We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum. Beautiful paintings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal )

Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal )
Oude Singel 28-32, 2312 RA Leiden, The Netherlands
31 (0)71 5165360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 21 Attractions in Leiden
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum De Lakenhal is the museum for the arts, crafts and history of the city of Leiden (NL). Since 1874 it has been housed in the Laecken-Halle (cloth hall), a 17th century city palace that once was the bustling centre of Leiden's cloth trade. Highlights of the collection are works by old masters such as Lucas van Leyden, Rembrandt and Jan Steen, but also works by contemporary artists such as Theo van Doesburg, Jan Wolkers and Erwin Olaf. The museum depicts the history of Leiden as from the relief of Leiden on 3 October 1574. Museum De Lakenhal features a wealth of beautiful period rooms and interior decorations. The original building was constructed in 1641 by architect Arent van 's-Gravensande and is one of the finest exeamples of Dutch Classicism.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice museum. Beautiful paintings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good collection of paintings (Rembrandt, Lievens, Steen....). Good overview of the history of this building an Leiden in general.
I did not like the temporary exhibition (PARELEN). I did not see the connection between the normal collection and the temporary exhibition.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenhal, Public Relations Manager at Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal ), responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Miesie,
Thank you for your review! I'm sorry you didn't like PARELEN very much. It might also not have been Rembrandt's cup of tea..
We are aware that it is a very experimental exhibition. The fact that PARELEN is everywhere in the museum and the overwhelming sensory experience (music, smell of spices, art, dance, etc.) are supposed to bring you in a flow which makes you look at the usual collection in a different way.

I hope you'll like the next exhibitions and that we may welcome you in Museum De Lakenhal once more.

Best regards,

Milou van Oene
Communication Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So much to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Experience Leiden in the old days. Beautiful pictures and stories about Leiden in the past. Take enough time to see it and enjoy everything they have to offer,

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A very good museum showing much of the interesting past of the city of Leiden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

For me it was for the first time that I went to this museum, I didn't really know what to expect as the reviews were a bit mixed, but I have to say, this is the best city museum I have ever seen!.

During the a period from the middle of the 15th century till the end of the 18th century Leiden was one of the must wealthy cities in The Netherlands and even in Europe. Due to this wealth Leiden contributed nicely to the art scene, mainly by producing a number of world class painter, but also in other ways which are shown in this museum. The name of the museum refers to the one product that gave Leiden it's wealth "Linen/cloth", they were traded at this location.

The building itself is an interesting old building which is in a perfect state, it has some very nice "style" rooms which gives you an idea of what it looked like during its bloom/golden period. Apart from that there is also an old kitchen with old tiles and an old Catholic (hidden) Chapel, which used to be in Leiden during the times when catholic were forbidden to have their own church and were forbidden practise their religion.

Leiden produced some of the best Dutch painters including: Lucas van Leiden, Van Swanenburgh, Jan van Goyen, Jan Lievensz (my personal favorite), Gerrit Dou and of course the famous Jan Steen and Rembrandt!.. and all these painters can be seen in this museum!. It is a collection worth mentioning, with three Rembrandt's and four Jan Steen's (and the old paintings from Lucas van Leiden).

The museum also has glass , silverware, pottery, tiles, porcelain, furniture, weapons, painted glass windows, coins, tools and machinery all from Leidens glory days!. On the second floor there were also some more interactive machines with more information.

I had a great time in this museum, so many things to see, such a beautiful building and so quiet!. I don't know if it was because it was a Wednesday morning, but really there was no one there...(there were 10 other people with me in the museum).

The only complaint I have, is that they have no real restaurant, just some machines where you can get something to drink and that I wasn't allowed to take pictures, but other than that nothing but positive things.... Go and see it!..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenhal, Public Relations Manager at Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal ), responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! We are very proud that we are able to communicate the beauty, arts and history of the city of Leiden so well. We have many ambitions for the future, so keep an eye on us.

Best regards,

Milou van Oene
Communication Department
Museum De Lakenhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A pot pourri experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Lakenhal crams a lot of different art experiences in to its rooms and frankly some were not to my taste, but there's enough there to keep any broad-minded person happy. There is some early Rembrandt and a couple of excellent paintings by Dou. The history of the Lakenhal itself is worth reading and the hall itself is one big exhibit. There is a lot of walking and I doubt that someone who has trouble walking would enjoy it. There is a small coffee area outside the exhibits so you can have a drink at the start of finish of your tour but not during it. Admission is €7.50 each for adults. Two minor annoyances - one room was being used for a concert, which would have been an added bonus if we'd been able to stay, but was a nuisance while they were setting chairs out. The other was that there was a guided tour party going round and the guides just started giving their talk at each exhibit even if other people were already there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely small museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

They have a particularly good historical display which explains the importance of Leiden in 16th century battling the Spanish, as well as the not-to-be-missed reliquary of the Loaf of Bread turned into a stone!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal ) also viewed

 
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.