transit system to get around town. Hotel location is great except it's a bit isolated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've stayed there for one night due to business reasons. The room that was assigned to me looked very comfortable with great mattress and pillows. Even the bathroom was decorated in a taste of end of 19th century. I've read the brochures telling the amazing story of the building and walked through the floors of the hotels. I had the feeling to find myself in a movie, thinking of million people that left Europe to find the American dream.
The staff was helpful and cordial and suggested me to have a meal in the restaurant, which was very good: excellent value, I think worths a romantic stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night, in their best room. The room (former board room) is beautiful, and has a magnificent view over the river, the bridge, the Euromast tower...
We had the bridal arrangement, which included a very extensive breakfast served in the room.
Obviously, not a "standard" stay, so I cannot vouch for quality of the hotel under normal circumstances, but for us everything worked out very well; the price is pretty high of course, but I think you get value for money. The place is truly special to stay. Memorable and recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We first stayed in the HNY 14 years ago with our sons when we were leaving the Netherlands after 2 years and had great fun and an extremely comfortable time. We decided to return to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and booked a larger, more luxurious room. It was very comfortable indeed, with plenty of space and the character that we had liked all those years ago. Not much had changed over the years, which we appreciated, except for the addition of the dining and drinking areas to the front of the hotel. These added further to the vibrancy of the whole experience. There have been some adverse reviews about the location of the hotel, but this is no better or worse than many dockland hotels and, if you accept that, it is actually an intriguing location. This is an experience well worth trying and is not prohibitively expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Cool
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Hilton Rotterdam
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#7 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing