We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Save Saved
You added City Hotel Nieuw Minerva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boommarkt 23, 2311 Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights from April 14. The room was comfortable but basic and had a great view. The location was great, in the centre of Leiden but quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Probably our room could do with some redecoration, which the hotel plan to do. We enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Room Tip: There are many different rooms in this hotel but we would always go for one with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
6
25
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had booked three evenings but checked out after the first evening. While we knowingly booked on the thrid floor it was too much for our three year old. Stairs typical of Holland and no lift in the building. We may have been able to accept stairs had our room been decent but it was in very poor condition. The lightbulb was burnt out on the nightstand beside the bed, we could not access the internet (from two computers we were traveling with and had no difficulty the week prior in Germany and Belgium), and the phone line was also dead until the next morning. While the small bathroom was clean and updated recently, the same could not be said for the living/sleeping area. Bedspreads were old as was furniture. Assuming the room was clean, the experience may have been easier to accept had the hotel set a different rate for the rooms on the third floor- especially this one- cant see how this room can command anything more than 80 euros an evening.

When departing we looked in two rooms on the second floor and they appeared to have been upgraded more recently and were generally brighter.

Enough can not be said about the morning counter staff person and how they handled our situation. The staff receive top marks but management needs to seriously consider what rooms they are willing to rent to travellers and at what cost.

Room Tip: Room 358- nice clean updated bathroom but not much else to say positive about this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear that we have not fully met your expectations.
We could't offer you an other room, while the hotel was fully booked. We will take your comments serious. And we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and to offer you a great stay.
Greetings Jet Bos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for four nights last week and overall our stay in Leiden was brilliant. The location of the hotel is good, it is about 10 minutes walk to the Rail and Bus stations and 5 minutes to the city centre. Leiden itself is a beautiful city with many attractions and I think we would come back here rather than stay in Amsterdam. The hotel overlooks one of the many canals that criss cross the city, our room which was at the front of the hotel we found to be noisy at night. The hotel itself can best be described as quirky, we felt that it would benefit from a bit of a makeover to brighten some of the interior and improve lighting in the corridors, our TV was fairly ancient and had an annoying habit of turning itself off. To be fair the room was clean and bathroom large and modern. Worryingly during our stay we saw only one person dining in the evening and nobody using the bar facilities. We felt that despite lots of local competition it should attract lots of guests in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before but several years ago. My wife and I were visiting Leiden for a few days to catch up with friends and revisit old haunts as we lived in Leiden for a few months in 2010, and where better to stay than at The Nieuw Minerva, very centrally situated which is ideal for walking the city centre. I can't praise them enough for how we were looked after. My wife had broken her wrist on the morning of travelling to Holland and Sumaya Abdeen the receptionist was very kind and checked us into the Bridal Suite, no less!! The room was large with a 4 Poster and a bath in the room with separate shower, a pity we couldn't do it justice!! Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel. If there is one criticism, the decor is becoming tired and in need of freshening up somewhat but nevertheless 'Highly recommended'!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva quite a lot the last year, due to a course I'm following in Leiden. The reason why I stay at this hotel is not only because of the ideal location in the centre of Leiden, but mostly because of the way the staff makes me feel welcome. It's a familyrun hotel and when travelling on your own, you feel easily like you're part of the family. Always interested in who I am and what I do, and that's what I like. The room is clean, bed sleeps well, shower is good and breakfast is reliable ( I like the fresh baked bread). They also serve food in the evening, even when you arrive quite late, it's a simple menu but good. Because of the location, in the centre of Leiden, you can expect some noise from the street but that's mostly in the weekend or during special events like 'Leiden Ontzet'. If you are looking for an intimate and personal hotel I would recommend City Hotel Nieuw Minerva.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

If mainstream chain hotels are your preference then this hotel may not be for you, however if you appreciate a more traditional charming hotel with a mix of room types then stay here! You cannot fault the location, the cold breakfast is functional for a decent cup of coffee there are lots of coffee shops nearby.

The bedrooms are all different and all clean, you are normally treated to a choice of films on the TV with dutch subtitles! For us the WIFI was not working but I have stayed here a few times on business and that was the first time I had a problem. I have my own favourite room but will not share the number ;-) you need to stay in a few first!

Definitely stay here for an authentic experience of dutch culture.

Room Tip: Maybe a canal view is best to avoid the rooms at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice with a lot of character and perfectly situated for Leiden Town Centre and local amenities. The staff were really friendly, helpful and polite (although I've always had a soft spot for Dutch girls :-)

The first room I had, although spotlessly clean with a recently renovated bathroom, was actually very small, dingy, dark and depressing (number 16). The room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the kitchens and courtyard, surrounded on all four sides by the rest of the towering three storey hotel. Horrible, horrible, horrible. The TV was also very small and the lighting was harsh. But for some reason there was a huge desk in the room?!?! The shower was good.

So I complained and for the last night they moved me to a room at the front of the hotel (room 11) - wow what a difference (10 out of 10!!). A lovely view, very spacious, huge bathroom and a big improvement (although this time a small desk - ha ha, why don't they swap desks about I wonder!!)

The hotel breakfast was very convenient, if a little overpriced. And with it being the same choice of food everyday it became a bit monotonous - cold cheese, bread, boiled eggs, coffee and juice. Could've done with a bit of variety there - what about a full English for instance? Or croissants/pain au chocolat etc.

The hotel evening meal was very nice (steak) and very reasonably priced - better than the Mexican restaurant next door that's for certain! Although with there being plenty of eateries close by, I went to a different establishment every night - I liked The North End pub just down the street :-)

On check I noticed they'd charged me a further €7 to pay by Visa Debit card (never originally agreed to that!!)

All in all, a mixed bag. Would certainly use again, but I'd ensure I check the location of the room first.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel. Otherwise the views are appalling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear mr,
Thank you for your review.
We do not charge for debet visa cards.
We charge 7 euro for a simple continental breakfast.
We are great to hear that you like our new room number 11.
Greetings,
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311 Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.