We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bug central! Avoid.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Turkuaz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Turkuaz to your Saves list
Hotel Turkuaz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Turkuaz
Henegouwerplein 56-58, 3021 Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bed bug central! Avoid.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The beds were infested with bed bugs. The bites began within seconds of getting under the sheets. They gave us another room, which was insect free, but weren't in the least surprised, or even apologetic.

Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Top floor seemed bed bug free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Room was tiny in an annex built on the roof, one level above the end of the lift. It was functional and clean, but bed was hard and room smelled unless window was kept open. Breakfast provided was very basic - but better than nothing.

It was a cheap stay in an expensive country, but the 3-star rating was not what someone from UK would expect - I'd give it 1-star.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

this hotel was one of the cheapest hotels we could find at the timeof the booking. and because it was cheaper than some others we did not have great expectations. however anybody wishing to stay here should be warned of the stains on the bed throws and dirty shower curtains. on the second night of our stay i have been woken up by the maddening itch in the middle of the night and the following night i spent half of the night in the car. after a request by my husband we have been put into another room. unfortunately itch has carried on as it turned out that the cause was bed bugs. as i am writing this review i am still itching. i am only hoping that we did not bring the bed bugs home

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Spent one night in this place and was glad when I left. The staff seem to spend most of the time standing around the entrance smoking cigarettes and if they haven't seen you before chase you inside to see if you are a guest. There are posters of ridiculous house rules posted all over the place and if I had seen one of these before I got there I would never have stayed in the first place (demanding to inspect the room before you leave is out of order). I found the staff unhelpful and unwelcoming. The breakfast was basic to say the least (tea and coffee dispensed from a machine). The internal decor of the place is dreadful. All in all I would not stay there again and would not reccomend anyone else does either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I am a single traveller on my way home from work - transitting via Amsterdam and decided to visit Rotterdam for 1.5 days.

The objective was to find a cheap place to sleep in Rotterdam (6 - 8 hours) since I'll be touring Rotterdam most of the time from sun up till sun down. I am happy to say that I've met my objective at Turkuaz for €45 per night. (single room). Nothing special with the room set-up, but then what do you expect for the cheap price anyway. Check-in was easy. The front desk lady was OK and helpful. The single room is small as expected - but, suitable for my purpose. The room was clean - but with old furnitures and wooden floor. There was a shower in my room - small but serve the prupose. I checked in, leave some stuff in the room and then went out visiting the city. came back to hotel just to sleep as I was exhausted after a full day activity. I was on the 1st floor - no serious noise. Able to sleep soundly.

They have free WiFi if you bring your laptop. If not, there's a desktop downstairs where you can check your email etc.

The breakfast was basic. Had cereal, bread, cheese, yogurt and tea. Nothing fancy but I'm OK with it. Checked out after breakfast and went for some more sight seeing before heading back to Schiphol.

The hotel is about 7 - 10 minutes walk from the Central Station. Still quiet a distance from most of the tourist attractions. I love to walk. So, I can tell you that it's about 30 mins walk to the Euromast. 40mins walk to the waterfront. 20mins walk to Stadhuis, museums etc in city center.

Overall, I am satisfied with the stay at Turkuaz.

Recommend this hotel for: budget travellers, traveller who only needs a place to sleep without worrying about fancy stuff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

They decided to cancel our stay after one night. We had paid for four rooms for three nights. They claimed we broke the bed, but nothing was wrong besides something with the wheel that wasn't visible. They had to know about the damage beforehand, otherwise they wouldnt notice.

By coincidence we saw that they turned away two couples because they were fully booked, so we can only see this as a subject of fraud.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

To start, what's positive about this place: it's just a 10min walk from the central train station. but that's the only thing folks, really.

I stayed there for 1 night and did not enjoy it at all. It has quite a seedy, tacky feel to it. The color scheme in my room was well very colorful, the bathroom had a musty smell, stained linen and the room was simply not well cleaned.

Breakfast according to reception is 'Self'-service Istanbul style'. And that pretty much says it all.

I really can't recommend this place even for a single night. You better spend your bucks in another more worthy establishment.

  • Liked — in close vicinity to train station
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Turkuaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turkuaz

Address: Henegouwerplein 56-58, 3021 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Turkuaz is a friendly small-scale hotel where personal approach and a good price/quality relationship go hand in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Turkuaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Turkuaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.