We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but overprized” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H2otel Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added H2otel Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H2otel Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfy but overprized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Location, location, location. H2otel offers a unique location, very quiet and yet very central in the city center. Perfect.

On the other hand, they charge you accordingly. My partner and I stayed in the 'luxe kamer' for E 140 a night. This room in truth is cramped as any hut on a ship and has no romantic view whatsoever. It is clean and comfy, but for such a top prize, one truly may expect more. The breakfast is standard industrialised fare to the accompaniment of CNN tv - to be avoided, if you can.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
31
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Very helpful and friendly receptionist on arrival and departure. We had a terrace room overlooking the old bridge and red boat - perfect and really felt like a private little space for us. Great location near Maritime Museum, Oude Haven, Bloc Treehouses and Dudok Cafe - do visit! - the apple pie is amazing and good friendly service in a gorgeous building. Great spot to people watch too. Also recommend Bagel & Beans (all over Netherlands). The one in Rotterdam was great! Can't wait to get back to Rotterdam soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is a good value accomodation in Rotterdam. We only needed to stay for one night and really were not planning to spend any time in the room. Cute little room with sofa bed for children. Bathroom modern. Nice enough breakfast, nothing fancy. Easy to get taxi or water taxi to destinations. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is somewhat of an hidden gem: in the middle of Rotterdam skyscrapers, it's a small boat (attached to the street) in the haven. The place is actually quite charming.

When we arrived we were welcomed by the girl at the reception, who showed us the main places on the map, told as a couple of things about Rotterdam, and told us where to eat and hang around.

The rooms (at least on the top deck, where I was) have a nice modern decor (which I suspect is different from room to room). Try to get a room at the edge of the boat, so you'll have a small outside terrace for free. WiFi is available but not free of charge: I didn't try it so can't tell how it works. Room are very clean and well kept.

We went to the bar on the lower deck, which has a floating terrace on the haven. I would recommend to have a drink there while watching the skyscrapers and the passing boats. If you plan to drink more than a couple of pints, you'll better off moving to the inside bar, as it floats way less. :)

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place. It's also very central, and in walking distance to many spots.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed at the H2otel for 2 nights of a 5-day business trip in May 2010 when my usual hotels were booked with a large convention in town and was very pleased by the alternative selection. The staff is very friendly and helpful, bar/restaurant/deck area an entertaining social hangout in the evenings and the anti-trendy rooms are kitschy enough to be absolutely delightful. Note that there is free WiFi in the lounge area, but a wired connection is required in the rooms. I would stay there again on a future trip, but probably only in the summer / spring months and also recommend one of the larger suites... suspect that the smaller ones might make one feel a little claustrophobic as the width of the hotel (and subsequently the rooms) is thin.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

I went to Rotterdam for a conference last week and stayed at the H2Otel with 3 work colleagues. I wasn't sure what to expect when I was told that we were booked onto a floating hotel but I need not have worried at all - it was lovely! The staff were all very friendly, the rooms immaculate and it is situated in a very good area of the city. The breakfast was good with a selection of cold buffet, cereal, toast, pastries etc but there is not a restaurant for the evening - but this does not matter as a 5/10 minute walk away are some excellent restaurants and bars.

The rooms have there own heating/air con units but my collegues found it hard to work... But once sorted were very good. The single rooms are tiny but as we didn't spend any time there except to sleep that didn't matter especially since the beds were so comfortable.

All round an enjoyable place to stay and I would definitely go back if I was in Rotterdam and you were looking for someone different other than the big brand hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

H2otel is a floating hotel in one of the older inner harbours of Rotterdam. Surprising to see that after 5 hours the entrance has moved up or down some 2 meters by the tide.
Clean, although whilst entering the room there was a hint of mildew in the air.
Particular furniture that does not match the 'arty'-impression of the hotel.
Only backdraw is the absence of a parking, so that will cost you an additional 25 Euros (depending arrival). They seem to have their own parking for 5, but that is a wellhiddne secret on the site.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H2otel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2otel Rotterdam

Address: Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H2otel Rotterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of real Rotterdam by staying on the floating h2otel in the sparkling heart of the city. The H2Otel has 49 rooms in different styles,a bar-brasserie with a terrace and a landing jetty,a conference and art exhibit room as well as lounge boats offer catered boat trips in the inner harbour. Leen van Popering and his partner Leida van der Sluis warmly welcome you to their unique floating hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your H2otel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2otel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.