We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights before our cruise. I am so glad we did. We had a wonderful experience. I booked the Patio Room 99 Euros a night. What a great value. Our room was a good size room. Very Very comfortable bed, nice size bathroom and a room safe. Hotel has a small elevator and we had a room on the 2nd Floor. The hotel is full of history. We had sunny days the 3 days we spent at the hotel. The hotel has a grass area where they set up beach type chairs. We spent every evening watching the sunset from this area. The hotel also as an outdoor restaurant area and indoor restaurant. We ate at the hotel and enjoyed our meals. Service was great. The hotel is in a very good area for walking. We walked across the bridge to the other side where we picked up booked a very good cruise of the Port Area. if you are not a walker, their is a water taxi, very inexpensive to take you across and to other areas of interest. We took the taxi the first day but realized afterwards it was easy to just walk back over the bridge. Every hotel member was very helpful. Hotel has great free WIFI. The hotel has a great view of the port, very pleasant area around it too, with other restaurant choices. The cruise port was a 1/2 block walk.
You could not beat the hotel access to the cruise terminal. Highly suggest a stay at this hotel. We loved our stay and if we go back to Rotterdam this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    193
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
71
230
14
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The history of this hotel is very interesting. During the early days, when Holland America Line was a line that brought Europeans to New York, USA, there were some health issues. Many times, the US would not allow the sick Europeans into the US so Holland America had to take them back home. After some time, Holland America built what is now the Hotel New York so that people had a sanitary place to stay prior to their journey. At some point, Holland America Line became a leisure cruise line and their business changed. This hotel is very nicely decorated in the fashion that one would expect a cruise ship in the 1920's to look like. Even the room reminds us of a ship in the era. But, there are very little accommodations for wheel chairs so be aware of that.

If you are going on a Holland America cruise out of Rotterdam, this hotel is PERFECT! Get there a day or two early and you can walk to the ship avoiding most of the madness that occurs when people are arriving.

The staff were excellent! We had a sudden business need that we did not expect during our travels. We needed a Notary. While the hotel staff did not know what we needed nor how to direct us (mostly because of their age - they had not needed a notary yet) they did give us directions to a bank. The bank spoke little English and directed us to the Tax Office. The Tax Office directed us to another place which finally helped us find the Notary. The staff was terrific to us. They printed our documents, put them in an envelope, and did all of it with a smile.

The restaurant serves delicious deserts and the food was good too. The view of the water taxi was OK. But we enjoyed this place very much.

And, on nice days, they have a lovely outdoor seating area where you can order drinks and snacks. What a great place to while away a sunny day. So glad we were there for a beautiful day to enjoy their great garden.

Upon our return, after the cruise, we had a night train from Rotterdam to Munich. We asked the hotel if, since we had stayed previously, could we please check our bags. No problem. This place ranks super high on my list!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room. There is water on 3 sides of this hotel so chances are good you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I would like to talk a bit about this hotel's accommodation for wheelchairs and other mobility devices. There is an old fashioned lift that has a flat and safety bar and goes up and down the entry stairs. This takes you right into the middle of the restaurant. If it is busy, you may have a problem getting past the crowd at the door. It is a very popular restaurant (get a reservation and tell them about your device). The halls and rooms have wooden thresholds and some of them are significant bumps. We found it best to go over them backward, but this hotel is worth that bit of work. In the restaurant they jump to give you service and great food.
If you are going on a Holland American Cruise line ship it will dock about 50 yards from the front door of the hotel which was once the home office of the line.

It meets your mobility needs. If it is in the right place for you, I recommend it.

Room Tip: I would like to talk a bit about this hotel's accommodation for wheelchairs and other mobility d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here overnight as well as having dinner and drinks on the terrace. The accommodation was retro but extremely comfortable. The room was huge but given that it was not one of the ones that had a view of the water it was a little disappointing in terms of aspect. I would recommend a room with a better view however I am not complaining. The service throughout the hotel was excellent but check that your drinks and bill are correct if ordering outside on the terrace as it is a little chaotic. Breakfast is expensive unless you really want to make a big deal of it. To be honest these are minor things and we had a wonderful stay such that I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great room with plenty of space and magnificent view on the harbour (consider taking waterside or corner room). I liked the retro style and enjoyed both breakfast and restaurant facilities. Clearly, many non-hotel guests find their way to this restaurant.

Room Tip: consider taking waterside or corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Nederland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is great - soft beds, high ceilings, nice atmosphere, and when you have a water view room, a great view. It is great to check in and then stroll down to have a drink or a meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a water view room, although this might be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Didn't stay at this awesome looking hotel, but went to its restaurant to have some food. Firstly, I had the scallops which was very tasty, served in its shell and cream based sauce. They also serve a nice mint tea which is a real pick me up.

The view from the restaurant was awesome, with the interior decorated like a ship.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.