We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind experience!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SS Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added SS Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
SS Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, Rotterdam 3072 AM, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want a unique experience, this is a great place! Booked an executive suite and had plenty of room. Booked a package through the hotel website which included welcome drinks, dinner, breakfast and a tour of the boat. Had to ask for my inclusions at check in. The dinner and breakfast were fantastic and the ambiance at the deck bar was amazing. Next time I would book a regular room as there was nothing 'outstanding' about the executive room (except the size). Location is a bit far from town - hired a taxi @ $20/way. Overall, enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Executive Suite not worth the extra money unless you need the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    120
    45
    22
    6
See reviews for
30
119
2
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Waterbus package direct with SS Rotterdam. We had a superior room for 2 nights with breakfast, a days Rotterdam card which included a days transport ticket, and a waterbus ticket with a cycle hire. All for 230 Euros. About the same price as a room. There were a few minor issue's- check in was incredibly slow due to not enough staff on duty (but they were very helpful!) and the only outside seating was around the Lido bar. Beware if you try to eat your packet of crisps or drink from your own can of drink. Forbidden!!!! So we bought a bottle of wine and some snacks and sat on the grass away from the ship. Very pleasant and a lot quieter. We enjoyed our stay but wouldn't bother again as its just a bit far from anywhere, although there are a couple of reasonable restaurants a 25 minute walk away by Rijnhaven metro station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was really a very nice experience to be on the SS Rotterdam. Our room / cabin was very spacious and had a nice "retro" theme. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Shower/bathroom was OK.
We had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the Lido restaurant (all outside on the deck as the weather was great when we visited) We were happy at lunch and breakfast: good food, and good quick service too. Unfortunately during dinner our waiter (a young man) was very slow, sloppy and unattentive. He kept on forgetting us (and our orders) even after we complained. His older, female colleague took over and her service was much better. Also during dinner time there was a band playing: "Decibel" Their music was an insult to our ears and I advise management of the SS Rotterdam to find another band.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was on SS Rotterdam last holidays with my boyfriend and it was really nice time! Impressions were very impressive. I cannot say anything bad for room service and food. Very nice staff. I hope i will come back there in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can only comment on the restaurant and the boat themselves as we did not try the hotel facilities. We spent our company christmas party there last year, we were about 50-60 people having drinks - open bar- and diner there. The bar is very nice and the drinks were served fast by very nice staff members. The diner was another story. By that stage we were getting drunk so we didnt really care but the food wasnt nice. One of my colleagues at my table actually found a large piece of plastic packaging in its amuse bouche. The tartare starter was the only nice thing in the whole meal. The meat in the main course was overcooked and hard, unedible. Red and white wines served at the table were poor quality. Dessert was OK, dont remember much. Overall the waiters and waitresses were pretty amateur and very young, probably student jobs. It was fun to be on a boat though! I am overall very happy I didnt pay for it otherwise it would be 1*.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My partner and I went to the SS Rotterdam today. Please do not visit - let me tell you why.
We arrived and took the lift upstairs to the onboard restaurant and bar. It is Saturday and we arrived at 5pm. We arrived with our 9 month-old daughter hoping to grab a quick coffee and maybe some snacks. We had planned nothing more than a quick visit. I had been looking forward to our visit, how wrong I was.

The bar and restaurant area is large with plenty of staff. I estimate that the entire place was under a third full and most of the tables reserved. So we arrived to a sea of empty tables.

We told the waitress we would like to be seated and have a quick drink and snack. We were refused a table suitable for a couple with a baby. It was absolutely clear we could not sit at a high table. There was absolutely no reason to be difficult, particularly as we explained we were going to be gone within 20 minutes from the outset. The staff showed no desire to help us, be flexible or indeed find a solution to our need. Its is unforgivable to turn away a couple with a baby from an empty restaurant.

The first waitress we spoke to couldn't help when the solution was simple. She had to go off and find a manager. When the manager came she was just as useless. She said exactly the same thing and offered us another crappy, unsuitable high table. All the while, there was a table of people sitting in the restaurant having drinks and snacks, just as we would have liked. The manager then said she would have to go and phone someone else! Who on earth she was going to speak to I do not know. Utterly inept.

The experience was horrible. The staff have no charisma, no desire to serve. Hospitality zero. They seemed of the opinion that customers are there for them, when it really is the other way round. After two failed attempts to sort the problem we walked away disgusted. The staff are no better than automatons. They didn't listen, they didn't appreciate their customer and they don't deserve to be in business or receive a penny in tips. Who on earth they think they are is unclear.

I had head quite a bit about SS Rotterdam, some good reviews, but we won't ever return. The place, although clean and spacious, is nothing special. It could be a cafeteria if you don't get caught up in the novelty of being on a ship. I have seen better cross channel ferries. The outside area has a splash pool which might be quite nice, but we didn't get to find out. It all seemed rather fake and our experience so far below the standards of Dutch hospitality to which I have become accustomed. There is better our there.

Today was awful. Save yourself the time, effort and money this place asks of you, because they sure won't give you anything back in return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed on the SS Rotterdam for 4 nights, costing £391 between 2 people for a superior room.
First impressions of the ship/hotel are very impressive. Looks great at night when it is lit up, and a good job has been done restoring and converting the ship into a nice hotel. Nice bar, with friendly staff, though we didn't make much of the dining options as they were all a little expensive.
The room was clean, spacious and had comfortable beds. The bathroom had a wet room shower, which I don't think is appropriate in a four star hotel (I despise it when water gets all over the bathroom floor!). Service was friendly and accommodating throughout the stay.
On the negative, the hotel is quite far from anything else, and it is about 20 minutes walk to the nearest metro station. A little annoying when strapped for time. There is a free shuttle from the ship to the metro, but hours are very limited. Parking at the designated space is also expensive at 15 euros for 24hrs. Breakfast is also 20 euros, so we did not partake.
This is a nice hotel with a few big drawbacks. However, the novelty of staying on a historic ship does ease these a little.

Room Tip: Cheaper standard rooms have no windows or wi-fi. Superior rooms have both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, Rotterdam 3072 AM, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.