We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Rotterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Energieweg 2, 3041 JC Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Rotterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Nice place to stay in Rotterdam, about 4km from the city center. Accessibility is not a problem atall. Hotel staff is really friendly. The hotel is located just behind a canal, which is a good place for a morning jog. The gym however has an extra payment. The breakfast spread is also good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
42
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The staff at the hotel definitely made it for us, they catered to our every whim. The only downside was the lack of available irons.... we had to go to reception to iron our clothes, but compared to the rest of our stay this was not a mojor issue. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the location was perfect; we got a bus to and from the airport and into the city centre. As for the breakfast - it was amazing, any and everything you could want, be it hot or cold. Looking forward to our stay again next month!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoals, Kent
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Yes, it's clean, efficient, modern but a bit dull. Had to stay here one night as the 'ash' caused our flight to be cancelled. Great receptionists, very helpful and precise. Rooms very modern but characterless. Restaurant and bar, adequet but all a bit average really. Absolutley fine for business and conferance, but no more than that really. Oh, good location for the airport (5 minutes), not so for the Town (15 minutes)

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

It is a new hotel, with good rooms, however nothing special. Staff in general is nice, but some strange things happen. At 10.30Pm (even with the "do not disturb" at my door) someone knocked at the door: Housekeeping:"Can you please lay this hotel information folder at the desk in your room?"..........Another thing: After we (with 3 persons) had to go 3 times down to the reception because our key cards still did not work. No one at the reception desk got the idea to walk with us to see what the problem is.....They have to learn what guest friendly is.
On the other hand: The people in the bar were super friendly. As an example: They did provide us a complete assortment with snacks for free.

The hotel is located at the north site of the city, at the entrance of the fantastic Rotterdam Zoo and close to the airport. Parking is free.

In general, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominaStaff, Revenue Executive at Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for bringing these points to our attention and it is thanks to you that we are able to continue improving our service. As soon as we read your comment, I called a meeting for all concerned so as to ensure that a similar occurrence would not happen again. We all agree now that in the future we must be more pro active as it seems that we have come across as being impolite. This is the last thing we would want our guests to think, so thank you again. I am confident that, should you return to the Domina Hotel Rotterdam, you will notice that these occurrences do not happen anymore. In view of your constructive criticism, we would like to ask you if you have any further comments which may help us achieve our goals, for example, did you eat in the restaurant?
Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed for a long weekend for the North Sea Jazz festival. Hotel is fairly new and modern, however a bit off the beaten track, but close to the zoo. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. Get a number 33 or 40 bus from Rotterdam Central Station. It takes about 10 minutes. Rooms are a good size, modern but not glamorous. Meals and room service very expensive (which forced us to go elsewhere) and no free wifi or gym use. Could have done more to assist Noprth Sea Jazz festival goers as it is such a big event in Rotterdam, such as having the festival magazine in the hotel and having late breakfasts (at reduced prices).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominaStaff, Revenue and Reservations Executive at Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp, responded to this review, December 15, 2009
Dear Sir/Madame,

thank you first of all for your review on our hotel, that will be useful to improve our service.
Our hotel is brand new and modern design, our rooms are wide if compared to the ones of our competitors and they respect the highest standard of comfort in their category.
We know that our restaurant is not the cheapest one, but the quality of the food and of the service is upper standard and at the end not expensive at all.
It might happen that customers choose the wrong product with respect to their expectations. By the way most of our clients consider us the best choice in Rotterdam downtown, as we are doing our best to make our product the best value for money, and our staff professional and kind.
Thank you for your suggestion about the amenities we could provide during the north sea jazz festival, we would love to make a present of the magazine to future customers.

Kind Regards,
Domina Hotel & Conference Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We spent one night by the Domina Hotel, in Rotterdam:a big, red, building just near the exit of the motorway. What a wonderful idea! The hotel is a new one, modern and colourful.After spending some hours in the nearby fitness centre, we had an Italian dinner in the Domina restaurant.
The room was quite and very confortable, including the bathroom, with a very large shower.Also the breakfast was very delicious. It was a pity to leave this hotel after only one night.
Next time, be sure, we will come again!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

I spent a couple of weeks working not far from Rotterdam. The hotel is close to downtown, placed in a green area beside the zoo park.
New modern building (less than 1 year) and really comfortable rooms.
The italian restaurant is superb: never eaten such wonderful italian dishes out of italy...try the spaghetti with clams (w/o tomato sauce), they carry you straight to Amalfi!
The staff is excellent, professional and always smiling.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp

Address: Energieweg 2, 3041 JC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.