We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place to visit in Leiden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal )

Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal )
Oude Singel 28-32, 2312 RA Leiden, The Netherlands
31 (0)71 5165360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 36 things to do in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum De Lakenhal is the museum for the arts, crafts and history of the city of Leiden (NL). Since 1874 it has been housed in the Laecken-Halle (cloth hall), a 17th century city palace that once was the bustling centre of Leiden's cloth trade. Highlights of the collection are works by old masters such as Lucas van Leyden, Rembrandt and Jan Steen, but also works by contemporary artists such as Theo van Doesburg, Jan Wolkers and Erwin Olaf. The museum depicts the history of Leiden as from the relief of Leiden on 3 October 1574. Museum De Lakenhal features a wealth of beautiful period rooms and interior decorations. The original building was constructed in 1641 by architect Arent van 's-Gravensande and is one of the finest exeamples of Dutch Classicism.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“a lovely place to visit in Leiden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This museum is worth a couple of visits, first for its art collection, and second for the history of the building itself.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A small museum with an interesting history of Leiden.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some of the best paintings I have ever scene!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

As soon as we arrived in the entrance everything looked clean and smart. The receptionist was very happy to help and pointed out all of their facilities. The first part of the gallery is based on church related art. And then moving into the next room to the year of what they called the masters. When I was looking such paintings by Rembrandt and Jan Steen etc. It was just amazing at how detailed they were. Then the gallery moves more in the contemporary and modern art. There was a lot of very interesting pieces in the collections.
Overall it was good 2 hours in the gallery. There were only a few downs to the trip. The last collection was locked and we would of liked to have an audio guide.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“enough paintings to see, better than i had expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvsior we didn't have high hopes, but as the building looked lovely and we had time, we decided to go in anyway and i must say it was much better than expected, maybe not the paintings of the great Dutch masters that lived in leiden, but still enough to see and discover, we loved the three piece the must.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent about 5 hours here one day, although luckily we were able to leave for a lunch break and come back. We read all the English information beside the paintings. We would have really appreciated an English audio guide. The receptionist was very friendly.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal ) also viewed

 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Municipal Museum of Leiden (Stedelijk Museum De Lakenhal ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.