We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terweeweg 2-4 | Oegstgeest, 2341 CR Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This is certainly the hotel to stay in in the Leiden area. The rooms are all individual, and very quirky. We stayed in an African themed room, which was very comfortable and had all mod cons. The staff are very helpful, and the hotel is beautifully located within its own botanical gardens.We did not eat in the restaurant, but on all accounts it is wonderful.
The only detractor is that it is not in the beautiful city of Leiden, which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Schweiz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I have rarely been as pleasantly surprised and charmed by a hotel in Europe. The hotel I had booked was overbooked, so I ended up at the Beukenhof by accident. Spent a marvelous night in a good bed, enjoyed a rich breakfast and went to work the next day feeling completely relaxed.

The hotel features a wonderful restaurant and a romantic garden.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a nice hotel located in a pretty suburban location about 1.5 miles outside of Leiden. The staff are very friendly and professional. They appear to take pride in their profession as this appears to be a career choice and not just a part time job.

The grounds are very pleasant, almost park-like. While we did arrive just a few hours early, little was done to get a room ready for us any sooner than the official check-in time.

Our room was large but a little weird. There were cheesy "star lights" over the bed that you could turn on or off depending ou your mood, something out of a 1970's Austin Powers-type stage set. Even stranger, no mirror in the bathroom. That was a first.

The restaurant is very good, but certainly more expensive than it should be for the quality. Not to say that the quality was poor, not just as great as the price would seem to indicate. Breakfast each morning was average -at best-and very expensive. I would recommend skipping that.

There is a little town nearby where you can rent a bike and ride over to the sea. This is highly recommended.

Taxis back and forth to Leiden were around 10 eros each way, so you do not need a car.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

I had a 5-day stay and enjoyed every minute. The staff is paticularly noteworthy - mostly quite young, but all well trained, resourceful and genuinely goodhearted. I arrived 3h ahead of schedule - 6h before check-in started - but in 20 minutes my room was made ready while I recovered from my long international flight in the waiting area, drinking cocoa and brandy at 9 am. A few nights later I had one of the best meals of my life, the menu du marche, including several extra "tastes" sent from the kitchen. It was not cheap but worth every penny. The entire experience is of elegance without pretension or rigidity.

I had the bedstede, with two cupboard beds - one up a ladder - that would charm not just a child but any adult with a child still inside. It is a small room but so well designed that I never felt cramped. Bed, bath and room were all quite comfortable. It also has a balcony, shared with another room but little used, that looks out on the enormous beech tree that is the centerpiece of the hotel's large garden. The garden also boasts a play area with a swingset and trampoline plus several interesting little nooks for exploring. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet and safe, with a shopping street down the block. The pleasant walk to central Leiden takes 30 minutes; it's about 15-20 minutes to the train station (Leiden Centraal).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

It's just one of those places that puts you at ease with the world & delights your senses for a while.

The rooms are sumptuous & comfortable, arranged and decorated in an imaginative way - but there's nothing stuffy or pretentious about them. My room had a bed in a loft & a large dining table, seating 10 in the main area - perfectly equipped for a private dinner party. Outside on the balcony was a perfect view of the enclosed garden.

The restaurant is first rate & very elegant, but again the tone of the excellent service is relaxed & friendly - not a pompous note to be found.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

I lived in the netherlands for almost two years and had heard so much about this hotel that I had to check it out. I booked it as a surprise for my husband one weekend when he was coming over to NL. It is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed in. We did a deal where we arrived at mid-day, had a welcome kir royale, lunch, dinner and breakfast the following morning. I couldn't fault one thing - the service, the food, the fabulous rooms, Aveda toiletries were all even better than I expected. It really has a charm about it and you are not surprised when you find out that Elizabeth Taylor and Maria Callas stayed there.

I can't reccommend this hotel highly enough. Leiden is a great city. Check it out over a couple of days. It's ideal if you are visiting the Keukenhof, and it's close to Amsterdaam (40 mins by train and 4 trains per hour from Leiden Centraal station). You will not be disappointed by the Beukenhof !

  • Liked — Work colleagues
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We planned a last minute trip to the Keukenhof for Easter and wanted to stay somewhere nearby, where we could enjoy a lovely meal. The De Beukenhof was such a wonderful find - and our family of 4 left feeling like we were really at home, even if it was just for a day. We enjoyed the garden in the afternoon, the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and spent a good deal of time in our luxurious suite - the large Voskuyl Suite.
The people who work at this hotel are so friendly and warm. The surroundings are beautiful. The room was beyond imagination - luxurious and comfortable at the same time. Every detail was as perfect as it could be. I just can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. It is just special.

  • Liked — the amazing combination of old and new
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof

Address: Terweeweg 2-4 | Oegstgeest, 2341 CR Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Leiden
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Beukenhof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant De Beukenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.