We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, cool service, GREAT bagels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Better Bagels

Better Bagels
Lange Mare 96, Leiden 2312GT, The Netherlands
071-7370172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 152 restaurants in Leiden
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: BetterBagels are bagels made from the best ingredients without any unnecessary additives. We use organic flour and honey as our main ingredients. Since we use the traditional New York style process to produce BetterBagels, the dough develops for at least 12 hour to get its full flavor. Each bagel is than boiled, baked, turned and baked again. This gives BetterBagels their characteristic bite and delicious taste. BetterBagels are made fresh at the Village Bakery in Leiden where you can follow the production process in an open bakery, while you enjoy your coffee.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, cool service, GREAT bagels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Better Bagels is quite new but already well established in Leiden, expats from the U.S. know that this is the place to get REAL New York-style bagels!! The owner of the place is a really nice and genuine guy who puts his heart and soul into the products he makes. From the little lunch-room at the front of the store you can look right into the bakery itself, where Frank can be seen making fresh bagels from time to time throughout the day (I think it smelled delicious both times I was there!).

Besides the classic plain, poppy, everything bagels, there are sweet bagels (with cinnamon and such) and also pastries and cakes. I found there's plenty of options when it comes to toppings (which are put on nice and thick, yes!) and there's also a wide variety of hot and cold drinks to choose from. The coffee we had with our lunch was delicious and I was told that it has been awarded as one of the best coffees in town, which is a great plus.

What's really nice about Better Bagels is that all products are organic AND fair-trade, it feels like we weren't just treating ourselves to a great meal but also making a better choice for the environment and the world. Really, thumbs up for the meal, the cosy atmosphere and the warm welcome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    39
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy bagels - Friendly baker!,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited Better Bagels in June after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed! The bagels were fresh and tasty - we had hummus and sprouts on a spelt bagel; also plain bagels with goats cheese, bacon, honey and walnut and bacon and egg fillings and then we shared a delicious toasted butter and cinnamon bagel. There was an interesting selection of tasty drinks to choose from too. We were lucky to be seated by the kitchen area and could watch and talk to the guy preparing the bagels for the next day - altogether a very positive experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

While studying in Leiden, we went there as per the recommendation of a friend. The bagels are delicious, but this guy has some mean combinations of spreads and meats, all organic, all best quality. Price is also great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“small place, tasty bagels, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a small place (only a dozen or so seats), where you order at the counter ... and can see bagels being made in the back. Bagels are super fresh, as are other ingredients ... such as egg salad, tuna salad, pastrami, honey, figs ... all wonderful fillings for delicious bagel sandwiches. Prices are quite reasonable, owner is engaging and offers great advice ... leading me to order a tasty toasted poppy seed bagel with pastrami.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real bagels in Leiden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the few places we found other than hotel dining rooms that serves breakfast. The bagels were really good -- made the right way (boiled and then baked) on site, crusty with a chewy inside, and not too large. Worth a visit if you're near the Boerhaave Museum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Better Bagels also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Better Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Better Bagels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.