We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get in to Heston? Come here!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FG Restaurant

FG Restaurant
Lloydstraat 204, 3024 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 10 425 0520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 568 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $40 - $171
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Food that triggers and inspires. Food that brings back long forgotten memories. Food that is enjoyed together. The power of simple and pure. The magic of combining. The art of leaving things out. The history, the guts and the innovation of Rotterdam.Experience it all with us, at FG Restaurant.
Beausoleil, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Can't get in to Heston? Come here!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I am almost at a loss for words as to how to describe our experience at this beautiful restaurant. From the moment the liquorice popping candy around the signature cone of piccallily sorbet explodes in your mouth, you realise that this is going to be very special indeed. We had the lunch menu supplemented with a Wagyu Beef for my carnivore husband all washed down with the sommeliers amazing choice of wine and I can fault nothing. Top this with the friendliest staff and a decor that paid so much attention to every detail, I was worried as to sanity of the interior designer, and all I can say is we left there happiest of bunnies this Easter time. The chef/patron is from the school of Heston and, from now on, whenever we are told there is no room at his inn (which is often) we are hopping across via Eastjet and a half hour train ride. In fact, we might just skip the Fat Duck and come straight here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    17
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magic show for all senses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We definitely enjoyed our evening there. The whole dinner was a magic show in a fair. I think the special point of Ivy's food is not only its outstanding flavor, but also the creative menu and presentation. The diligent serving crew made the magical presentation possible. One surprising but fantastic combination: lobster with white chocolate sauce!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“yes we like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this is gourmet. price is a bit high but it worth the money at the end. we went for lunch and the if we go next time will be for dinner. all personnel is friendly, kind and available. the restaurant should put some music in background to make the environment more cosy; however furnitures and the rest are really nice. the location is not the best, but maybe in spring/summer could appear better even sitting outside. as last comment? making a menu of 9 entries does make sense in my opinion, for the one of 5 entries we have been there for 3,5 hours :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“my new favourite... just wanna keep going back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

discovered this by chance, me new favourite - top class all the way, also a nice touch to have the head chef/owner serve you your main dish!
highly recommended indeed. Darryn.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Dining, or better said experiencing food is een ultimate standard in this Michelin star rated restaurant. Allthough a young restaurant, in human years the age of a toddler, it is of outstanding class. The way YOUR food is prepared especially for YOU as well as the quality is extremely good. A very fine ambiance combined wit a very pleasant atmosphere is what to expect from a star rated restaurant and you get more over here. Been here 5 times already, and will be coming back for more food experiences!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FG Restaurant also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to FG Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FG Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.