We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away, fascinating hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SS Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SS Rotterdam to your Saves list
SS Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Province of Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Far away, fascinating hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked here 2 nights, following the suggestion of some colleagues. The place is remote: from the station take into account metro + bus for a total of 35 minutes, otherwise take a taxi. Then you came onboard, in a real ship. It seems that the time stopped at 60's, Rooms are nice, well equipped. No wifi in the room, but an ethernet cable reminds you that if you have an ipad you should always bring with you a wifi spot (just in these cases). The fact that windows can't be opened in the ship means that dust can be a problem to allergic people (like me). I spent 2 night and had mild problems just once.
Public areas in the ship are generally closed (theater, ball room, card room, etc...) except on special occasions. Restaurant is fair, breakfast has a large selection. I would reccomend it for the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Avoid inside rooms, if you like to have at least an opening to the seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    277
    72
    30
    9
See reviews for
75
289
8
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spa, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

As a Rotterdam, I find it shocking to see how eager we are to prevent tourists from coming to our city. From a horrendous public transport system and the impossibility to park in Rotterdam without a Dutch bank account to the overall appalling state of service in most restaurants and bars, we will literally do anything to maintain Amsterdam as tourist destination number one. SS Rotterdam is no exception.

Let's start with the fact that you need to pay for parking. There are very few other ways to reach the Rotterdam other than your own car, so why the hotel hasn't decided to provide parking is beyond me. I asked the receptionist about this and she provided a helpful, nothing to do with me. This was, by the way, after she handed me the key without informing about anything in the hotel. Some info would be helpful (where or when is breakfast, how do I log in, thank you for waiting more than twenty minutes to check in - the usual I guess).

Moving on to the room, I do enjoy the fact that it is on a ship and I do understand that the windows don't open. I quite like the decor even but the quality of the bed was beyond shocking. We were given a twin even though my wife and I have only recently married and wished for a double. We still like the closeness you see; something that was prevented by the fact that the beds kept drifting apart. Nothing to do with the motion of the sea by the way. More importantly, though, was the problem that each bed was more like a hammock than a bed. You know the kind of bed I am talking about. the one in which your bottom is sleeping a good three inches lower than your head and feet...

Some reviews have already considered the staff and unfortunately, on our visit, this was not different. A few exceptions aside, a lot of the staff were uninterested and badly informed of, for example, their own food. One member of the gift shop was so bold as to tell us off for heading the wrong direction to the breakfast room. Our party of four looked at each other and luckily we were able to laugh it off but that was rudeness taken to a different level. I think we all felt seven again.

Breakfast was lovely but in all fairness, for the price you pay (including parking obviously), I think this is just not worth it. There are more ships to sleep on and the set-up at the Rotterdam just gives you precious little extra reason to choose her.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well, I suppose not cheap because the euro = pound now, so maybe the prices are fair but the pound is not.

Treat this only as a hotel, forgetting what this ship is, would get 3-4 stars. I simply cannot relate to the poor reviews about service and attitude. Absolutely no complaints on this count. Many of the staff very charming.

Recall instead that is this a time warp to 1959. It is more then authentic, it IS the original ship. Revived, not recreated. Restored, not a pastiche. This is the real deal and it is stunning. The weather was awful, so walking the decks could easily have been mid Atlantic. You pretty much have the run of the ship. The official tour adds longer access to the grandest rooms (as opposed to sneaking in under cover !).

The club room is the premium restaurant and is a good dining experience by any standards.

If you love ships you will be prepared to overlook the slightly less than ideal location. The nearest link to the public transport system is the metro station which is a brisk 15 minute walk along the dockside. There is a shuttle us but it is rather hit and miss. Especially so on the return leg from the metro to the ship. Seems you have to call it by mobile phone. I don't make a habit of holidaying with mine so we were stuck. I hope they can upgrade the shuttle, the difficulty is out of keeping with the rest of the experience.

This minor gripe aside, this is a unique and unmissable trip if you love ships, or if you have an interest in 50s/60s style and interiors. Despite the poor weather it was very well patronised with near 100% capacity filled in the bars and restaurants in the evenings. Quite buzzing with activity actually and all seemed to be having a great time.

Room Tip: Choose original style to remain in keeping with the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Truly unique.
This 1950's ocean liner used to ferry passengers across the Atlantic.
After lengthy and costly restorations, it is restored to its former glory - though with all modern amenities.
What you get is a lot more than a typical ship cabin - you get a proper hotel room retro-styled but with all modern comforts.
What you do not get in any hotel is the frequent ship tours by volunteers who take you to every secret corner of this former queen of the seas.
The staff were extremely friendly but I think also proud to work there!
Restaurant and conference areas as well as the decks, make you travel back in the '50s
I had one of the most unforgettable conferences on board the Rotterdam.

Room Tip: Higher decks = more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want a unique experience, this is a great place! Booked an executive suite and had plenty of room. Booked a package through the hotel website which included welcome drinks, dinner, breakfast and a tour of the boat. Had to ask for my inclusions at check in. The dinner and breakfast were fantastic and the ambiance at the deck bar was amazing. Next time I would book a regular room as there was nothing 'outstanding' about the executive room (except the size). Location is a bit far from town - hired a taxi @ $20/way. Overall, enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Executive Suite not worth the extra money unless you need the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing UK
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Waterbus package direct with SS Rotterdam. We had a superior room for 2 nights with breakfast, a days Rotterdam card which included a days transport ticket, and a waterbus ticket with a cycle hire. All for 230 Euros. About the same price as a room. There were a few minor issue's- check in was incredibly slow due to not enough staff on duty (but they were very helpful!) and the only outside seating was around the Lido bar. Beware if you try to eat your packet of crisps or drink from your own can of drink. Forbidden!!!! So we bought a bottle of wine and some snacks and sat on the grass away from the ship. Very pleasant and a lot quieter. We enjoyed our stay but wouldn't bother again as its just a bit far from anywhere, although there are a couple of reasonable restaurants a 25 minute walk away by Rijnhaven metro station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was really a very nice experience to be on the SS Rotterdam. Our room / cabin was very spacious and had a nice "retro" theme. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Shower/bathroom was OK.
We had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the Lido restaurant (all outside on the deck as the weather was great when we visited) We were happy at lunch and breakfast: good food, and good quick service too. Unfortunately during dinner our waiter (a young man) was very slow, sloppy and unattentive. He kept on forgetting us (and our orders) even after we complained. His older, female colleague took over and her service was much better. Also during dinner time there was a band playing: "Decibel" Their music was an insult to our ears and I advise management of the SS Rotterdam to find another band.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.