We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H2otel Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added H2otel Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H2otel Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our short break! The room was brilliant, good size and very clean, and we were lucky enough to have our own terrace as we were on the end. The bathroom facilities were great and the beds were comfortable, which is exactly what you need after a long day sightseeing! The location of the hotel is perfect, being just 5 minutes away from good bars, cafes and restaurants for the evening, and close to the Erasmus bridge and old boats on the canals. It was lovely to stay on the water, and it definitely didn't feel like being on a boat!
The staff were friendly and welcoming, and helped us whenever we needed it. We went on a boat tour of the canals organised by the hotel, which was lovely and the lunch provided was fab. I would recommend staying here to everyone, as it really does have great service and location. Make sure to visit restaurant Tinto, the big red boat the other side of the bridge - fabulous tapas food and lovely atmosphere, and if you get chilly in the evening they have blankets!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the end of the top deck, and you will have a private terrace area to sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
38
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

When my family came to visit me in Rotterdam, I recommended this hotel to them because firstly, it's right next to my apartment, and secondly, because it's on a boat! You don't get to stay on a boat very often. I always expected the hotel to be expensive because of its location and it being a boat, but it's actually very reasonably priced, especially considering that it's in the city centre.

The service my family received was warm, friendly and very helpful. The rooms are small, but artistically decorated and comfortable. I really recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Rotterdam and wants easy access to the centre while staying on the water. The hotel is a 5-minute walk away from the Erasmus Bridge, the trendy Witte de Withstraat street and the famous cube houses, but because it's a street away from the main thoroughfare, it's very quiet and calm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Its a floating hotel. Rooms are normal size and clean. Bar and food is good. Service is v.good. loacated close to offices and plenty of food options in walking distance. Its not a fancy hotel. Simple & plain. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is on the water, which makes it quite an interesting location. Even with bad weather and wind it's on a very stable structure, so don't worry about being sea-sick (it's on a canal anyway, on very calm water). I had a room with terrace and it was a very confortable one. The bathroom is spacious, the roof slants down on one side so that side of the room might be a bit low-ceiling but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. It would have been nice if the terraces were private, the view in from is not that great, mostly high-rise buildings, but it was good enough for me to want to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and as soon as we got there showed us on the map all the best local attractions we should go to. We had an upper deck room and it was very clean and had a very spacious room. Breakfast was 12 euros per person but we chose not to have this, as a Mcdonalds was 10 min walk away. It is a 10 min walk from Blaak metro station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We looked for a hotel near the center and this one is pretty close to all major attractions. We had a room with a terrace (you share it with the room next to yours) from which you can see some boats on the harbor. We arrived on a monday at 11 a.m and the room was already prepared which is always nice. We stayed for one night. The bed was very comfortable. Tall people should mind the head because the ceiling is oblique on one side of the bed, but it is a boat hotel :)

Most we liked the receptionist (a friendly blond girl) which checked for us every option to go to Kinderdijk Windmills as on monday the boat that goes straight there isn't working. She was very helpful and gave us very good advice. Otherwise, our whole trip to Rotterdam would have fallen apart, as we had just one day to stay.

There is also a very a SPAR supermarket right around the corner, which is always useful and a very nice place to buy freshly made sandwiches called The Sandwich Corner.

The bar was very nice in the evening and the bartender very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to H2otel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2otel Rotterdam

Address: Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H2otel Rotterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of real Rotterdam by staying on the floating h2otel in the sparkling heart of the city. The H2Otel has 49 rooms in different styles,a bar-brasserie with a terrace and a landing jetty,a conference and art exhibit room as well as lounge boats offer catered boat trips in the inner harbour. Leen van Popering and his partner Leida van der Sluis warmly welcome you to their unique floating hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your H2otel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2otel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;