We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Nieuw Minerva to your Saves list
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boommarkt 23, 2311 Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I liked this hotel. It is quaint, and very well located on a pretty canal. Bathroom was updated, and room was clean - definitely not fancy. Breakfast was good. Staff very helpful. Good bicycle storage. Wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
7
29
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you need to spend one night in the city, you can stay here. The location is very good, but for the price that the rooms cost I would suggest to go to any other international hotel. The quality and cleanliness of the rooms are that poor that you cannot even imagine.
This hotel really needs a complete renovation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights from April 14. The room was comfortable but basic and had a great view. The location was great, in the centre of Leiden but quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Probably our room could do with some redecoration, which the hotel plan to do. We enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Room Tip: There are many different rooms in this hotel but we would always go for one with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had booked three evenings but checked out after the first evening. While we knowingly booked on the thrid floor it was too much for our three year old. Stairs typical of Holland and no lift in the building. We may have been able to accept stairs had our room been decent but it was in very poor condition. The lightbulb was burnt out on the nightstand beside the bed, we could not access the internet (from two computers we were traveling with and had no difficulty the week prior in Germany and Belgium), and the phone line was also dead until the next morning. While the small bathroom was clean and updated recently, the same could not be said for the living/sleeping area. Bedspreads were old as was furniture. Assuming the room was clean, the experience may have been easier to accept had the hotel set a different rate for the rooms on the third floor- especially this one- cant see how this room can command anything more than 80 euros an evening.

When departing we looked in two rooms on the second floor and they appeared to have been upgraded more recently and were generally brighter.

Enough can not be said about the morning counter staff person and how they handled our situation. The staff receive top marks but management needs to seriously consider what rooms they are willing to rent to travellers and at what cost.

Room Tip: Room 358- nice clean updated bathroom but not much else to say positive about this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear that we have not fully met your expectations.
We could't offer you an other room, while the hotel was fully booked. We will take your comments serious. And we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and to offer you a great stay.
Greetings Jet Bos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for four nights last week and overall our stay in Leiden was brilliant. The location of the hotel is good, it is about 10 minutes walk to the Rail and Bus stations and 5 minutes to the city centre. Leiden itself is a beautiful city with many attractions and I think we would come back here rather than stay in Amsterdam. The hotel overlooks one of the many canals that criss cross the city, our room which was at the front of the hotel we found to be noisy at night. The hotel itself can best be described as quirky, we felt that it would benefit from a bit of a makeover to brighten some of the interior and improve lighting in the corridors, our TV was fairly ancient and had an annoying habit of turning itself off. To be fair the room was clean and bathroom large and modern. Worryingly during our stay we saw only one person dining in the evening and nobody using the bar facilities. We felt that despite lots of local competition it should attract lots of guests in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before but several years ago. My wife and I were visiting Leiden for a few days to catch up with friends and revisit old haunts as we lived in Leiden for a few months in 2010, and where better to stay than at The Nieuw Minerva, very centrally situated which is ideal for walking the city centre. I can't praise them enough for how we were looked after. My wife had broken her wrist on the morning of travelling to Holland and Sumaya Abdeen the receptionist was very kind and checked us into the Bridal Suite, no less!! The room was large with a 4 Poster and a bath in the room with separate shower, a pity we couldn't do it justice!! Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel. If there is one criticism, the decor is becoming tired and in need of freshening up somewhat but nevertheless 'Highly recommended'!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva quite a lot the last year, due to a course I'm following in Leiden. The reason why I stay at this hotel is not only because of the ideal location in the centre of Leiden, but mostly because of the way the staff makes me feel welcome. It's a familyrun hotel and when travelling on your own, you feel easily like you're part of the family. Always interested in who I am and what I do, and that's what I like. The room is clean, bed sleeps well, shower is good and breakfast is reliable ( I like the fresh baked bread). They also serve food in the evening, even when you arrive quite late, it's a simple menu but good. Because of the location, in the centre of Leiden, you can expect some noise from the street but that's mostly in the weekend or during special events like 'Leiden Ontzet'. If you are looking for an intimate and personal hotel I would recommend City Hotel Nieuw Minerva.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311 Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.