We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Nice Bridge! Biking Path, Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erasmus Bridge

Erasmus Bridge
Erasmusbrug, 3072 AP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Private Tour: Rotterdam Walking Tour Including...
Ranked #5 of 144 things to do in Rotterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered an architectural work of art, Rotterdam's imposing bridge that is shaped like a harp soars over the largest harbor in Europe.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's a Nice Bridge! Biking Path, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's a Bridge!

That's designed beautifully! Fun to walk over and back over. Great to have as a landmark in the city. If you want to see a great bridge look no further.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    356
    102
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT bridge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are a fan of architecture, you cannot miss this bridge which identifies the city... Also known as The Swan, you'll love it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautyfull piece of architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Locals call it the Swan. 3 guesses why. The queen opened this bridge, renowned for its modern architecture and beauty. For me, I live almost next to it and love to see the sight of it each morning again. If you happen to visit Rotterdam, walk this way!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular bridge over the river Maas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Maas is a wide and spectacular bridge in Rotterdam, and the Erasmus bridge is a great place to view in. Numerous trams cross the bridge and it is great fun going backwards and forwards on them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Graceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had seen pictures of this landmark bridge but nothing can compare to seeing it in person. It is beautiful with it's white supports and it's graceful bend at the height of the bridge. It is a landmark that changes depending upon the angle you view it from.

People walk, bicycle, drive and ride the tram across this bridge. It is a major recreational point. And it offers so many views of Rotterdam.

We were privileged to see it operate as a draw bridge. A historic sailing vessel needed to pass one way and a barge loaded with cargo needed to pass the other. So, we got to watch 2 vessels pass through the bridge. Traffic piled up for a while so we can only guess that it is not as big a hit with the locals. But we enjoyed it very much. On the south side of the river, there is an elevated walkway where you can get a birds eye view to the whole operation. We hope you get to see it too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erasmus Bridge also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Erasmus Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erasmus Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.