We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H2otel Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added H2otel Rotterdam to your Saves list
H2otel Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location, nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The location on a quiet canal (channel?) is great; walking distance to everything downtown. Our room on the upper deck was clean and quiet, with a little terrace. Good water pressure and hot water, which was a nice change from smaller B&Bs we stayed at on this trip.

There was open wifi in our room, but it didn't seem to be the hotel's. Sorry, random Rotterdamer whose wifi I used!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
52
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

While visiting Rotterdam, I was looking for an "exotic" alternative to standard hotels...
Luckily I was to find H2otel thanks to Tripadvisor!

The boat is located in a calm channel, a few minute walk from the city center.

I was warmly velcomed by the staff. Travelling alone, I choose the smallest room, that was very cosy: a comfortable bed, a nice office viewing the channel through a boat-type window.
My place was very clean. The atmosphere was unique.

The bar was very pleasant, offering a charming small terrasse on the channel and free wifi.

Definitely the place to visit if you look for a different -but comfortable- place to stay in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I booked here based on the originality of the hotel and the fast and courteous response i received from the receptionists over email.

The hotel is ideally located in the centre without being on a busy road. The rooms are somewhat small but very comfortable and cosy with good heating which was already on when we checked in which was a nice touch! The room had a small terrace...way to cold to sit out there, but ideal if you are a smoker.
The bathroom was a bit cold, and the drain in the shower seemed to be blocked. We reported this to reception and it seemed like they were already aware of some fault in the drain.
Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of pastries, cold cuts, cereals, and eggs.
The only 2 things I didnt like was the fact that you have to walk outdoors in the cold to get from your room to the breakfast room, and the checkout time of 10:30 is very uncomfortable.
Otherwise staff were very friendly and helpful so I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Location, location, location. H2otel offers a unique location, very quiet and yet very central in the city center. Perfect.

On the other hand, they charge you accordingly. My partner and I stayed in the 'luxe kamer' for E 140 a night. This room in truth is cramped as any hut on a ship and has no romantic view whatsoever. It is clean and comfy, but for such a top prize, one truly may expect more. The breakfast is standard industrialised fare to the accompaniment of CNN tv - to be avoided, if you can.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Very helpful and friendly receptionist on arrival and departure. We had a terrace room overlooking the old bridge and red boat - perfect and really felt like a private little space for us. Great location near Maritime Museum, Oude Haven, Bloc Treehouses and Dudok Cafe - do visit! - the apple pie is amazing and good friendly service in a gorgeous building. Great spot to people watch too. Also recommend Bagel & Beans (all over Netherlands). The one in Rotterdam was great! Can't wait to get back to Rotterdam soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is a good value accomodation in Rotterdam. We only needed to stay for one night and really were not planning to spend any time in the room. Cute little room with sofa bed for children. Bathroom modern. Nice enough breakfast, nothing fancy. Easy to get taxi or water taxi to destinations. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is somewhat of an hidden gem: in the middle of Rotterdam skyscrapers, it's a small boat (attached to the street) in the haven. The place is actually quite charming.

When we arrived we were welcomed by the girl at the reception, who showed us the main places on the map, told as a couple of things about Rotterdam, and told us where to eat and hang around.

The rooms (at least on the top deck, where I was) have a nice modern decor (which I suspect is different from room to room). Try to get a room at the edge of the boat, so you'll have a small outside terrace for free. WiFi is available but not free of charge: I didn't try it so can't tell how it works. Room are very clean and well kept.

We went to the bar on the lower deck, which has a floating terrace on the haven. I would recommend to have a drink there while watching the skyscrapers and the passing boats. If you plan to drink more than a couple of pints, you'll better off moving to the inside bar, as it floats way less. :)

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place. It's also very central, and in walking distance to many spots.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H2otel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2otel Rotterdam

Address: Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H2otel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of real Rotterdam by staying on the floating h2otel in the sparkling heart of the city. The H2Otel has 49 rooms in different styles,a bar-brasserie with a terrace and a landing jetty,a conference and art exhibit room as well as lounge boats offer catered boat trips in the inner harbour. Leen van Popering and his partner Leida van der Sluis warmly welcome you to their unique floating hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your H2otel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2otel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.