We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marienpoel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marienpoel Hotel to your Saves list
Marienpoel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marienpoel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marienpoelstraat 1a, 2334 CW Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Victorville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family of 3 adults stayed here for 3 nights and we were very pleased with our stay. It was larger than most European "hotel" rooms we've stayed with a small dining and kitchen area (where you could not cook) but there was a refrigerator which is all we needed. Yes, it's true that there was no lounge or breakfast room but that's because the lobby area was being remodeled. We learned this from speaking with the owner (who is also the receptionist, maid, maker of the breakfast and any other duties as required of someone who owns his own business). Our breakfast wasn't anything great but it was delivered to our room at the time we expected it and was enough to get us going. And we never use a lounge, anyway. The quality of the breakfast is the only reason I am not giving this an "excellent" rating. It is within walking distance of the train station and Leiden is a nice college town. We also walked to the downtown area where there are plenty of restaurants and shopping. We even took the canal tour of the city which was a fun, informative thing to do on a drizzly day. I give special thanks to the owner for having a fan in our room and wish that every hotel would do the same. The top floor of any hotel can get stuffy, even with the windows open. Our room was simple but clean and neat and a good price. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and had a small balcony (just big enough for a couple of chairs). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    4
    7
    16
See reviews for
4
10
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Beware! If you want to sit down in this "hotel" you will have to do so in the confines of your bedroom, there is no lounge; no breakfast room and no bar.
You might not get the room booked for you by the internet company even though you produce documentary evidence, Bizarrely we were told, "Because you did not pre book your breakfasts I put you in the cheapest room" and then the work of the booking agency was blamed.
In discussion we were repeatedly told, "Read the small print".
Surely enough has been said; worst experience in 40 years of travelling; couldn`t leave fast enough but you will be taken for every last euro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a small hotel that is situated in a private house (at least this is what I thought) in a quiet neighborhood 10 minutes away from the historic district. I stayed in the hotel for one night while visiting Leiden, and I was more than happy with the quality of the hotel. The rooms were clean (although European-style small), the receptionist was very helpful, and thee house had a Dutch flavor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our starting point for a five-day bike tour of the Tulip Capital of the world. After loading our cars and driving three hours we arrived at the Marienpoel Hotel. The desk clerk was an amazing man - very helpful and the first thing he did was come outside as we were parking to tell us that we should move our cars to his parking lot as the spaces in front are by permit only. The parking lot for the hotel is very small. Be prepared if arriving by car - but the main train station is a five minute walk from the hotel.

There were six of us spread through two rooms - my wife and I were on the second floor in a double room and the bed was comfortable, the bathroom large and the shower perfect! The view was of the parking lot, but the hotel is really on the edge of a residential neighborhood there is not a lot to see from here. It is not a large chain-style hotel and the charm of the place really is the perfect draw. The location was perfect for what we were doing. We had planned to leave a car here for a nominal per night fee and drive the second car to the ending point. The next five days would be by bicycle and a different hotel every night. Our plans changed and we ended up not leaving a car here, but the manager was very understanding and did not charge us for canceling the parking reservation which seems to be a common custom in Europe travel.

The hotel felt very safe even though they do not have 24 hour desk service (a sign directs you to phone numbers in case needed to include if you arrive after hours). There were lots of security cameras in and around the hotel, yet still, it felt safe. I was not worried about leaving our car parked in the lot, nor with our bikes still on top of the car.

The check-in process was a little longer than you might expect, but only because of the personal attention each guest receives from the manager. He takes the time to make sure you understand the policies of the hotel and most importantly how to use the key. The front door of the hotel is locked at night, but you can use your room key to gain access. The train station and city centrum were just a quick walk away and make sure you take time to take the walk, especially in the evening when the lights come on. It is a great city and the Marienpoel Hotel was a great place to start our trip. Look for more reviews as we made our way through the Tulip fields of Holland.

Room Tip: Take the time to talk to the manager - very friendly and helpful guy that knows and loves his city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I like the Marienpoel because it is set in a peaceful location yet is only a short walk to the centre of the city. This was my second stay, the first with my wife & this one solo.
The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. I am not a breakfast person but my wife indulged & said she enjoyed it.
It is close to Leiden Centraal Station if you go the right way: leave the station by the REAR exit, go straight ahead to the road, turn right then walk to the main road, cross the road, turn left. Go along the road until you reach Marienpoelstraat on the right.
I recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Set back from main road so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A group of 6 colleagues had a very experience in here. The rooms are small, however, clean and nice to stay, although the wall is a little bit thin so you can hear the person walking in the hall. Breakfast is excellent. And the manage is nice. You can't see him all the time, however, if you want any thing, or any service, he is willing to provide us, for example, we want to leave early, he prepared our breakfast before 6, and also we bought the train ticket online, he is happy to print out for us. The best of all, location. It's really close to the central station. You don't need a car, and paying the parking for traveling around the big cities within the Netherlands. This hotel is good for people just want a clean, quiet and convienient stay but not for people have a lot of questions thus need a receptionist all the time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice hotel with good location when visiting the Amsterdam area. Easy access to Amsterdam with train. Train station conveniently close by to hotel. Very good staff, helpful and friendly. Gave good advice about our visit to Amsterdam.

Parking on hotel property. Small area, but manager helpful to fit all cars.

Breakfast ok. Not bad, not good.

On the negative side, no AC. Very hot room in summertime.

Room Tip: If traveling during summer, try to get a room on east/north side as it will get hot from the sun oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marienpoel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marienpoel Hotel

Address: Marienpoelstraat 1a, 2334 CW Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marienpoel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Marienpoel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienpoel Hotel Leiden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marienpoel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.