We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Indonesian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satebar Indonesia

Satebar Indonesia
rodezand 34, Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)
+31104148588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 485 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdriehoek
Limoges
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Indonesian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Spicy and/or sugar, nice and not very expwnsive Indonesian food. They have menus in English and French.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique experience for the taste buds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

First time eating Indonesian food. We let other reviews guide us here. Chicken satay starters came out a little too quick...they were tasty.

Ordered the devilishly spicy chicken dish which I normally would not eat on the bone but this was nice with boiled rice.

Overall an interesting experience. The restaurant is upstairs after walking up a narrow staircase. Inside the restaurant is warm probably because each table has at least 9 warmers keeping the food toasty. Service was good and attentive...felt slightly rushed, more so than other restaurants in Rotterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our food was delicious, but very spicy. The degree of hotness is only indicated with the mains and not with the satays.
There was a mix-up with our order so we had to wait for a while (though not too long), while all the people around us were getting served.
Great value!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simple, good Indonesian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've been here many times, and I always get their lamb sate with lontong (something like compressed rice cakes). The food is of good quality - in my opinion the sates here are much better than what you normally get when you order sate with fries at Dutch cafes. Plus it's reasonably priced (2 main courses + 2 soft drinks = €30). Do note that you have to specifically order side dishes e.g. rice or lontong to go with your sate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Genuine Indonesian Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for Indonesian food which are tasted really close to the original one back home in Indonesia, then you should go to this restaurant. If you are an Indonesian been living abroad for quite long time and need to talk to someone with local Indonesian accent, you'll find them here. They are also offering a decent price for the food in their list menu. Hot and spicy level are adjusted to local taste I think, but you can ask for extra fresh chilli if you want.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satebar Indonesia also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Satebar Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satebar Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.