We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind-Bending” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kijk-Kubus (Show-Cube)

Kijk-Kubus (Show-Cube)
Overblaak 70, 3011MH Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)
+31104142285
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kijk-Kubus (Show-Cube) like an insider
Skip the Line
$48*
and up
Skip the Line: Rotterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #26 of 135 things to do in Rotterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kijk-Kubus is a museum-house, a fully decorated cube-house with custom designed & built furniture, which gives you an impression how people can live in such a tilted cube. Models & info-screens give visual & auditive info on: architect Piet Blom / architecture /project-history /surroundings. Open 7 days a week. Admission 2,50 euro p.p. A must for open minded free spirits!
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mind-Bending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very interesting and unique experience. From outside it looks impossible that someone would actually be able to live in a cube turned up on its corner but some ingenious architectural and interior design almost makes you forget from inside what a weird little building you're in. Definitely worth a look around even for the 3 Euro entrance price, but try not to go when it's crowded because there's really not much room inside there!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    134
    79
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belluno
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went there because we had a voucher for it and so we didn't have to pay. It was surprising for me what I found because the houses are really cubes and have people living there! It' s great to go inside one of them and imagine what it would like to live there! Really worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interest piece of Rotterdam design history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Why would you design a house in a cube form? It is interesting to see how it looks from the inside and cheap to do. It is part of the architectural history of Rotterdam and unique in the world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coleraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went to visit these houses whilst on holiday with my family. The houses are interesting enough to see from the outside as we all wondered how they would be structured on the inside. When we went in to look at one of the show houses, there was a small crowd of people gathered in front of a desk at the top of a narrow flights of stairs. We stood at the back waiting to pay the 2:50 entrance fee when a very abrupt man approached us asking us didn't we hear him calling us. We hadn't heard him so we replyed no we hadn't. He then said "well you have to pay 2:50 each" . At that point I decided not to stay as I didn't appreciate being spoken to in such a manner especially in front of my mother and children. When I turned to walk out he shouted after me " you were trying to fool me. Fxxx off back to where you came from! Well, you can only imagine what my response was to that. I have never been so insulted in all the places I've travelled to. So my advise would be..... If you want to look at these houses, look at them on the Internet as seeing the inside of them is not worth being insulted and humiliated over.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

These are fascinating to view from the outside but the entrance is not easy to find and looked a bit dodgy so I didn’t bother to go inside. However, they are well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kijk-Kubus (Show-Cube) also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Kijk-Kubus (Show-Cube)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kijk-Kubus (Show-Cube), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.