We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not get better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FG Restaurant

FG Restaurant
Lloydstraat 204, 3024 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 10 425 0520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 749 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $170
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food that triggers and inspires. Food that brings back long forgotten memories. Food that is enjoyed together. The power of simple and pure. The magic of combining. The art of leaving things out. The history, the guts and the innovation of Rotterdam.Experience it all with us, at FG Restaurant.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Does not get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Every second is awesome. The staff is attentive in a very natural way. I found the dishes have lots of humor, and you explore new tastes and foodfeel all the time. so you automatically get into a good mood. An evening like a week's vacation. Same price, though, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReisendeJutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Netherlands
Level Contributor
541 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited Restaurant Ivy with my dad months ago but I forgot to review them on tripadvisor. We've been to most restaurants in Rotterdam so, with it being nr 1 on here, we so had to go! We took the menu which was very expensive but also extensive. The service was so friendly and professional, I do not have one bad word to say about this restaurant. The food is mostly molecular with some dishes with liquid nitrogen prepared at your table! Very beautiful setting a bit away from the center but in a nice area. The chef even came to ask customers about their experience at the end of the meal and shake everybody's hand. 5 star!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't get in to Heston? Come here!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I am almost at a loss for words as to how to describe our experience at this beautiful restaurant. From the moment the liquorice popping candy around the signature cone of piccallily sorbet explodes in your mouth, you realise that this is going to be very special indeed. We had the lunch menu supplemented with a Wagyu Beef for my carnivore husband all washed down with the sommeliers amazing choice of wine and I can fault nothing. Top this with the friendliest staff and a decor that paid so much attention to every detail, I was worried as to sanity of the interior designer, and all I can say is we left there happiest of bunnies this Easter time. The chef/patron is from the school of Heston and, from now on, whenever we are told there is no room at his inn (which is often) we are hopping across via Eastjet and a half hour train ride. In fact, we might just skip the Fat Duck and come straight here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magic show for all senses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We definitely enjoyed our evening there. The whole dinner was a magic show in a fair. I think the special point of Ivy's food is not only its outstanding flavor, but also the creative menu and presentation. The diligent serving crew made the magical presentation possible. One surprising but fantastic combination: lobster with white chocolate sauce!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LivanRoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“yes we like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this is gourmet. price is a bit high but it worth the money at the end. we went for lunch and the if we go next time will be for dinner. all personnel is friendly, kind and available. the restaurant should put some music in background to make the environment more cosy; however furnitures and the rest are really nice. the location is not the best, but maybe in spring/summer could appear better even sitting outside. as last comment? making a menu of 9 entries does make sense in my opinion, for the one of 5 entries we have been there for 3,5 hours :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R0man16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FG Restaurant also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to FG Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing