We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience, restaurant service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SS Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SS Rotterdam to your Saves list
SS Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice experience, restaurant service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was really a very nice experience to be on the SS Rotterdam. Our room / cabin was very spacious and had a nice "retro" theme. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Shower/bathroom was OK.
We had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the Lido restaurant (all outside on the deck as the weather was great when we visited) We were happy at lunch and breakfast: good food, and good quick service too. Unfortunately during dinner our waiter (a young man) was very slow, sloppy and unattentive. He kept on forgetting us (and our orders) even after we complained. His older, female colleague took over and her service was much better. Also during dinner time there was a band playing: "Decibel" Their music was an insult to our ears and I advise management of the SS Rotterdam to find another band.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    239
    65
    27
    8
See reviews for
65
243
7
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was on SS Rotterdam last holidays with my boyfriend and it was really nice time! Impressions were very impressive. I cannot say anything bad for room service and food. Very nice staff. I hope i will come back there in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can only comment on the restaurant and the boat themselves as we did not try the hotel facilities. We spent our company christmas party there last year, we were about 50-60 people having drinks - open bar- and diner there. The bar is very nice and the drinks were served fast by very nice staff members. The diner was another story. By that stage we were getting drunk so we didnt really care but the food wasnt nice. One of my colleagues at my table actually found a large piece of plastic packaging in its amuse bouche. The tartare starter was the only nice thing in the whole meal. The meat in the main course was overcooked and hard, unedible. Red and white wines served at the table were poor quality. Dessert was OK, dont remember much. Overall the waiters and waitresses were pretty amateur and very young, probably student jobs. It was fun to be on a boat though! I am overall very happy I didnt pay for it otherwise it would be 1*.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My partner and I went to the SS Rotterdam today. Please do not visit - let me tell you why.
We arrived and took the lift upstairs to the onboard restaurant and bar. It is Saturday and we arrived at 5pm. We arrived with our 9 month-old daughter hoping to grab a quick coffee and maybe some snacks. We had planned nothing more than a quick visit. I had been looking forward to our visit, how wrong I was.

The bar and restaurant area is large with plenty of staff. I estimate that the entire place was under a third full and most of the tables reserved. So we arrived to a sea of empty tables.

We told the waitress we would like to be seated and have a quick drink and snack. We were refused a table suitable for a couple with a baby. It was absolutely clear we could not sit at a high table. There was absolutely no reason to be difficult, particularly as we explained we were going to be gone within 20 minutes from the outset. The staff showed no desire to help us, be flexible or indeed find a solution to our need. Its is unforgivable to turn away a couple with a baby from an empty restaurant.

The first waitress we spoke to couldn't help when the solution was simple. She had to go off and find a manager. When the manager came she was just as useless. She said exactly the same thing and offered us another crappy, unsuitable high table. All the while, there was a table of people sitting in the restaurant having drinks and snacks, just as we would have liked. The manager then said she would have to go and phone someone else! Who on earth she was going to speak to I do not know. Utterly inept.

The experience was horrible. The staff have no charisma, no desire to serve. Hospitality zero. They seemed of the opinion that customers are there for them, when it really is the other way round. After two failed attempts to sort the problem we walked away disgusted. The staff are no better than automatons. They didn't listen, they didn't appreciate their customer and they don't deserve to be in business or receive a penny in tips. Who on earth they think they are is unclear.

I had head quite a bit about SS Rotterdam, some good reviews, but we won't ever return. The place, although clean and spacious, is nothing special. It could be a cafeteria if you don't get caught up in the novelty of being on a ship. I have seen better cross channel ferries. The outside area has a splash pool which might be quite nice, but we didn't get to find out. It all seemed rather fake and our experience so far below the standards of Dutch hospitality to which I have become accustomed. There is better our there.

Today was awful. Save yourself the time, effort and money this place asks of you, because they sure won't give you anything back in return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed on the SS Rotterdam for 4 nights, costing £391 between 2 people for a superior room.
First impressions of the ship/hotel are very impressive. Looks great at night when it is lit up, and a good job has been done restoring and converting the ship into a nice hotel. Nice bar, with friendly staff, though we didn't make much of the dining options as they were all a little expensive.
The room was clean, spacious and had comfortable beds. The bathroom had a wet room shower, which I don't think is appropriate in a four star hotel (I despise it when water gets all over the bathroom floor!). Service was friendly and accommodating throughout the stay.
On the negative, the hotel is quite far from anything else, and it is about 20 minutes walk to the nearest metro station. A little annoying when strapped for time. There is a free shuttle from the ship to the metro, but hours are very limited. Parking at the designated space is also expensive at 15 euros for 24hrs. Breakfast is also 20 euros, so we did not partake.
This is a nice hotel with a few big drawbacks. However, the novelty of staying on a historic ship does ease these a little.

Room Tip: Cheaper standard rooms have no windows or wi-fi. Superior rooms have both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As other reviewers have said this is a marvellous experience as, on a nice day, it is quite wonderful to sit out on the aft deck and have lunch whilst people watching. There is a swimming/paddling pool and it seems that a lot of local parents bring their children to splash about whilst they have a more civilised time eating and drinking. I didn't see this aspect of the ship advertised anywhere and it would be awful to turn up and your child wants to go in the pool but you've not brought anything. Prices are on a par with the rest of Rotterdam but charging us for three glasses of luke warm tapwater seemed a little OTT. We'd have bought a bottle of water if they'd told us this was the case. Still, it's all in a good cause?
Service however is shambolic at best, no-one seems to pass on any information and any request that is fulfilled takes an average of twenty minutes. A table near us, with an extended family, waited an hour for their lunch to arrive, luckily the children were enjoying the pool...
They're a lovely staff but management don't seem to have a grip on things. Eventually I asked a bloke in a black suit if we could have the bill and he said 'of course, sir'. Twenty minutes later it appeared...
Luckily we made the train

Room Tip: There are tables under umbrellas where it's cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This boat used to do the trip Rotterdam - New York (and many other wordwide trips after that)
This ship is enormous and leaves a great impression when you see it for the first time. It is fully renovated but in the style of how the boat was in the past, an oldfashioned style icon. On the boat there are lots of pictures of the boat itself and people on it, in the early 60's.
Staying on this boat feels like doing a cruise.
We stayed in a superior room. Lots of place, sixties interior but quiet a small bathroom (the size you will get on a actual boat were place is limited) Charming though!
The boat is also nicely lit at night and is close to the city centre. You can take a watertaxi ( a nice attraction and not expensive) The city has a sort of NewYork-city style, I think, caused by the buildings and the water. The only thing that can be better is the breakfast. A lot of people can stay on this huge boat and the all meet for breakfast in a giant restaurant. A bit crowed and noisy, but with beautifull modern Phantom chairs.
Good Value - certainly when you book a sort of package true weekenddeals.com (with a free drink at the bar of bottle of champagne)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.