We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to early 20th century in rotterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New York to your Saves list
Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A trip to early 20th century in rotterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Singular building, the office of the Holland America line. Located at the end of the pier, it offers excellent views on the river. A bit far from the old city center by foot, it can be easily reached by watertaxi.
Fantastic early 20, end 19th century iron staircase, nicely decorated bedrooms, renovated bathrooms, this hotel has a lot of charm with all modern comfort (excellent beds, I did not check the wifi though). I definitely prefer the (more expensive) rooms with river view, on the side or in the front of the building.
The Breakfast buffet is impressive (you can also make your coffee-nespresso- or thea in your room by the way). The restaurant is quite good (one of my favorite place to eat razor clams) and the wines (mainly the whites) are OK, red glass by the wine not excellent (but question of taste). It can be noisy though when full (often the case at night), but the atmosphere is great, a real trip back in time.
Parking is not an issue (but you have to pay).

Room Tip: For the price difference, if you like the light, choose the ones alongside the river or in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    146
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
156
11
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Breathtakingly designed hotel in the building of the embarkation of poor and persecuted European emigrants to the USA with the Holland America Line in the 19th century. Great vibrations, elegant, class, with many personal touches, elements of former times. Fantastic view from the Wilhelmina Pier. Ever since I found this hotel, quite by chance, some years ago, I never go anywhere else when in Rotterdam. In fact, when I have to travel to Rotterdam, I'm already looking forward to the hotel - which is a real compliment from someone who sleeps out 200+ nights/year. Is it perfect? No, the lighting could be better in some rooms. But it's better than perfect, it's real, it's lively and there is this special consciousness about being part of something bigger than life, part of the history of mankind. Very appeasing. The restaurant is a huge hall, with great ambiance and fantastic seafood.

Room Tip: The corner rooms ! They are not cheap, but frankly, the feeling , the view is just out of this world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Love the atmosphere and surroundings. The beds are super! (I would like to have myself) In the summer you can sit at the terras with view on the waterside. Breakfast buffet is good but too expensive. It's nice to do the afternoon tea (you won't need dinner afterwards). Good choice of food which can be ordered from noon until late in the evening. Can recommend to take the watertaxi to the other side ore Leuvenhaven.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hotel looks out from the pencil of a brilliant designer. The atmosphere really reminds one of the passengers' stations of the ports at the beginning of the century. The rooms (mine was superior type) are very large, maybe a little dark. Furnishings are all inspired to passengers' baggage. Bed is fabulous. Bathrooms could be more modern and comfortable as they. There is no minibar and you must use the room service. Prices are to high for the services provided (160 Euro per night with breakfast). The restaurant is really great. The hotel is positioned far away from anything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Booked the hotel two months in advance and asked one question which had to be confirmed in order for the booking to be ok. No problem, so I booked. Upon arrival the staff tells me - after completing the check in - sorry, your request can not be fulfilled.

I have a simple policy for that: there is no chance of a rating above poor, no matter how good the rest of the stay is.

The rest of the stay was quite ok, by the way, but no more than that. Rooms are a bit small, bathroom could be better and the restaurant on the ground floor is quite noisy.

I will not go back to this place ever again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We knew the restaurant, but never stayed in the hotel. We can recommend it to anyone. The rooms are good, the atmosphere is great, the staff is nice, breakfast and restaurant are good and the location is superb. Visit the museum district by boat taxi, walk to Katendrecht and the SS Rotterdam over the new walking bridge. This is the best place and location for any visit to Rotterdam. Out of the city (shopping) center, in the heart of the new cultural district, so you are prevented from spoiling hours with unattended shopping. Instead you are in the middle of cultural events and institutions. For families: the hotel doesn't have connecting rooms, but the family rooms with two double beds are very appropriate for a family of four. Don't miss this when you visit The Netherlands!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the restaurant and hotel until we tried to order a bottle of wine in our room. We were denied room service, as per the hotels policy we were not allowed to have other hotel guests over in our room. We understand the hotel wants to prevent loud room parties at night, however, it should have been clear to the staff that we just wanted to have a quiet last drink after the hotel bar had closed (at 1am, quite early in my opinion). When trying to explain our situation we were baffled by the extremely rude response of the staff, who told us to " listen and shut up". Very bad service, even for Dutch standards.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.