We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious stay - old fashioned cruise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SS Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SS Rotterdam to your Saves list
SS Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glorious stay - old fashioned cruise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This boat used to do the trip Rotterdam - New York (and many other wordwide trips after that)
This ship is enormous and leaves a great impression when you see it for the first time. It is fully renovated but in the style of how the boat was in the past, an oldfashioned style icon. On the boat there are lots of pictures of the boat itself and people on it, in the early 60's.
Staying on this boat feels like doing a cruise.
We stayed in a superior room. Lots of place, sixties interior but quiet a small bathroom (the size you will get on a actual boat were place is limited) Charming though!
The boat is also nicely lit at night and is close to the city centre. You can take a watertaxi ( a nice attraction and not expensive) The city has a sort of NewYork-city style, I think, caused by the buildings and the water. The only thing that can be better is the breakfast. A lot of people can stay on this huge boat and the all meet for breakfast in a giant restaurant. A bit crowed and noisy, but with beautifull modern Phantom chairs.
Good Value - certainly when you book a sort of package true weekenddeals.com (with a free drink at the bar of bottle of champagne)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    325
    82
    33
    9
See reviews for
99
324
10
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A few weeks ago I met up with a friend and we decided to walk to the SS Rotterdam. From Hotel New York at the end of the 'Wilhelminapier' we crossed the new pedestrian bridge and after a 15 minute walk we arrived at the (huge!) SS Rotterdam. My friend who never visited the SS Rotterdam before loved it. Especially when I told her we were going to have a drink on the main deck. As it was a sunny day we were able to relax in the chairs on the deck, enjoying a couple of drinks and chatting up. The waiters made sure we had enough to drink and were friendly.
The SS Rotterdam is a great place to have drinks, but also have lunch or dinner, or even stay a night when visiting Rotterdam. You can also take a tour throughout the ship. There are various tours depending on how much time you have. The complete tour takes about 3 hours if you want to see everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on board in superior room- our stay included a wedding- everything on board & it was stunning- staff were fantastic.
Great that guests from all over the world could also stay onboard.
Just perfect.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This one-night stay was always going to be different from being in a conventional hotel. But it turned out to be a great experience.

We had a Deluxe Room which was spacious and comfortable, and whose styling was (as promised) evocatively retro. It was clean and everything was in good condition although the style meant that it didn't have all of the "luxurious" trimmings that a shoreside hotel of this standard would have offered. Importantly, the hotel accommodation areas are quiet and secure.

The rest of the day was spent on the aft pool deck, enjoying the sunshine together with many families and others relaxing on a late Friday afternoon.

We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. This included a four-course surprise dinner in the Club Room, which is the more formal of the two restaurants on board. The menu was interesting and reasonably well executed, although the quality of the ingredients did not quite match the ambition and skill of the chefs.

Breakfast in the Lido restaurant is pretty standard hotel buffet breakfast fare (with pretty standard hotel buffet service), although plentiful in choice and quantity.

Hotel guests get a discount on tours of the ship. There are two parts, which can be done separately or together: the engine room and other workings, which is guided; and the upper decks and public rooms, which is a self-guided walk although there are plenty of volunteers at each point in the tour. An included audio guide explains a great deal more. There is so much to see - and it has been so lovingly restored - that we simply ran out of time and had to rush at the end.

We were not the only people who'd decided to do this on the night before setting sail on this ship's successor, the ms Rotterdam (VI). It's a great way to start a cruise holiday! And this successful venture deserves everyone's support.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The ship is permanently attached to its present location and operates as an event center / restaurant / hotel. We joined a special event organized on the whole ship and stayed overnight. The circumstances may thus be special, but we can say that the room was great. We stayed on the B-deck all the way to the back of the ship overlooking the river. The way there may be confusing but once you know where your room is, its no problem finding it again. The room was really nice, stylish, spacious with a great bathroom. Everything looks well maintained and well designed. Breakfast in the morning was also good, even though the staff at the coffee bar was tired of serving coffee and pointed us unfriendly to the coffee machine to do it ourselves. Still a great experience. If you are looking for the special place to stay overnight in Rotterdam, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

very oldish decorated room
room has enough space, bed is ok
bathroom is standard
no wifi in the room
however, and the customer is not even informed of it (so do not be claustrophobic!!), some rooms have no windows at all !!!
breakfast is "chaotic" (long wait coffee corner, flow at buffet not well organized...) ; quality wise is rather standard
the boat is interesting (historic cruiseship) with old lowcost decoration (and sticky carpets)
takes this hotel only if you have a special opportunity on board (party, restaurant event...) or a nice discount; otherwise a bit expensive for what you get

the boat istelf is interesting (historic cruiseship) with quite old lowcost decoration

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed one night onboard of the SS Rotterdam and it exceeded my expectations. Sure, it was going to be special to sleep in a ship with a history but it turned out that it's very well renovated with a nice combination of modern comfort and 50s style.
All staff is very friendly and dressed in style as well.
Our standard room on the inner side of the ship was much bigger and comfortable than expected. It even had a separate sitting area, again in the style when the SS Rotterdam was sailing to New York. Breakfast is served on the Promenade deck and offered an extensive choice. If you’re spending the night in the weekend, it might be good to come early as it starts to get very busy from 9.30am onwards. The Ocean Bar tend to be very noisy & crowded during the weekend, but if you want to have drink in a quieter environment before heading to bed, try the Lido bar. During the evening, we chose to eat outside as there are plenty of restaurants at walking distance in the neighborhood of Hotel New York.
In summary: if you're in Rotterdam and want something else then the standard hotel, this is your choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.