We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get much more Italian than this family run spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria A Proposito

Trattoria A Proposito
505 Weena, Zidje Stationsplein, 3013 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
10 2132334
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 507 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much more Italian than this family run spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was staying at a hotel across the street for business and my colleague recommended the restaurant. It's also right next to the train station. The place is small but is very quaint. The mention is handwritten on a large chalkboard that they drag to your table. I wanted fish and the waitress was very helpful at making suggestions.

I also ordered beef carpacchio for a starter and it was really nice. Drizzled with some olive oil and balsamic and a bit of salad. When I received my fish, it also came with a small side salad and a bread plate of pasta with olive oil. Just enough and perfectly seasoned.

Will definitely add this to my list of restaurants when I'm visiting Rotterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Small, family business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Try to get a seat, better make a reservation.
The place is always packed.... Great food... They don't do pizza, but real nice pasta and others.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have had our lunch two times there during our three days business trip. The location is very very close to the train station and the Manhattan Hotel. The italian food was great indeed, pastas and cold starters were delicious, a family owned business, an Italian family who are hands on all the time. The prices were reasonnable, the decoration was very old and not that pleasant but I would definitely recommend this place for lunch...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, very Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I agree with almost all the comments made before - except it isn't hard to find. It's right across from the main entrance of the Rotterdam Centraal train station. It's very reasonably priced (€30 for pre-dinner beer, pasta meal (American sized), wine, coffee, dessert, and tip).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“excellent authentic italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are looking for some authentic Italian food in Rotterdam, A proposito is the place for you. It doesn't look like much from the outside, it can be easily missed as I never saw it before last week and I have been living in Rotterdam for 5 years. The place is very busy so I would advise to book in advance. Menu is written on blackboard brought to your table. The staff is Italian which is always a good sign. My father and I both had the tuna, with green pepper and lemon for him and with squid ink for me, both were perfectly cooked and the sauces were very tasty. All mains are served with side salad and spaghetti. I will happily go back and try the meat dishes. Fast and friendly service, average prices (22 eur for fish.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria A Proposito also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Trattoria A Proposito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria A Proposito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.