We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience, great escape for relax citytrip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas)

Save Saved
You added Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stieltjesstraat 34, Rotterdam 3071 JX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience, great escape for relax citytrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As a frequent traveller I visit many hotels. For this occasion we travelled with the family to celebrate something. Pincoffs is an ideal hotel to feel special. The personal attention of the well trained staff, which you can only find in smaller hotels, and original design truly makes you step out your daily life. The interior is original due to partnerships with designers and feels creative with some self produced stylish furniture. It gives the hotel an unique and relaxed atmosphere. Great biological breakfast with fresh fruit and orange juice and nice eggs cooking prepared in the open kitchen. The suite we stayed in was spacious with original details of the monumental building combined with high tech as an iphone docking station. It is not possible to have dinner in the hotel, only lunch, drinks and appetizers so for dinner we went into town. The location is facing the Erasmusbrug in the centre of Rotterdam. Private parking and also the water taxi stop is in front of the hotel, fun the see the city from the water.

I can strongly advice Pincoffs for any occasion both Business and Pleasure and will return for sure. Thanks for the pampered stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    24
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
97
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire uk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

A most attractive place in an interesting and dynamic part of the city. From the moment we arrived to the early departure three days later, the staff could not have been more helpful. The owner has a keen perception of real customer care, and her husband is apparently responsible for the sensitive design and furnishings.
Our room was high ceilinged, nicely furnished and well sound proofed with a monsoon shower which has to be seen to believed!
Breakfasts were of real quality with tasty ingredients. Could have done with muesli and All-bran or bran flakes. (The Dutch must get their roughage elsewhere!)
Evening 'small bites' were exactly what one needs if a trip to a local restaurant is not required.
Would definitely revisit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It is always interesting to stay in a hotel, which is according to our Tripadvisor reviewers the best in a city. So, the expectations were high. To be honest, the hotel did not make those expectations come true. Certainly, the building, the location, the rooms are all very attractive. But, when you enter the room and want to make a cup of tea it is disappointing to see that one one of the tea glasses is dirty and there are only two teabags. The room was set up for one person, whilst we had booked for two: one cup for espresso and one for coffee, and only two coffeepads. If you want to be the best this should not happen. Besides these comments we had a very pleasant stay: great beds, nice ( albeit expensive) breakfast, and we could leave our car in the parking for the whole day. So certainly recommendable if you want a different hotel close to the city in a very attractive location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovicus000, Eigenaar at Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas), responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. It will help us to improve the hotel. It is disappointing for us not to meet your expectations. We apologize for the dirty tea glass in your room - it's our policy to check our rooms twice a day and both employees must have missed the dirty glass.
Please note that tea, coffee, table water and WiFi are free in the rooms. We put two tea bags and two cups of illy coffee in every room. It keeps the tea and coffee fresh. If you need more than two pieces just ring our reception desk. There is no limitation for coffee and tea consumption.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed the night of our wedding in the fanastic hotel. Very beautifull rooms! A heart made out of rosebuds on the bed, bottle of champagne in the cooler and the bath was filled upon our arrival. Arrived a lot later than expected but this was no problem for the staff who patiently took our order for breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was excellent with perfectly preparred eggs, fresh fruit, different rolls, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I arrived on business at the Hilton to find out my room (pre-paid) had been given away. They sent me here instead. Understandably frustrated, I took a taxi to the hotel and found the staff fantastic upon arrival. I hadn't eaten (this is why you book places like the Hilton!) and their kitchen was closed. No problem, Bridgette wrangled some takeaway for me and solved my issues. Our meeting wasn't by design this time, but based on their grace under fire, I'll be back. I guess this is why they are #1 on tripadvisor.

On a practice note, nice spacious rooms. Well appointed. Ideal for pleasure travel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We tried to book a room with our family of 5. They offered the largest suite.The ask for an extra bed in a suite for a child € 80,- a night, without breakfest € 8,75. We didn't book such bad idea. Good luck with the other hotel people who are regular visitors for your hotel!

Room Tip: Go to Main Design Hotel, more facilities, good prices, childfriendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovicus000, Eigenaar at Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas), responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Patrick K.,
We are sorry that we have disappointed you. The Pincoffs Hotel is a small boutique hotel with a high service level. You tried to book a Suite for 5 people for a price which is not available at The Pincoffs Hotel.
We try to please a lot of people, because it is our main objective: pleasing people. But some people want a budget price for a 4 star boutique hotel. That is not possible at The Pincoffs. You mentioned that we wanted to charge 80 euro for one extra bed. That is not true. We offered you 2 extra beds (for 3 children) for 80 euro. It is a normal price for the city of Rotterdam: 40 euro per extra bed, including bedding, towels & original Bvlgari amenities.
We offered you a fair price. For you personally the price was to high. You threatened us to write a bad review on TripAdvisor. And you did. We think there is no reason at all to judge us with a low rating just for for not getting what you want. You and your family decided not to stay in the hotel.
We hope to see you in a better mood one day.
Kind regards,
Karen and Edwin, the owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel situated on the Nieuwe Maas in Rotterdam. Our room was superb and the service was very friendly.

The hotel is a ideally located for a visit to most of the city and we took a walk over to Oudehaven taking around 20 minutes to get there and also took a taxi to the Euromast for a fabulous dinner in the evening.

The room itself was large and well appointed but the shower is incredible. The shower head is at least 20 foot above your head and it's like being in a rain shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 - had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas)

Address: Stieltjesstraat 34, Rotterdam 3071 JX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pincoffs Suite Hotel is a small luxury hotel. It resides in a national monument built in 1879 in the area currently called Kop van Zuid, the trendy Rotterdam left bank. The former customs office is full of atmosphere and authentic details. We can offer you charm, space and comfort in our 17 suites, luxury rooms, hotel bar and period rooms for meetings.The view of the river, the bridges and the skyline is heartwarming. There is free espresso coffee, tea and water in each room and suite. The Pincoffs serves breakfast (all days) and lunch (not on Saturday and Sundays). There is free parking in the street after 18:00h and on Sundays. The hotel has a private parking (15 euro per car per night).The Pincoffs Hotel is rewarded with the Green Key Gold medal for their environmental care. The hotel won several prices for interior decoration, hotel service and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suitehotel Pincoffs (Hotel aan de Maas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.