We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Leiden Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Inn Leiden Centre to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at Tulip Inn Leiden for my hen weekend in May 2011.

Rooms:
We had two four-person rooms, which we were slightly worried about as the pictures showed two double-beds per room, but we were delighted to discover that the double-beds separated into four singles which was perfect for our needs. The rooms were airy, spacious and most importantly incredibly clean! The bathrooms had two sinks which was perfect for all the girls getting ready, and there was enough storage space for us all. We couldn't fault the rooms at all!

Staff:
The staff went out of their way to help accommodate our needs. Both evenings prior to going out my group had arranged a couple of games to play and the hotel allowed us to use a separate dining area exclusively in order to do this.

Location:
The hotel is in a fantastic location, just minutes from Leiden station and from the centre of Leiden.

Overall we were delighted with this hotel - it was reasonably priced and was perfect for our needs!! It would be perfect for business travellers, couples and groups of friends alike.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
22
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel is located opposite the train station in Leiden, so pretty convenient for travellers. Leiden is a small town, so you can walk to pretty much anywhere in 15 mins. The hotel has a 3-star Tulip Inn portion and a 4-star Golden Tulip portion. I stayed in the cheaper portion, which has small basic rooms, with a compact bathroom featuring a tiny shower cubicle (may be tough for bigger people to fit in!), and a 14-inch TV. Got a room not facing the station, so was pretty quiet.
I stopped over for a day to run the Leiden Half Marathon, and take in this lovely little town before travelling to Drenthe province for work - does the job for this kind of short stopover. If you are travelling with spouse or family, you would probably prefer a little more luxury.
Would have given it 3 stars, but the free internet (ask for a wifi code at the lobby) gets the place another star!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We spent three happy nights in a well appointed and clean room. Excellent shower. Breakfast and restaurant also good though dinner was perhaps rather pricey. Room a bit small but otherwise no criticism.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I was here for four nights to attend a conference. The accomodation was included in the package i chose.

Spacious and clean room. Comfortable bed to sleep on.
Toiletries and towels were provided. Bathtub and hot/cold shower.
Minibar & paid TV channels.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Fast checking-in/out processes.
Breakfasts were included during my stay, yet the selection of the food (buffet) was the same. Nice ambience in the restaurant.

This was my first visit to the hotel and i will come back again for next trip due to its stategic location as well (about 10 min walk to the Centraal Station)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The room was spacious, tidy and with a nice decoration, very clean, new towels and sheets. Very nice breakfast but you have to pay 16€ extra per person. New building with good infrastuctures. Maybe average value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The location of the hotel is pretty good. Right next to the central train station in Leiden, walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. The rooms are small and depressing. Nothing at all inviting about them. Tiny little TV, old furniture. The food is pretty good. Breakfast is hearty. Staff were friendly and helpful. Internet access was a major rip off - 17 euros for 24 hours!! If you can just stay outside of the room as much as possible you should be ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Tulip Inn on the way back from Florence. The hotel staff are really helpful. Parking is approx 9 euros per car per day. If like us you are travelling by motorcycle park at the rear on the footpath and its free. Breakfast was a little overcooked but plentiful. The rooms are spotless and appealing. Leiden itself is a beautiful City with many pretty canal side walks ans excellent restaurants. Iwill go back one day soon and will be happy to use the Tulip

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Leiden Centre

Address: Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Leiden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tulip Inn Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Leiden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Leiden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.